We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous for dog lovers”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Have stayed several times and always had an marvellous welcome and found the staff very friendly and accommadating. Fabulous situation overlooking Filey Bay. The bar is cosy and well stocked and the from it is excellent. An absoulte bonus for dog lovers as one of the few paces that dogs can sit in the lounge area. We love it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcoming you back to The White Lodge Hotel again soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 431 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a newly refurbished room on the first floor which we shared with our dog. The management and staff could not have been more helpful. As we did not want to leave the dog in the room while we ate, the staff laid a table for us in the bar for breakfast and evening meal.
A couple of people have commented about cleanliness of carpets in the bathroom. Ours had very new and very clean hard surfaced flooring. Other rooms on the first floor were being renovated while we were there.
As well as the usual breakfast bacon and eggs (very lean bacon) we also sampled local kippers and excellent Whitby smoked haddock
Overall met all of our expectations and would have no hesitation in recommending it

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time in Filey and hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel soon
Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We visited this wonderful hotel for the third time this years. The welcome was first class and ALL the staff are wonderful and friendly.
I have read the previous two reviews, and I do not think they stayed at the same White Lodge my wife and dogs stayed at. Like any property that is popular things wear out and break down, but we saw improvements in the few weeks since our last visit and also if there was anything amiss Sue and her staff are very quick to put things right(not that we found problems)
The meals were even better than our last visit. Well done to Rob for his first class menu and quality of ingredients.
It is difficult to pick out an outstanding member of staff, as they are all wonderful, but purely on the amount of contact Rose deserves special mention. She is attentive, without being clinging, efficient and quick, without being fussy or dashing.
The whole experience was relaxed and just what the Dr ordered.
We are going again between Christmas and New Year and we are counting the days.

Room Tip: For views the front rooms are wonderful, for peace and quiet Room 15 cannot be bettered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind and supportive comments. The staff and I enjoyed your company on your recent visit and look forward to welcoming you back to The White Lodge Hotel in December
Kind regards
Sue Wagstaffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Good points, Lady on reception very polite and very helpful. Good size room, bedding excellent, bed comfortable, bed side furniture and dressing table very nice. after telling reception of our concerns listed below/opposite we were given a very generous discount. But the hotel is very overpriced??
Not so good points,The lady on reception told us the hotel is due for a refurbishment, it really really needs it. The nightly cost of this hotel is way too much.Hotel 'old fashioned' dowdy atmosphere. Room let down by two very old worn wooden armed chairs. Toilet seat badly stained, noisy heating, couldn't close window, shower not very hot, though bath water was hot .

Room Tip: Wait until after the refurbishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MallyS310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your balanced and constructive comments – they provide an extremely valuable, if disappointing, benchmark as to where we need to invest to develop our business and meet our customers’ needs
As we discussed on your departure our plans for this winter include the refurbishment of many of our bedrooms, improved reception, staircase and corridor lighting, balcony re-development, and passenger lift works as well as countless other ongoing upgrading and maintenance activities
As a direct result of your feedback on departure you will be pleased to know, however, that all the toilet seats in the building have already been replaced and the “aged chairs” have been dispatched to the upholsterers

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Reading the reviews for this place made us feel so comfortable and relaxed at the prospect of a stay but we do wonder if we were at the same place.
The bed and bedding were clean and the towels were good and whilst the bathroom and separate Loo were clean they had carpet on the floor which wasn't clean. Our rooms had cobwebs and the walk in wardrobe was filthy. The owner asked if we had any comments so I told her about our observations and she told me the rooms were due to be refurbished so that will be good to see. In our opinion the whole place needs a face lift to with the wonderful position on the beautiful coast.
The food was OK but as we had our dog with us we were given a table in the bar. There was no fresh fruit at breakfast which seems very strange nowadays. The breakfast staff were the friendliest of all.
Sorry we can't agree with the other reviewers.

Room Tip: Ask if the refurbishments have been completed then book a sea view room with the promised ( by the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to fill in our room comment card and to post a review. Customer feedback is always useful however disappointing and it forms the basis of our development plans going forward.
I regret that you found the offer of taking breakfast in the bar offensive. We allow pet dogs in our bar and lounge areas but not in either our Dining Room or our Terrace Bistro. Accordingly, as you wished to eat a cooked Yorkshire Breakfast with your dog present, we made provision for you to eat Breakfast at one of the Bar Dining Tables. An alternative would have been room service Continental Breakfast
As we discussed on your departure you have very specific personal concerns about flooring and carpeting in particular. We have, however, noted earlier customer concerns expressed on this site, and directly to us, about carpet in our bathrooms and accordingly, as we discussed on your departure, we already have plans in place to install hard flooring in all of our bathrooms over the next few months. This part of an ongoing refurbishment programme which will, this winter, see many of our unique bedrooms re-decorated and fully refurbished.
There can be no excuse for poor housekeeping and I can only apologise for our lapse in this regard on your recent visit. After you informed us of the issue on your departure our Housekeeper rectified the problem immediately. I can only regret that you did not advise reception of your concern on check in or on the second day of your stay when we could have taken action to make your visit more comfortable

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just returned from three nights. It was just what the doctor ordered. Lovely staff, efficent and well trained. The breakfast was fantastic, beautiful smoked haddock and perfect poached eggs. Great room service when our daughter was feeling unwell. Hope to return for another touch of TLC.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buckinghamshire22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel again soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

2 days of heaven. Fantastic hotel and staff. Just what we needed. On arrival we were given a warm friendly welcome. Our room was spotless and a brilliant view of the coast. I could have sat out on the lawn all day listening to the sound of the sea. The breakfasts were to die for and the service in the restaurant was so efficient. It was good that we had sunny weather but if the weather would have been poor we would still have enjoyed it at this hotel. Gillian and philip lakin derbyshire

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finlaylakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
2.1 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
199 reviews
25 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,131 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,935 reviews
6.6 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 26 in Scarborough
409 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Address: The Crescent | North Yorkshire, Filey YO14 9JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Price Range: $140 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge Hotel is located on the cliff-top with panoramic views overlooking Filey Bay. Close to the town centre, golf course and tennis courts, it is an ideal location for a relaxing holiday, wedding or business event. Many of the 20 bedrooms have stunning sea views whilst others have beautiful garden views. Each room is en-suite with digital TV, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea making facilities and hair dryers. We have a family suite and several rooms that can accommodate children. All rooms are accessible via a passenger lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lodge Hotel Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing