We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic guest house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seafield Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seafield Guest House
Ranked #2 of 19 Filey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
northants
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I traveled to Filey end on November 2013, we haven't stayed in many guest houses but this is one we would certainly recommend. The service from your hosts was spot on. We left a message in the guest book stating "how can you improve on perfection" well we stand by that. The rooms were clean, bed comfy and the breakfasts were great, anything you could want.
We will definately return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St1ffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeafieldFiley, Owner at Seafield Guest House, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for writing such a positive review of your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and really appreciate your comments - many thanks. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
172
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Lary, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights while visiting elderly parents in Filey. The welcome was warm and friendly with Vince showing us our lovely room and making us a tea and coffee served in the guest lounge. Little touches that make all the difference flannels, decent biscuits with the tea making facilities, the honesty bar with all the drinks being very reasonably priced, bottled water in the room all added to our wonderful stay. The breakfast was the best we have ever had with the smoked salmon and scrambled egg cooked to perfection as was the porridge. Vince and Suzanne where wonderful hosts who where happy to chat, oh yes the homemade jam was great as well. We will return, and as a final comment prior to staying here we had stopped at a Grand Chateau in France on our trip up to the UK and the Sea field for us beat it hands down on all fronts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeafieldFiley, Owner at Seafield Guest House, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
This really is a lovely review, very flattering - thank you so much! We really appreciate your time and comments and it is great that you enjoyed your time here. We do hope that you will choose The Seafield when next visiting Filey - we look forward to seeing you again - many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just had another wonderful weekend at this guest house. Me and my wife stayed here for Saturday and Sunday as a base for the Scooter weekend at Bridlington.Suzanne and Vince are the perfect hosts nothing is too much for them . Lovely clean rooms with lots of little extras and great choice at breakfast time . Try the homemade jams.....Have booked on for next years Scooter rally in October and will get a couple of weekends in between. Filey is a cracking little resort well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johncath_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeafieldFiley, Owner at Seafield Guest House, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are delighted that you choose us for your stay in Filey and look forward to seeing you again soon - many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Have just had a fantastic weekend in Filey, staying Saturday night at Seafield. It would be difficult to improve on this imaculately presented B&B. Our room sparkled and the bed was as comfortable as any we have slept in. I did comment to Suzanne that my breakfast was the best breakfast I'd ever had. Having thought about it, it was probably one of the best meals I've ever had.
Having been shown to a room so beautifully prepared, one starts to look for the little things that may have been overlooked. - There weren't any, none!
Seafield is so good that I thought about not posting a revue and keeping this little diamond to myself, but credit where credit's due.
We will return on the very first weekend that Vince and Suzanne have availabilty.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeafieldFiley, Owner at Seafield Guest House, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review of your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here and we really appreciate your comments about our breakfasts. We look forward to your return visit in the near future - many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the Seafield Guest House. What can i say but thank you so much to Suzanne and Vince for a perfect break. The breakfast was 1st class and my daughter even had to say it was better than her grandads!!! Our room was immaculate and the decor was faultless. The beds were very comfortable especially after a long days walk around Filey. Would highly recommend to anyone to stay here and i look forward to going back soon. Many thanks once again Paul

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeafieldFiley, Owner at Seafield Guest House, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review of your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and also that you look forward to returning - many thanks - we look forward to seeing you all again soon too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had planned to go to Scarborough but had such a bad experience with the B&B that we stumbled across this absolute gem of a place and decided to change our plans and go to Filey. We were not disappointed. After having read the numerous reviews I knew it would be perfect however I was even more delighted when we got there. Every room has been beautifully designed with the comfort of the guest in mind. There are the comfiest beds in every room, stunning mirrors, spotless bathrooms, beautiful bedding and nearly everything you could ever want for in a room - even a mat for my hair straighteners. Suzanne and Vince were the most helpful couple we have ever come across - nothing was too much trouble and they advised us where the best places to eat were and even offered to make a reservation for us! The lounge was beautiful and so very comfortable with an honesty bar which we took great pleasure in partaking! We thought there might be a problem with parking as the streets are very busy however we always found a space and could not believe it was FREE?! The guest house is so very close to the beach and is just in the perfect location for visiting the various pubs around. We would like to return maybe for a few days next time and would not stay anywhere else. This guest house should be ranked number 1 in Filey!

Room Tip: Room Number 2 was a King Room and stunning Bed - all rooms are stunning though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire30_griffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeafieldFiley, Owner at Seafield Guest House, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Well what a review - thank you very much! We really hope that you will visit us and Filey again in the near future - so pleased you enjoyed your stay - many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We travelled with another couple to celebrate our wedding anniversary and wanted our friends to experience this quality bb as stayed here on previous occasions... As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the lovely as ever Susanne who made us a lovely cuppa with some cake and then showed us to our rooms, which we had all upgraded to the kingsize beds... Whilst on the stairs we was greeted by poor Vince cleaning the stairs and in my opinion the Seafield was already spotless... The rooms are lovely and quite spacious with corner rooms where the small showers are and these are lovely and modern, all with the lotions and potions you require... All rooms have a flat screen tv and a huge selections of teas and coffees and the most yummy biscuits.. The beds are the most comfy ever, trust me I'm an ex Travel Agent and after lots of hotel visits this hotel offers the most comfy... The pillows are just heaven!!! They even offered the kind touch of an anniversary card with two complimentary drinks from the honesty bar downstairs... Susanne makes you feel so welcome as do Vince without being in your face, recommend places to eat with discounts on offer and you place your breakfast requirements the night before and so its all ready and waiting for you in the morning... The cereal I had was so very yummy and the breakfasts are the best, good old Vince he really does cook a mean breakfast.... All in all this guest house is really the best it's clean, easy access into the town and a further walk to the beach... I'm what you call an experienced Filey traveller and have stayed in others one being the most expensive and very chic etc and still this ticks all the boxes... Please read my review as I really feel Susanne and Vince deserve the business as they thrive on what they do best.... Thank you sooooo much you both are the kindest people and I can't wait to come back....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faithderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeafieldFiley, Owner at Seafield Guest House, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you very much for writing such a comprehensive review of your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here and hope that you will make a return visit soon - many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
0.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Binton Guest House
Binton Guest House
#14 of 19 in Filey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#7 of 13 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Bay
The Bay
#9 of 19 in Filey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafield Guest House

Property: Seafield Guest House
Address: 9 Rutland Street | North Yorkshire, Filey YO14 9JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at The Seafield Licensed Guest House. Start the day with a choice from our award winning Deliciously Yorkshire breakfast -traditional or lighter option - whatever your choice you can rest assured that we aim to use fresh locally sourced produce. Our elegant Guest Lounge is available for your relaxation and enjoyment. To add to your experience, why not sample our locally brewed Wold Top Ales- wine and lager also available. And as the day draws to a close, feel pampered in our luxuriously comfortable beds, with quality linen and soft fluffy towels. All rooms are en-suite and individually and tastefully decorated. Each has complimentary quality beverages and toiletries, hairdryer, fan, flat screen TV, and free WiFi. Situated close to all local amenities we are perfectly positioned for a perfect stay. Open All Year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seafield Guest House Hotel Filey
Seafield Guest House Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing