We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over Priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over Priced”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Booked sea view room for£175 . Room was average size, small bathroom shower in bath with curtain. Room was clean , bedsheets crisp. Room was on side of hotel so sea view was disappointing.

Hotel decor 80 s British. Most suitable for residents over 60

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Would expect to pay £ 80 - 90 for room

Star rating accurate 3*


Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank stahlfresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I regret that you were disappointed with your Classic Double room with a view over the sea toward Filey Brigg which, as you were aware on booking, was the last double room that we had available for the Bank Holiday Saturday night.
We are in the process of upgrading all of the Hotel facilities and thank you for your comments on our décor which will help us to improve our ongoing refurbishment programme.
Kind regards
Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    83
    28
    14
    5
See reviews for
92
197
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just been and stayed 2 nights ,
Wayen met us on arrive and took us to the room . been to 5 star and not tha sevice ,
we had great room sea veiw,
the room had been updated , clean and good choice of colour, .
free internt with good signal YES FREE.
Food
home cooke food, good choice, and willing to acconerdate your needs,
good coice for breakfast.
bar vell stocked , and good price
will be going again,
staff very well manered

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJMPJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The White Lodge Hotel and hope to be able to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
174 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Trying to find accommodation for one night in Filey over the Easter weekend is not easy, as most of the guest houses will only accept two night bookings. So I knew the White Lodge would be an option. The hotel matched an internet booking price of £105 for bed and breakfast in a twin room at the back of the hotel. A sea vew would have cost £120.

Check in was quick - and our room was ready a little bit early. The room had been re-furbished I think, and was a good size. Tea and coffee facilities - view over the park. The temperature of the water for my bath was not as hot as I like and we had problems with the shower, as apparently there was some problem with water leakage below! It's an old building and soundproofing is not brilliant. Floorboards creak and plumbing is noisy - so when people come in, or get up in the morning you can hear them.

We had booked dinner with friends, but were rather surprised at the price of two gins and tonics - before dinner - nearly £10 - London Prices. We chose to eat on the Terrace which had a wider choice of food than the restaurant. There was a loud group of customers in the Lounge - I suppose the hotel has no control of that. The food was plentiful, but the quality was average.

Breakfast - again pretty average. Mushrooms were tinned, the black pudding was dry and crumbly and my fried egg had obviously been hanging around a bit as the yolk was solid. The fact that a full fried breakfast arrived very quickly showed things had been pre-prepared. The hotel wasn't busy.

The restaurant is pleasantly decorated but some of the corridors upstairs are a bit dingy.

Overall it wasn't a bad experience - but it wasn't a cheap one.

Room Tip: Sea view if you want to splash out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I regret that your stay with us was disappointing. Whist the building is old we are constantly upgrading our facilities and refurbishing with the aim to offer our guests the most comfortable experience possible.
You do not say which of the eight brands of Gin that we stock for our guests enjoyment that you sampled before your dinner so I cannot make detailed comment about the price paid, however, all of our spirits (excluding Malt Whisky and Liqueurs ) are sold in standard measures of 50ml. There are notices in the bar to this effect and the bar tariff clearly states this fact. Smaller measures are available on request. Gordons Gin is our entry level Gin and our price for this is regularly compared with other licenced establishments in the town and other Hotels on the Yorkshire Coast in order to ensure that we remain competitive.
We aim to offer our guests, and non-resident customers, the widest choice of Dining Options that we can. In the evening from 6.30 until 9.00 pm our Chefs offer a three course Table d’hôtel menu which changes daily to reflect the best of fresh, locally sourced ingredients and gives our guests a quality dining experience in the peaceful ambience of the Dining Room. The Terrace Bistro offers our extensive bar menu which features snacks and traditional classic dishes for those who prefer a more casual meal. Both menus are available for room service.
Our breakfasts are made to order by our breakfast chef from fresh local ingredients (we do not use tinned or processed vegetables on any of our menus) when we are busy this can cause a slight delay in service but, as a general rule, the cooked breakfasts are prepared whilst guests enjoy cereals, fruits, juices etc. from our breakfast buffet. I have passed your comments to our Head Chef for his review of our preparation processes in order to ensure that our breakfasts are presented to guests in the best possible manner
Thank you for your valuable feedback on our performance. It is only through this information that we can improve our customer service.
Kind regards
Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

a lovely hotel in a great location. very comfortable with excellent breakfast and good evening meals. service excellent, nothing too much trouble. room (park view deluxe) was spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: not all deluxe rooms have walk in showers despite photos so if one is needed specify it.summer rose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The White Lodge Hotel and the staff and I hope to be able to welcome you back to Filey soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Booked direct with the hotel therefore no discount. We booked a deluxe sea view room with a balcony. Room was a reasonable size and a clean as was the en-suite. Shower was ok but not a power shower. Well equipped with hairdryer kettle and tea making facilities and the wardrobe had sufficient hangers. The restaurant was large and able to seat many more than the 4 or 5 tables occupied the evening we ate there. The food was good and well presented but very slow in arriving. We waited about 45 minutes for the my husband's starter and by the time the mains arrived I was starving. The 3 courses took about 2 and a half hours. I don't like to be rushed but sometimes felt neglected The waitress was helpful and courteous. Breakfast however was fairly brisk and my scrambled egg, tomato and black pudding were definitely not 'freshly cooked to order' as the menu promised. The egg was rubbery and contained some bits of fried bread and a baked bean or two revealed themselves. I told the waitress who offered a replacement meal freshly cooked, but I declined. Quite a nice hotel but I feel over-priced.

Room Tip: We slept in room 2 with a sea view. May be due an up-date but clean and presentable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is the policy of The White Lodge Hotel that any guests booking directly with the Hotel get offered the best possible tariff available at the time of booking. The rate that you were offered and agreed in this instance was the advertised discounted rate available through our online booking agents for double occupancy of a classic sea view double room.
We apologise that our restaurant service was not up to our usual standard during your stay and regret that you did not mention this to our receptionist on check out when we could have taken appropriate action to compensate you for your inconvenience and disappointment.
Thank you for your feedback which is an important source of information to assist us to develop our business and improve our customer service levels.

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

From the moment we arrived at the white lodge hotel we were made to feel extremely welcome, we had a sea view room which was excellent, the room was modern, spacious, clean and well equipped with a lovely added extra of a throw some dog chews and a bowl etc for our dog, the bed was extremely comfy.
Breakfast was fabulous with lovely local products that were extremely tasty and plenty of it you definately won't leave hungry.
We were made to feel extremely welcome in the bar area with our dog and all the bar men were extremely friendly especially Sam who is a real asset to the hotel, we also ate at night in here and again the food was great and really decent in portion size credit to the chef.
We were also made to feel welcome by the locals who frequented the bar each night all being such friendly people.
I can honestly say in my job where I travel the world and have stayed in lots of 5 star hotels, this hotel has surpassed all of them as I have never experienced such amazing customer service and friendliness from staff, this hotel is a rare gem and we will definately be returning in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for your kind comments.

The staff and I hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel soon

kind regards


Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We have just arrived home from a short break in Filey where we stayed for just one night at the White Lodge. We were very lucky with the weather considering it is mid March and we really enjoyed our short stay here and only wish it could have been longer. We booked a de luxe sea view room and took our little dog as well. We were all made very welcome and our dog even had his own welcome pack which was a lovely touch. Our room had just been refurbished and was very tastefully furnished and very comfortable with a great sea and park view. The food was very good quality and value and the staff were all very friendly and welcoming. We will definitely return and for longer next time. Our dog was allowed in the bar and the lounge but obviously not in the restaurant but I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to take their pet on holiday with them as it is very dog friendly. We had lunch in the hotel's garden which was a real sun trap and very sheltered overlooking the sea and couldn't believe we were sunning ourselves in the garden in March! Thank you White Lodge.

Room Tip: We were in room 5 (Daybreak) which had a good sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toby571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The staff and I are pleased that you had a pleasant time in Filey, thank you for your kind comments and hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
2.1 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
176 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,617 reviews
6.6 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
532 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
0.2 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#3 of 19 in Filey
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Property: White Lodge Hotel
Address: The Crescent | North Yorkshire, Filey YO14 9JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge Hotel is located on the cliff-top with panoramic views overlooking Filey Bay. Close to the town centre, golf course and tennis courts, it is an ideal location for a relaxing holiday, wedding or business event. Many of the 20 bedrooms have stunning sea views whilst others have beautiful garden views. Each room is en-suite with digital TV, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea making facilities and hair dryers. We have a family suite and several rooms that can accommodate children. All rooms are accessible via a passenger lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lodge Hotel Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing