We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent !”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Murphy's Rest

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mandynevi...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
Reviewed November 18, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This place is amazing. Every effort has been made to make it a home from home. Beautiful furnishings and decor. Lovely location. I would highly recommend this for a restful break. Everything you could possibly require is there, even a spare pair of goggles for the pool.
Thank you for a wonderful break

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2017
Thank you for your kind review and glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future! All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mog63_13
Hull, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed November 5, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The location is ideal for a restful, peaceful break. The beach is a short walk away from the house, we walked for miles along the beach meeting other dog walkers and families as we went. The owners of the property have thought about every eventuality and it really did feel like a home from home. Would love to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2017
We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your kind review. Please do think of us again for a future holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 29, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2017
We are so pleased you found Murphy’s Rest comfortable for your stay we try to ensure it’s as homely as we would want ourselves. Thank you for your kind review and please do think of us again for a future holiday. Kind regards Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alan L
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable cottage”
Reviewed October 5, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Murphy's Rest is a lovely modern cottage in a great location just 10 mins from the beach and only 3 mins from the Italian and local Pub.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2017
Thank you for your kind words and glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First class holiday accommodation”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

After a day driving with two and a half hours of traffic hold ups we didn't arrive until dark. Murphy's Rest is a beautiful, spotlessly clean cottage - I was a bit dubious as dogs were welcome but it truly is spotless and very welcoming. After a late meal we settled down in very comfortable beds and rested well.The holiday village is quiet, even though there were plenty of holidaymakers around. There are lots of facilities on site but we made full use of the beach virtually on the doorstep and walked for miles. My new favourite place. I hope to return many times. Thank you Louise

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2017
Thank you for your kind words and we’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Although we are happy for four legged friends to stay, we make a conscious effort to make the property as clean as possible and we’re glad you didn’t feel put off by the house being dog friendly. Please do consider us for a future holiday. All the best Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amy-89x
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely stay at Murphy's rest, looked even better than the pictures. The cottage was lovely, very spotless and just perfect for the two of us and dog plus nice little welcome hamper. Only wish we would of stayed a few weeks earlier would of been perfect to sit out on a summers night. We stay somewhere different at the bay each year but will definitely return to this cottage. Thank you for having us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
Thank you for your kind words and we're glad you had a great time despite the temperamental weather! Please do consider us again for a future visit. All the best Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2017
Thank you for your kind words, we try to make sure the house is as comfortable for our guests as possible. Please do think of us again for a future holiday. Kind regards Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing