We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“90th Birthday”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“90th Birthday”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had my Dad's 90th Birthday gathering here with Family and Friends from Local and around the country. Ideal location, everyone of our guests commented how lovely the Hotel is, friendliness of the staff and on the quality of the meal. Had our small party in the Terrace, which has a great view of Filey Bay (pity it was dark). We were well looked after from the planning with Sue and Rose up to the actual day when we were looked after by Lauren, Wayne and their Team of Staff. Thanks also to the Chef for the meal. The rooms were very comfortable and our guests enjoyed a good nights sleep before Full English breakfast in the morning and a walk along the Beach. Best venue in Filey for Functions and Family gatherings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IMC428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much for allowing us to help you to celebrate your fathers special birthday and for taking the time to give us your feedback on our performance. I for one look forward to many more birthday celebrations for this very special man!

Kind regards


Sue Wagstafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    91
    31
    14
    8
See reviews for
98
223
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Due to the amount of travelling involved on a visit to our family in Filey we decided a weekend stay would be better for us.
We stayed on dinner bed and breakfast for two nights. It was great. We had room 4 on the first floor. Very comfortable,
spacious and with a nice view of the park. The food was excellent and the choice, particularly at breakfasy was enormous.
All the staff were very proficient and nothing was too much trouble for them. I have attended many functions at this hotel before moving away to work over twenty years ago. I had never had reason to stay here before, but there are lots of good reasons to stay here again.

Mic and Jenny Hall, Colne.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank micHall357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback and for your kind comments. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The White lodge Hote soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I got married on Saturday 4th August in Filey. We had booked and planned for the wedding for two years. Sue and members of her team at the White Lodge were nothing but helpful and courteous in every instance. E-mails and the many phone calls were always answered and advice given.
My wife stayed the night before the wedding and was helped in every way to ensure that the day before wasn’t stressful. On the morning all the guests were given a delicious cooked breakfast which they all commented on and my future wife’s whims were met.
On arrival from the church the guests were met with their drinks and we were able to enjoy the garden and seating area outside because of the wonderful weather we enjoyed that day. The meal which was: tomato and basil soup, chicken and vegetables, Mediterranean vegetable lasagne and apple crumble and custard were lovely and everyone commented on this. I was especially delighted when my dessert showed up; a huge bowl of apple and crumble and custard! Sue had remembered that I said I loved that pudding.
The evening reception was brilliant too, everyone had an amazing time. The buffet was delicious and there was enough for everyone.
The White Lodge Hotel was a perfect wedding venue for us and we are extremely glad that we made the choice. We can’t thank Sue and her lovely team enough. We’re looking forward to returning for our year anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas_Earnshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thomas and Julia thank you so much for allowing us to help you celebrate your special day. We all look forward to welcoming you back to The White Lodge Hotel

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

7 of us have been to White Lodge for 2 consecutive years for a few days walking, this year was as good as ever. The rooms are excellent, service and food superb. We will certainly return again, many thanks for making us welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We look forward to wellcoming your party back to The White Lodge Hotel soon

Kind regards


Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in room 32, it was very dated even the TV appeared to be about 20 years old and I thought the bed was the hardest and most uncomfortable I have ever slept on, and we have a firm mattress at home and so used to a firm bed. The bathroom was very clean.and the location was really nice. We stayed for a wedding and reception which went well the buffet and the cooked breakfast were very good We had a discounted room for the wedding at £100 couple for B@B I thought it was to expensive for the quality of room althought we had a good view of a slated roof.
I may not be back in Filey but if I am I would stay elsewhere

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on our performance. Whilst it is never pleasant to receive poor reviews it is only in this way that we can drive the business forward and improve.

You will be aware that both the bride and the groom, whose Wedding you attended, were employed by the Hotel until recently before their Wedding. Wedding invitations had already been sent and rooms in the hotel booked when they left our employ but to save them further embarrassment we allowed them to continue with their Wedding at the preferential staff rate for both catering, room hire and accommodation. We are pleased that you enjoyed their day.

Whether staff or not it is our policy to levy a flat tariff on all rooms for events where the whole hotel is booked. Event organisers usually find this the easiest method of approaching the issues. In this instance the Bride and Groom allocated the rooms to their relatives and friends and provided the Hotel with this allocation some months before their Wedding Day.

We currently have three grades of room – Delux Sea View, “Midship” and "Club Deck". Room 32 is an entry level “Club Deck” room and is advertised with restricted view. I can only apologise that the room did not meet your expectation and we have taken on board your comments with regards to its facilities

Kind Regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire England
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stopped at The White Lodge last August for a short break and decided to do so again this August ,if anything it was better than last year we had a seaview room which was lovely especially as the weather was kind to us .It is not the cheapest place in Filey but if you want a comfortable hotel in the best area in Filey choose this one

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank algarveaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel and we hope to see you again soon

Kind regards


Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

we visited the white lodge for an evening meal. the waitress was the loveliest person, very accomodating and had a good relationship with the kitchen too. we find it difficult to eat out as a family, fussy child, fussier husband, adventurous me but this place managed to tick all our boxes. thanks..we're coming again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
2.1 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
187 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,845 reviews
9.0 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,858 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
2.2 mi away
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Property: White Lodge Hotel
Address: The Crescent | North Yorkshire, Filey YO14 9JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge Hotel is located on the cliff-top with panoramic views overlooking Filey Bay. Close to the town centre, golf course and tennis courts, it is an ideal location for a relaxing holiday, wedding or business event. Many of the 20 bedrooms have stunning sea views whilst others have beautiful garden views. Each room is en-suite with digital TV, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea making facilities and hair dryers. We have a family suite and several rooms that can accommodate children. All rooms are accessible via a passenger lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lodge Hotel Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing