We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , great views!”
Review of 5 Leys

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
5 Leys
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We just spent 3 nights in apartment 13 , 1st floor , bay window looking out over the sea - fantastic
Well appointed apartment , a place to relax and people watch
Only thing we would add / want would be wifi - the mobile reception is poor
We would go back again

Stayed: May 2012
Thank Beardinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5leys, Manager at 5 Leys, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review 5leys & your fab comments-we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for 5 Leys
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 113 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

We recently enjoyed a fantastic three night stay at 5leys in beautiful Filey. The accomodation is excellent; modern, clean, spacious apartments fitted to a very high standard.Ours had an open plan layout with a great range of appliances and fantastic views over the Filey seafront and bay. If you walk up the steps at the rear of 5leys you will find some lovely well maintained gardens at the top with stunning views back down over the bay and then it is just a short walk into the town where there are some nice little cafes and places to eat as well as a range of shops to browse. Back to the seafront itself where 5leys property is situated, the promenade is spotlessly clean and unspoilt with a beautiful large beach, ideal for walks or letting the kids play - just be aware that the sea does come right up to the wall at high tide (perfect for a spot of fishing!).
If this is the sort of holiday you are looking for then 5leys is the perfect place to stay, our only regret was not booking for longer. We have visited Filey and the surrounding area several times now but 5leys is without doubt the best place we have stayed, we can't fault the place, excellent!

Room Tip: We booked apartment 10, right on the top floor, and although the last flight of stairs is a bit stee...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5leys, Manager at 5 Leys, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thank you we love this apartment too! Its so great you had a fab time and are over the moon with your superb comments-hope to see you again soon-Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We booked a winter special break at 5 Leys for the last weekend in march. As we were a family of nine it was proving a bit tricky! Kerry Welsby, the manager, answered and was absolutely lovely. We booked two double apartments, (sleep up to six with sofa bed) for two nights, for nine people for £240. Bargain.
We arrived Friday afternoon and were genuinely, hugely impressed. Above all it was very clean, (very important to me with a toddler.) Spacious, bright, homely, welcoming and everything in it, top quality. Clean crisp cotton on the beds too. Lovely.
As a family, we were able to enjoy all being together in one room, comfortably, not in two separate
apartments. We also made good use of the lovely terrace on the front.
As for the view, this is where it doesn't get much better, you could throw stones into the sea at low tide, it's that close. We did not want to leave and I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We will definitely be going back. Perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelRudyRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5leys, Manager at 5 Leys, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Wow-thank you I am so glad you & your family had such a super break-its so great to have your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

A last minute decision for a weekend away in Yorkshire took us to 5 Leys in Filey. They have a winter special offer on their website, we got apartment 13 on the first floor. The aparment seems fairly newly decorated, really well appointed and fantastic location right on the front. Coudl hear the waves crashing against the front in the morning and lovely spot to eat breakfast.

Didn't see a single person working there in our 2 days but booking & instructions were all very good.

Filey is a very quiet place but the front is very well looked after. A walk to Fiely Brigg certainly clears the sinuses!
Downside - no dvd player in livingroom, only in bedrooms. Back bedroom cold and very draughty with the old style windows.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spud723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5leys, Manager at 5 Leys, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely comments it means a lot to us.
I apologize for the draughty window in the back bedroom and are looking into replacing all of them sometime in the near future.
We do like to keep a low profile during your stay we are here if you need us and not if you don't!
Once again a big thank you and hope to see you again soon-Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Truely fabulous experience. Can't fault it. An absolute must for anyone experiencing a seaside holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reenymarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5leys, Manager at 5 Leys, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely comments it means a great deal to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

This was our 5th stay at 5 Leys - although a bit of a climb suite 10 was worth it. At the weekend offer this represents great value for money,

Room Tip: Suite10 - but a bit of a climb up the stairs
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank seb101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Just had 4 night break at this property and have to say the location is excellent, fantastic views over Filey bay and great for accessing the east Yorkshire coast. The accommodation itself is spacious and well appointed although people with access difficulties will find it tricky as the upper suites are accessed via steep staircases. The apartment was well equipped for a week's self-catering with all mod cons and bedrooms very comfortable with plenty of wardrobe space. The heating system worked well although getting sufficient hot water for four baths / showers was tight. The location was very quiet and the apartment complex itself was very quiet, we didn't hear a peep from other residents so a good night's kip was had by all. My only criticism was that our suite was well lived in and getting ready for a good spruce up; there were small holes in the window frames that were letting the brisk wind off the sea in and it lacked some simple basics (loo brush in bathroom, please?). Parking was quite tricky at times and patience is required to get an overnight spot but we managed each evening. Overall though I would not hesitate to recommend this venue which represents good value for money accommodation in a great location.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a sea view if possible!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilvermanLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Filey hotels
0.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
408 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
198 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Dale Farm
Dale Farm
#1 of 5 in Hunmanby
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#2 of 19 in Filey
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#5 of 19 in Filey
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5 Leys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5 Leys

Address: The Moorings 9-10 the Beach, Filey YO14 9LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Filey
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a selection of 1 & 2 bedroom apartments most with stunning sea views. Perfect for families, the 2 bedroom apartments sleep 4. Situated a mere 7 metres from the Blue Flag Sands, which forms part of the five-mile stretch of award-winning sandy beach in this picturesque Victorian town. It's the perfect location for a beach-side holiday, with magnificent panoramic views of Filey Bay, from Filey Brigg in the North, to Flamborough Lighthouse in the South. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
5 Leys Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing