We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plates and Starters”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel , just ate there. We had evening meal here. 2 of us had 2 starters of Roast Beef and a plate meal Tuna Melt
1 had the special Lamb Casserole and Bacon & Cheese melt
1 had The Chicken curry & Bacon & Cheese melt
We all enjoyed what we had the staff were very pleasant. The Melts were very large portions and good. The price was very reasonable for the type of hotel that it was

Room Tip: The plate menu items that we had were quite large.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annewhittaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel again soon

Kind regards


Sue Wagstaffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for White Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 409 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you want to lunch in a very pleasant setting, with an excellent choice of light snacks and more substantial meals, this is the place to go. If you are on a budget, there is no need to be afraid that beautiful setting equals higher prices; soup and a roll was actually £1 cheaper than in a small, cramped town centre café with steamed-up windows! Here, we enjoyed a light and airy covered terrace with a view of the sea across the gardens and very pleasant service. In warmer weather, we could have opted for an outdoor space, and there is also a bar and lounge - with open fires for days even more grey and miserable than the day we went!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Hotel is absolutely spotless & the service excellent - very friendly but efficient also. Our room, a twin, was very spacious & the en-suite also. Plenty of lovely towels & soaps, shampoos, etc. very nicely presented. The breakfast was wonderful, with plenty of choice. We had the full English, but there were lots of cereals & as well as other hot dishes.

We can certainly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bahiaWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you so much for the taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Filey and hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel soon

Kind regards


Sue Wagstaffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Sue and her team made our daughters wedding day very special .
The staff were friendly , quick efficient and professional .
They went the extra mile to ensure everyone had a good day, nothing was too much trouble .We had a typical seaside menu of fish and chips with ice cream sundae for desert , it was well presented and delicious .
A special thanks to the barman who I am told had an excellent memory for who was drinking what and seemed to enjoy the day as much as the guests !
Bee gees

Room Tip: Not applicable
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our performance and for your kind comments. The staff and I all enjoyed the day and thank Ruth and Richard for allowing us to share their special day with them, their familly and their friends.

Kind regards Sue Wagstaffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My now wife and I had our wedding ceremony and wedding breakfast here on the 4th of May 2013.
We can only say positive things about our stay here and the splendid venue, ceremony and after wedding meal.
The staff could not have been more attentive and helpful , nothing appeared to be any trouble for us and our guests.
Sue and her staff are a credit to the hotel industry and all of our wedding party thoroughly enjoyed the day.
The whole event went well from our arrival on Friday afternoon to us leaving on Sunday morning.
Sue supplied a great wedding information package and everything promised was delivered , we can honestly say that we had a superb time.Sue even put us in touch with a good photographer and local florist. Thank you to all at the White Lodge Hotel.I'm sure they even influenced the good weather, Thank You.We woke up to a beautiful sunrise over Filey bay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Sea are even better.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for your kind comments. The staff and I thank you and Gail for allowing us to assist you to celebrate your special Day and we look forward to welcoming you back to The White Lodge Hotel soon
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel occupies a prime location with lovely sea views from the public rooms and many bedrooms. There is easy access along the flower-bedded crescent to the town centre and via various steps & pathways down to the beach. The hotel is very professionally managed and we found the staff to be exceedingly friendly and nothing too much trouble. Service was speedy at all times throughout our stay. There are only 6 car parking spaces and although road parking is plentiful and free the chances of finding a nearby space on a sunny bank holiday Sunday is a matter of luck. Would like to return mid-week to experience the resort and hotel without the crowds.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndabaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The White Lodge Hotel soon.
As you point out the location of The White Lodge Hotel can be a double edged sword - our guests can enjoy stunning uninterrupted views of Filey Bay, easy access into the Town Centre and to the Beach and unrestricted free street parking to augment the Hotels small off road car park. Day visitors to Filey also enjoy these attractions and hence on busy sunny days there may be some street parking congestion during the day but by mid to late afternoon there is rarely a problem with parking close to the Hotel. The staff of The White Lodge Hotel are committed to Hotel guest service and comfort and will do all that they can to alleviate any problems caused by temporary parking congestion
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We called on a Saturday lunchtime for a pint and lunch. The foods was very nice but sadly they did not have any crab for a sandwich. We had the cheesy chips as a side order which we never have and they were a real treat. Service was good and friendly and reasonably priced. The location is great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BarnsleyChappers147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. So sorry that we had run out of Filey Bay Crab on the day that you visited and hope that this did not cause too much disappointment.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
2.1 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
198 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,911 reviews
25.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,259 reviews
9.0 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
588 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Address: The Crescent | North Yorkshire, Filey YO14 9JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Price Range: $170 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge Hotel is located on the cliff-top with panoramic views overlooking Filey Bay. Close to the town centre, golf course and tennis courts, it is an ideal location for a relaxing holiday, wedding or business event. Many of the 20 bedrooms have stunning sea views whilst others have beautiful garden views. Each room is en-suite with digital TV, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea making facilities and hair dryers. We have a family suite and several rooms that can accommodate children. All rooms are accessible via a passenger lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lodge Hotel Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing