We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbot's Leigh Guest House
Ranked #7 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed one night for a friends wedding. The wedding was at the White Lodge Hotel and there was no availability for us, but we were so glad there wasn't any because we found this lovely place to stay
From the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome and Chris even found a parking place for us
The room was fantastic with a fantastic hospitality tray , I thought even better some 4 or 5 star hotels that we have stayed in, my husband especially liked the chocolate teacakes.
Breakfast fantastic
Would definitely recommend and if we go to Filey again we would definitely stay there

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank millieSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, We hope the wedding was a great success and are very happy we were able to make your stay a pleasurable one. We will have chocolate teacakes waiting for you on your next visit to Filey. Thanks again for chosing Abbots Leigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Abbot's Leigh Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 185 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We decided at the last minute to try and find a room in Filey as the weather reports were looking good for the weekend. We call the Abbot's Leigh and they had a cancellation which meant we could have a room there.

All I can is we were lucky as the stay was first class. From the warm and friendly welcome to the point of leaving we had no reason to find fault with anything. We were shown to room 4, a front view first floor room and I was instantly content. Clean, spacious, well set up with a modern yet homely feel. A great little en suite with a good shower cubicle and great toiletries to use. Plenty of tea/coffee items with a note to advise "please ask if you want fresh milk".

After a lovely nights sleep what could be better than a full English, cooked to order with quality ingredients. Fresh fruits, yoghurts and everything else on hand on the buffet table and great coffee to finish off.

We stay in Filey quite often and after staying here we would not bother paying the higher costs we have paid in the past at "the place to stay in Filey". Okay the house is not right on the sea front but I would rather have a room that is big enough to enjoy and relax than a sea view for double the cost.

This couple are obviously working hard to ensure their establishment is going to be full as often as possible and I am sure they will be successful in the efforts. We are busy spreading the word to friends and family and if everyone else who stays does the same we may end up out of luck when we try and make a late booking next time.

I can give this place a categorical 100% recommendation with confidence that visitors won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 4 is lovely and has a bay window but I am sure they are all nice.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeTHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

WOW!! what a fantastic review, thank you so much for taking the time to write it. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and very much appreciate your efforts to spread the word for Abbots Leigh, We very much hope to see you again soon and look forward to making your next stay as good as the last. Thanks again for giving us such great feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

stayed here only one night but from arrival to departure everything was of excellent standard. Chris and Stephanie were very welcoming and extremely helpful. Room was beautiful and breakfast really good even included beautiful fresh fruit - strawberries raspberries blueberries - nothing too much trouble. Superb standards and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank girlsofcertainage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for giving us such positive feedback, we really appreciate your taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased you chose Abbots Leigh for your short break, we hope to be able to welcome you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Of all of the accommodation on our Cleveland Way holiday this was undoubtedly the best..On our arrival Stephanie and Chris were very welcoming and helpful but not intrusive. Our group used three rooms in all and each of them was of a very high standard. They were very clean and comfortable with delightful decor and the en suite facilities were excellent. We also had a very good breakfast which offered plenty of choice. I would be happy to recommend Abbots Leigh to anyone and hope to visit again myself sometime. Filey itself has stood the test of time much better than some of the other resorts on the Yorkshire coast and is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review, We are pleased we could provide accomodation and service to compliment the effort you put in to walking the Clevland way (you all deserve a medal). Thank you again for writing the review and we look forward to meeting you all again when you next require a Filey Fix.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend, and we were really pleased with the stay.The place is really clean and the breakfast and hospitality excellent. Some of the rooms are in the process of being modernised and were looking lovely and up to date, think they are in the process of doing the same to all rooms. Would definately stay again, and the place gives B&Bs a good name, as so many are out of touch with what standards people expect these days.

Room Tip: Room at the top which was really quiet, but not as modernised as the others
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwainwright21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and provide us with such valuable feedback. You are indeed correct with regard to our programme of upgrading and we are so pleased to recieve positive reviews especially regarding the improvements we have already made. We have much more work planned to start very soon which will hopefully meet with the standards expected by todays discerning traveller . We look forward to meeting you again in the not to distant future and would like to thank you again for your positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just returned from Filey, staying at Abbot's Leigh for 2 days. It was apparent from when I first made the booking with Stephanie that their Guest House would be good. Information on what to do when we arrived re parking and dropping luggage was a great help. On arrival, we were helped with our luggage to our room and welcomed to their Guest House. Our room was comfortable, spotlessly clean, lots of teas, coffees (even cupasoup!). The breakfast is the best we have ever had in all the hotels we have stayed at, the fresh fruit/fruit juice/eggs/salmon/black pudding and more ......... I knew this Guest House would be good, it isn't just good it is excellent! This is due to the hospitality shown by Stephanie and Chris and their hard to ensure a very high standard, which they achieve. One of the nice touches was the welcome you had when you came back after a day out, it felt so homely and we certainly will be back to stay. Thank you for our enjoyable break (including Max!). Ps, we enjoyed Filey also, despite the weather on day 2!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snapeshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you very much for writting this positive review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken the time to tell others all about it. We very much enjoyed meeting you both (and Max) and will be looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Thanks again for chosing Abbots Leigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A great welcome from Steph and Chris - and a lovely, bright, spacious room, with an immaculate shower room! Super breakfast, and a great choice. Very convenient for end of Cleveland Way / Bus Station. Highly recommended :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oleredeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Owner at Abbot's Leigh Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Firstly, well done for compleating the Clevland way!! We are realy pleased you found the location and facilities we offer to be a suitable, well earned end to your holiday, Thank you also for reccomending us and for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Filey hotels
0.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
409 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#2 of 19 in Filey
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#7 of 16 in Filey
135 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Leigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Leigh Guest House

Address: 7 Rutland Street, Filey YO14 9JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Price Range: $68 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Leigh Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small but very friendly family run guest house situated in the fantastic gem of a town that is Filey. We offer quality accommodation, great home cooked food and a warm welcome as standard. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbot's Leigh Guest House Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing