We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Filey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbot's Leigh Guest House
Ranked #7 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
driffield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Filey”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband surprised me with a night away in Filey and we stayed in a superb B&B very close to the seafront and some beautiful gardens.Our room was the nicest one I have ever seen and was immaculately clean.There was a fluffy bathrobe,lots of local information and even cup a soups ! My vegetarian breakfast was very tasty and its a nice idea to be able to fill in a form before hand to choose exactly what you want.Chris and Stephanie were very friendly and made us feel extremely welcome.I would gladly recommend this place to anyone and hope we get to stay again sometime.

Room Tip: Room 4 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review for us, we are really happy you enjoyed your surprise stay at Abbots Leigh and will look forward to welcoming you both again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
108
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

5 of stayed here after finishing our Wolds Way Walk. Stephanie and Chris made us very welcome, the rooms were immaculate, beds were comfortable, the breakfast was superb, and Chris ran our heavy bags to the bus station for us he following morning. We couldn't have asked for a better welcome, or place to stay than this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gos618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for chosing Abbots Leigh for your final stop on the Wolds Way. Thanks also for writing a review, We would love to meet you all again the next time you are in Filey, thanks again for taking the time to write a review, it realy is appreciated. Hope your feet are feeling better...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We booked this Guest house before we stayed, looking at the reviews we thought we couldnt go wrong. It lived up to the reviews, this little guest house is a gem.
The owners were so welcoming and giving us tips on where to eat and drink.
We stayed in room 5 which was a lovely comfortable room.
The breakfast was wonderful my husband had smoked haddock with poached egg, and i had the pancakes with fruit compote, yogurt and a drizzle of honey, very nice.
We will stay here again when we visit Filey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay so much and would love to welcome you back to Abbots Leigh in the future. Hope the camping trip went ok...
Thanks again for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willerby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in Room 4, which is a really nice, spacious room, very tastefully decorated. Stephanie and Chris are a lovely, friendly couple, who obviously have very high standards. Everywhere was immaculate and the attention to detail impressive - everything you could wish for to make your stay as comfortable as possible. An extensive breakfast menu, beautifully cooked - all of this made our stay a lovely short break. Would definitely recommend Abbots Leigh as the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so much for this lovely review, We are very happy you enjoyed your short break with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have just returned from a nights stay at Abbot's Leigh in Filey. I took my seven year old son and his cousin, who's ten. We had a fantastic time, the hospitality was superb, the food was excellent, the room was stunning and nothing was too much trouble. Plus, Free Wi-Fi and kids go hand in hand!! ... many thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidjsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Many thanks for the excellent review, it was a real pleasure to meet you all and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope the rest of your weekend went well and look forward to seeing you agaain soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Both Stephanie and Chris made us feel very welcome, we had a lovely comfortable room, and enjoyed a superb breakfast.
Quality building, furnished and decorated to a high standard.
Every thing about Abbot's Leigh Guest House we found was great for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, really happy you enjoyed your stay in our newly refurbished room, hope to see you both again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

we went to filey this weekend ,to watch our grandson in a football tournament, we had no accom. booked, our son back in nottm.found this hotel via the internet and forwarded us the details. what a great find, could'nt have picked a nicer place, room was lovely, food was excellent, everything you would expect for breakfast and more, owners were so welcoming and friendly. We are hoping the tournament is on again next year, just so we can book again.


See you next time Thanx again luv Wendy and Kev,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Manager at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for this lovely review, it was a pleaseure to meet you both and we will look forward to meeting you again soon. Hope the football went well....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Filey hotels
0.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
385 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#8 of 15 in Filey
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#3 of 19 in Filey
112 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Binton Guest House
Binton Guest House
#14 of 19 in Filey
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Leigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Leigh Guest House

Property: Abbot's Leigh Guest House
Address: 7 Rutland Street, Filey YO14 9JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Leigh Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small but very friendly family run guest house situated in the fantastic gem of a town that is Filey. We offer quality accommodation, great home cooked food and a warm welcome as standard. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbot's Leigh Guest House Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing