We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Tommy's

Tommy's
Ranked #4 of 102 Restaurants in Filey
Price range: $2 - $20
Description: Tommy's is a family run, welcoming restaurant in Filey, providing you with an authentic taste of the American South. With ambient lighting and an exciting menu to choose from, all of our dishes are cooked fresh by a fully qualified chef. Our produce where possible is locally sourced and homemade. We pride ourselves on our friendly atmosphere and amazingly tasty food. With over a 100 5 star reviews, lots of recommendations and a 5 star hygiene rating, Tommy's is the perfect place for a romantic treat, a family meal out even a group party.
Restaurant details
Description: Tommy's is a family run, welcoming restaurant in Filey, providing you with an authentic taste of the American South. With ambient lighting and an exciting menu to choose from, all of our dishes are cooked fresh by a fully qualified chef. Our produce where possible is locally sourced and homemade. We pride ourselves on our friendly atmosphere and amazingly tasty food. With over a 100 5 star reviews, lots of recommendations and a 5 star hygiene rating, Tommy's is the perfect place for a romantic treat, a family meal out even a group party.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quirky great staff very friendly, food unbelievably delicious
I am not huge fan of burgers but I’ve got to say never tasted anything so full of flavour cooked to perfection
Would highly recommend

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Shadesofgrey69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 72 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2019

Not too inviting from the outside but this place does great burgers. My usual experience of burgers is that they are overcooked, but the burgers here are cooked just right being slightly pink inside; best burger I have had for ages!. Amazed that someone can call the food overpriced when the burgers are this good. We paid just over £40 for two craft beers, 2 burgers, a large plate of spicy chips, 2 sweets and 2 x 250ml glasses of wine; geat value and good friendly service!! £29 for a steak at the nearby Downcliffe House Hotel!!!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank chrisV2461PG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

Wanted something different and this place was it. Food is amazing and service is brilliant. Couldn't have had a nicer meal anywhere else. All freshly made and the flavours are great. We often go to Scarborough for weekend breaks and we would definitely drive over here for a meal.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Karenwaynej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

Thought we would eat here after seeing other reviews not dissapointed. Nice relaxed vibe very friendly genuine couple staffing and cooking. Food was great fresh well cooked homemade,generous portions ,tasty. Halloumi and mushroom burger and chicken tenders kebab. Would highly recommend

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

This place is really lovely ...just incredibly overpriced for what it is. When you're paying £10+ for a burger, the chips should come as part of that meal , not another £3+ ontop. For a meal for two of us, sharing starter it was almost £40 which is just obscene.
The other thing to add is that this placed advertises as "delivery" but really....it should be "delivers...on rare occasions". The amount of times we've rang up and asked if they are delivering, only to be told "no we are packed tonight" is unjustifiable . In my opinion either hire someone who's commited to the delivery aspect, or don't offer delivery at all.
As I said, nice food...but is a burger ever really worth £10+ by itself .I don't think so. That's just my opinion though.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank anonymous8188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
64tommyt, Manager at Tommy's, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2019

Hi thank you for your review. As a family business(husband and wife team) we do our best to get out to delivery. As on our Facebook we do explain that we do not deliver at weekends through high season and can only get out when we can due to high demand in the restaurant and collected take aways. Sorry that we couldn't get out to you on these occcasions. We are glad that you found our food delicious and are sorry you felt that we deserved a 3star for this. We use ground steak for the burgers and only the best ingredients. We feel our pricing is fair and for a starter, mains, fries? and I'm assuming drinks for 2 that £40 is a good price for quality food. Again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's also viewed

Filey, Scarborough District
 
Filey, Scarborough District
Filey, Scarborough District
 
Filey, Scarborough District
Filey, Scarborough District
 

Been to Tommy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing