We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice park, shame about the accommadation.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Filey
lancashire
2 reviews
“Nice park, shame about the accommadation.”
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We booked at Primrose Valley as we were taking our 7 year old grandson away for the first time & thought there would be plenty for him to do if us wrinkleys couldn't keep up .
We booked a standard plus caravan & it was awful. When we first entered there was a musty smell which we later found out to be the beds which were also lumpy. We don't believe the van had been cleaned as there was hair in the shower plug hole which after taking out the hair was still blocked. When we mentioned this at reception they weren't at all interested. The whole van was tatty & in need of a facelift, there were even cigarette burns on the carpet. Don't take too many clothes, there isn't enough space for a week's worth of clothes & nowhere to put the cases! We were cramped with just the 3 of us.
Although the park is nicely set out & clean there are limited activities for children under 8 & what few there are can work out expensive, especially the arcade which is extensive & which you have to pass through to get to most other things.
Whilst the food menu isn't extensive it does provide what most kids & teenagers want to eat. We quite enjoyed the Mash & Barrel, but it is worth looking at the flyers sent to the caravans, we had a great pizza etc at a very reasonable price.
The park is ideal if you don't want to spend all your time on it. If you have a car the area affords some great days out with lots to see & do.
We wrote to Haven on our return & although we received the obligatory letter of appolgy we felt that they weren't really interested now that they had got our money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bodonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    729
    367
    163
    137
See reviews for
1,660
137
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We have just come back from a 7 night stay in a superior plus caravan at Primrose Valley. The website made it all look great but it wasnt what we expected. The 2 main complexes are at opposite ends of the park, so if you dont have a car you will do alot of walking. The park map had mistakes on it. Firstly our caravan was pretty horrible, the beds were so uncomfortable that we barely slept all week, the furniture was old and tatty, the carpet was filthy.
The park itself is ok but as i said not what i thought it would be, there must be around 800 caravans, the main entertainment area with the showbars makes you walk through all the arcades to get to anything. The evening entertainment was ok but most nights it was just repeating itself, and there wasnt enough saeting by far, we got there 90 mins early just to get a seat. The splash zone swimming pool is not what i expected, its pretty small and we only got an hour because it was so busy, and the other pool was just a pool with one slide and we got bored.
The funfair is really expensive, and the leiure activities werent that good either, our kids didnt get much for their money, there is so many people in the groups that you only get a few tries. they did the water walkerz and got about 5 mins for £6 each.
One thing i id really like was that theres lots of places to visit nearby, we went to the rock factory, and playdale farm, i would reccommend both. and if you dont mind an hours drive you could go to The Deep at Hull.
Overall our kids had a good time, but us adults found it abit naff, maybe if we had had some sleep it might of helped.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alton-Towers-Junky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

we took our two grandsons aged 14 and 12. went out most days as there is not a lot going on for their age group. they enjoyed the evening entertaenment which was very noisy indeed. the caravan we had was excellent, clean and modern. had a fireinthe living part plus radiators through out. it was a superior plus which was well worth the extra.
it was a privately owned caravan, but let outby haven. the one gripe we had was, you couldn't get a decent meal. all fast food/ mash and barrel was as bad, everything with chips. we went out a lot to eat in the evening. made do during the day. thi s park really caters for a lot younger children. but it does not tell you this in the brochure.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2009

I got myself into a bit of a state in the period leading up to our holiday after reading some of the awful reviews on this site.

We stayed in a superior plus caravan which was spotless - check- in took less than 15 mins even though there wasa long queue when we arrived. The site is clean and well maintained, the staff respectful and polite.

The small amount of chavs are vastly out numbered by "normal" families.

The beach is lovely - a 10 min lovely walk through some woodland. We had some glorious days there and the weather was great.

The indoor pool is great.

Negative points are the food on site - Mash and Barrell is vastly overpriced and crap. The fish and chip shop likewise - the chips were awful.

The Chinese on site is fantastic - great food and resonably priced and polite helpful staff.
We went there on our last evening and in hindsight wished we had ate there every night!

Can't comment on the nightlife as the bairns were so exhausted after the days activities, they were in bed by 7!

We hope to book for 2010 and beyond!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeeTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirknewton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Primrose valley is a family resort with plenty for kids to do, Usual haven resort fairly large size with its own funfair and caravans are quite nice inside and clean. Only stayed for a weekend break. I prefer the smaller parks as its a bit noisy at night and everything is always busy.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2009

I have returned from Primrose Valley staying in a Platimum caravan. The caravan was clean and furnishings a good standard. We were lucky enough to have the addition of a verandah along one side with patio furniture. The kitchen was more than adequate as was the lounge area but the bedrooms were a let down as they were so tiny as was the toilet in which an average (not large) adult could only just fit in and shut the door (like on aeroplane). The shower room was ok though. the park itself is enormous and it's location, location, location. We were lucky enough to be just across from the main complex, having only to cross the road to get to all the main entertainment and swimming pool. There is another swimming area and funfair, climbing zone at the other end of the park but had to drive there in the car. The funfair is small - only 5 or 6 rides and basic and £1.50 + a ride so can be expensive. We only used the kids club one day and the middle ages iced some cakes which my son enjoyed and the preschoolers were dressing up and playing with all the toys (a few building blocks) - a great disappointment for my daughter who had brought better toys with her in the van. we didn't go again. The main pool was superb but was always crowded, The camp shop was reasonably priced £1.55 for a large milk and had reasonably priced nick naks etc. Burger King was a rip of £3.29 for a kids meal and the chippy wasn't worth visting unless you like greasy soggy chips. But it is a self catering hol after all and there are various takeaways that deliver to camp. Great location for Bridlington and Scarborough -though Filey not worth a visit. Overall a good holiday and may return one day...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xipNorthwestUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Just returned from a weeks trip with my family. Lovely site. Caravans needing updated and mattress on all five caravans that we had were only fit for a skip... Fantastic swimming pools and lots of things to do for the kids within the site. Food was rubbish, not good value for money and neither was the on site shop.. buy anything that you need before you go or visit the local somerfields in Filey as you will get double for your money.. Would recommend to eat of site and visit primrose dinner which is on the way to the beach... food lovely and very good value... chinese beside the PD is also very good too as was the Italian just outside of the site heading towards Bridlington. It was a shame that we had to eat of site but the mash and barrell food was not up to par and kids meals were microwave rubbish.... Still had a great time... will be trying a Butlins site next time...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEULERCOLLINSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
7.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,237 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
190 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
393 reviews
7.7 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
93 reviews
3.6 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Primrose Valley | Near Filey, Filey YO14 9RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Filey
Hotel Class:5 star — Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great for:• Active families • Sports and water facilities and activities• Sea views and sandy beachJoin us on Yorkshire's holiday coast and experience full on family seaside fun. It's a short walk down to the 5 mile stretch of sandy beach below, or stay up top and discover why we thrive on being one of the largest and liveliest parks in the area. Try scaling our climbing wall or ropes course, choose one of our three swimming pools, race around our go kart track - we even have a family funfair. Why not change the pace with a boat ride on the lake or a spot of fishing? So much to do - is one break enough? NEW for 2015: Soft Play Area, Linkfield Grove Development, New Reception Offices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Primrose Valley Holiday Park (Haven Holidays) Hotel Filey
Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing