We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Dolphin Touring Review”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Dolphin Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Filey
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a review based upon using a touring caravan at this site.

The park was easy to find with good access and check in was very commendable. The info pack supplied was informative with all relevant facts. The hard standing pitch was of a good size with a grassed area to the side for the awning. The site is sloped but the majority of pitches seemed to be relatively flat.

The facilities were clean and hot water was plentiful. The grey water, chemical waste and garbage areas were easy to find and use. The electrical hook up was ample for our needs.

Some patrons in the tented (camping) area could be noisy and inconsiderate at night.

The entertainment complex was quite a long walk from the touring area, not a problem for younger campers but any older clientele or disabled guests would need to drive or use mobility scooters. The prices were consistent with parks of this nature and did not break the bank. The Mash and Barrel restaurant was a bit pricey but the portions were huge!!

For the Bingo aficionados out there the ticket prices were good but the timings were odd!! eyes down for 5.30pm then a long wait for the entertainment proper, perhaps a later bingo time would attract more players who would then stay in their seats for the rest of the night.

All in all not a bad site.

The local area had plenty on offer for visits

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteveHutch48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Dolphin H, Manager at Blue Dolphin Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your review, it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your time with us at Blue Dolphin and found the touring facilities ideal for you. It’s a shame that some are inconsiderate to others, our security team are always on hand to assist. It’s great that you where able to enjoy the amazing portions in the mash & barrel, they definitely leave you feeling full. I will share your feedback about the Bingo with our entertainments manager, the more players the better.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards


Kelly Newland
Holiday Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,273 - 1,279 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

just spent 11 nights in our touring caravan and cannot fault anything at all about this park. check in was good and the staff where very helpfull in guideing you to your pitch - we where on a grass pitch it was not level so make sure to take blocks with you . the shower and toilet blocks are very clean and plenty of hot water take your hairdryer with you there are sockets in the blocks. there is only one family room and i did hear a few people moaning about this . the staff on the toilet block where always nice and friendly and do an excellent job. the pot wash is very good as its under cover and lit up at night if you only wash up late -- not many sinks have plugs in so take one with you or ask the staff who will give you one. plenty going on both day and night and lovelly cliff top walks the views are breathtaking. the site is within walking distance into filey road way being the quickest a good 25 minutes.dont miss a visit to bempton cliffs and if you pick up the leaflet in reception advertising the cliffs there is a voucher in that will save you £5 -- it gives you free parking and admits everyone travelling in your car into the bird reserve its very interesting and the staff are at the lookouts and will show you the birds through strong binoculars -- if your going soon the puffins are there now. we really enjoyed this holiday and hope to go back asap

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Dolphin H, Manager at Blue Dolphin Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Wow what an amazing review, thank you so much. It sounds like you really enjoyed your time at Blue Dolphin and surround areas, there is so much to explore. I have been to Bempton Cliffs many times and always leave wanting to go back – so close to nature. Our touring team work hard to make sure that all of our guests have a great time and will always assist in any way they can, they will love your feedback – Thank you.

Really hope that we will get to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Kelly Newland
Holiday Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Great touring site plenty of room on pitches. Toilet block immaculate cleaners always their. Fab entertainment for the kids plenty to do. Indoor and outdoor swimming pool kids loved the indoor slide. Plenty of food places for something to eat and their is an on site shop.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Dolphin H, Manager at Blue Dolphin Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for a great review. We reduced the number of pitches on touring this year to allow more room on each pitch; I am so pleased that you benefited from this and the facilities which Blue Dolphin has to offer.

Truly hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Kelly Newland
Holiday Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

It was good I go bk if that change the security people that check the pass sow that thay know how come in the front door it in a good place nice not for from fily just a 5 min drive away and a 1hr drive to flimgo land and that was good

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrot3op
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Dolphin H, Manager at Blue Dolphin Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your review, I was pleased to read that you liked the park and the location, Filey is a beautiful town. Shame about the cleanliness of the seat, I have asked the complex team to check these.

Hope that we will get to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Kelly Newland
Holiday Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is the 2nd time we've been to this haven site, we stayed 7th june till the 10th, check in was really fast and there was a fun star rep giving the kids stickers and keeping them happy,we where given a new 2013 3bed super delux van,(6 haythorpe drive)it was lovely better then the 1 we stay in last year and that was hard to beat,clean,brandnew everything u need was there,very roomy, staff as usual throughout the site are very helpful,the swimming pool is great for the kids with the slides there too,site was very clean throughout, there's 2 little parks and a softplay/ball pit for the kids too, the kids entertainment on a night was fab the funstars where brill with the kids, all round great holiday, I've no idea why people give this site so much negitive feedback, were already looking into booking up again for next year :) x

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Dolphin H, Manager at Blue Dolphin Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Wow, Thank you for such a great review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Blue Dolphin holiday Park. The team will love reading how much you rate them.

Truly hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon, please remember to mention that you have already been on holiday with us this year to get your extra discount!

Kind regards

Kelly Newland
Holiday Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Having purchased a more up to date caravan this year and with the family enjoying Filey this was the third trip to that area this year. I have to say Blue Dolphin was a bit disappointing. The only thing I really liked were the generous grass pitches as we had been to Reighton Sands the month before where you much more cramped together and seemed very on top of one another on a hard standing gravelled pitch which was very hard underfoot if you weren't wearing shoes. Having said that compared to Blue Dolphin, Reighton Sands is like luxury as it is much cleaner and tidier.

Firstly, on exploration from the Spar shop although pretty well stocked through to where the amusements and bars were everything was starting to look a little tired and looking in need of an update. Even the static caravans we passed looked dirty from the outside and in good need of a clean.

We used the swimming pool one day and the floors and even the bottom of the pool were slippy underfoot I myself nearly slipped under in the pool this could be a bit dangerous for young children.

The entertainment provided in the Showbar is very amateurish and the whole area is full of screaming children up till all hours.

On the Saturday night we had to put up with loud music from next door and plenty of swearing and we had three young children trying to sleep. The loud swearing was a pretty much commonplace all over the site with parents shouting and swearing at their children and one of our children was on the park and was spat at by a little girl.

I am by no means a snob and live in an area which is far from posh but some of the holidaymakers were a rough looking lot.

I for one wouldn't really want to bother coming back here as it was overcrowded and some of the people there spoilt the atmosphere.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Dolphin H, Manager at Blue Dolphin Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your review, it’s great to read how delighted you where with your pitch and its size, I am really sorry that you departed feeling disappointed with Blue Dolphin. I will definitely be sharing your feedback with all of the managers – hopefully we can use it to improve. We are family holiday park, though unfortunately this does not deter some guests from using inappropriate language.
It’s a shame that we may not get the opportunity to welcome you again, please feel free to email me direct on bluedolphintripadvisor@haven.com if I can be of any further assistance.
Kind regards

Kelly Newland
Holiday Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our 2nd time holidaying at Blue Dolphin and we were really excited after our fab experience last June for a 7 night stay. This was also a 7 night stay and this time we upgraded to the 3 bedroomed Prestige Caravan as there was myself and my husband, 2 daughters and our 8 month old son.
We added optional extras this time around and paid for hire of a Travel Cot, High Chair and Pushchair - mainly to save room in the car travelling to Yorkshire and also the convenience. We arrived at 1.30pm for the 2pm check in and were told to wait until 2pm, so had a quick look around with the children.
We arrived at our Caravan on The Larches and had to drive through a few caravans to find this, was near the facilities so was pleased with that. When unpacking the car we looked in the caravan for the pushchair and found that none of the items we had paid to hire were in the caravan - so the baby had to stay in the car in his seat whilst we contacted Reception. We were told that they were very busy with people checking in and that a Porter would deliver these things asap. After 2 hours the house keeping van arrived with the travel cot, high chair and push chair and I told her that we had no hot water and could she advise us what to do - she tutted at us and told us "report it to maintenance" and walked off!
I began to sort the baby's push chair only to find that this was broken... the frame was snapped and the front wheels did not touch the floor! Also the high chair was filthy as was the push chair. Again we phoned reception and asked for a new one as this one was broken and the lady was quite apologetic and arranged for another one to be delivered to us.
We had another pram delivered and this was brand new - however it had no rain cover and didn't recline into a lay down position which made my son very uncomfortable when sleeping. Again we contacted Reception only to be told "Well that's the only one we do and there's nothing that could be done about it"! We went into Bridlington and bought a buggy ourselves and took this one back to Reception and was not given any refund or apology....... Yet when I booked the push chair I received a phone call reminding me that I hadn't paid the £7.50 to hire the thing!!
So this was not a good start to the holiday and left me annoyed right from the start.

To add insult to injury - the travel cot did not fit in the main bedroom so we had to sleep on the sofa bed for the entire time we were here which was extremely uncomfortable!!!.

Activities are not as good as last year and some of the "Fun Stars" had a bad attitude, I heard 2 of them moaning in the Spar shop saying that "Last night was crap it was dead and boring, I can't wait to get out of here and go on holiday"!! Just what you want to hear as a paying holiday customer.

We decided to leave today although we were booked in until Friday 14th - We feel really let down this time and won't be returning to Blue Dolphin.

P.S - If you want any baby food or bottles warming up whilst In the entertainment section...... The staff are not allowed to do this for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_shell164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Dolphin H, Manager at Blue Dolphin Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

I am really sorry about this experience; all hire goods should be checked, cleaned and delivered to the accommodation before our guests check-in. I am sorry that this was not the case and for the lack of support our team gave you. Due to the layouts of the caravans it is difficult to put a travel cot into any of the bedrooms; we would always recommend that they go in the living room. Our Funstars are normally the life and soul of the party it is disappointing to read of what you overheard – we will be addressing this.

If you would like to email me direct at bluedolphintripadvisor@haven.com I would be more than happy to look into your reservation further and look to remind you of the great service you received in 2012.

Kind regards

Kelly Newland
Holiday Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
2.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
17.3 mi away
Skipsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Barmston Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts
3 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
2 mi away
Binton Guest House
Binton Guest House
#14 of 19 in Filey
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Gristhorpe Bay, Filey, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Filey
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Dolphin Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Holiday Park Hotel Filey
Blue Dolphin Holiday Park - Haven Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing