We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Filey
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

booked private van on wildflower meadow with sea view , was fantastic entertainment on both Friday and Saturday were great in main show bar great fun stars ( apart from Scottish blonde girl ) who u could never understand when spoke on mike , site very clean and well maintained

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Fionafnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,731 - 1,737 of 2,330 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have stayed at several Haven sites and this is definitely the cleanest! On arrival we were upgraded to a deluxe caravan which was very spacious for just the three of us. Loads to do at this site and perfect for families with young children. My son is 15 and we didn't use the entertainment facilities as much as when he was younger. The location is excellent with access to the beach and a short walk to Filey. My only complaint was that as a real ale drinker I was looking forward to cask ales but the pumps were all turned round. End of season? A walk into Filey to the excellent Bonhommie bar solved this. All in all a relaxing and cheap weekend away!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeedsLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a week here, and the whole family lived it, stayed in a privilege caravan which was very spacious and clean! Site it's self was very clean all entertainers were great activities were awesome food was lovely! My only fault (and this is me being picky) but THREE days on the trot the chefs special "chefs bangers" was sold out or not available? Couldn't see how it was sold out when I only saw one person eating it over the week! This was my only disappointment but other than that we will defiantly be back again because we had a fabulous time ����

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to Primrose Valley . We ve booked through the Sun both times and each time it's been an easy efficient process . We arrived on Friday evening and were told we had an extra upgrade on the upgrade we had paid for, to a Retreat style ! It was lovely, clean , almost new and had loads of space - also it was lovely and warm which on a stormy weekend was essential .
The site itself held loads to do for adults and our two kids 4 and 7 . The pool was fab ( but a little cold) the bumper boats brilliant fun , Funworks was enjoyed by our daughter. We enjoyed a bit of entertainment in both venues - the Halloween party was well done in Jesters . The chip shop was not the best but hey ho! Staff everywhere really friendly and helpful.
After three days we left - exhausted but we ll return some time soon . Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank BirdieR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Accommodation / Location - we booked the Sun holiday deal for 3 nights in October & upgraded to a caravan that guaranteed not to have had pets staying in them (it was classed as a standard luxury I think). This was the only upgrade available they could offer with the Sun deal. I had previously stayed at Haggerston and we had a deluxe plus which was really nice and very spacious so I was a little apprehensive about the standard of the accommodation we would get at this Haven site. We asked to be located quite central to the entertainment complex but this was a request only &we were advised there was no guarantee. We checked in quite late on the Friday evening & check in was quick and painless. We had been allocated a caravan in a central location (less than 5 minute walk from the entertainment complex) so Haven had met our request and when we entered the caravan I was pleasantly surprised. It was immaculately clean & upon inspection all cutlery, glasses, plates etc were also clean (I would always rinse items before use anyway). Okay the caravan was quite small and the double bedroom had little space around the double bed so this meant legs & toes were knocked when trying to move around. The other room was tiny with 2 extremely small single (at a push) beds in however we just pushed them together. Storage in both rooms was more than adequate for all items to be put either in the wardrobe or within the shelving provided. We don’t spend much time in the Caravan if we can help it as we like to be out and about so more than adequate for a base. The path to our caravan from the road seemed to have a couple of paving stones short and as there had been torrential rain it was very slippery and very muddy which can be quite dangerous however this was our only observation so not bad going I don’t think.

Entertainment – The main entertainment room gets very busy early on and you can struggle to find a seat however over a period of time people start to leave and usually within about 10/15 minutes we found a table / seat on each of the nights we were there. The entertainment team work very hard and put on some good shows (including their Halloween show). We saw 2 live acts and both were quite decent and definitely not the worst I have seen. The drinks were priced like city centre pubs but its what you expect in these places. We visited the Mash & Barrell pub onsite and although we didn’t eat there the staff were extremely pleasant and the Manager was very friendly and seemed to make time for all of his customers.
Pools – there are 2 pools and although we only used the one in the main centre both looked good. There is quite a lot for the kids to play on including slides, lily pads to balance on, tipping water buckets etc so lots of fun for children and a bit hit with our daughter,

Food – we don’t really eat in the restaurants on holiday sites however there looked to be far more choice at primrose Valley (pub, café restaurant / pizza restaurant) than that at Haggerston (one pub & then just fast food outlets)

Out & about – there is a bus comes onto the site for Filey, Bridlington, Scarborough so if you don’t want to stay on site it’s a good way to travel to these destinations. We opted for Filey, the bus was bang on time and took less than 15 minutes. The weather wasn’t brilliant when we headed out but by midday / early afternoon the sun was out and we were walking along the beach area which is very pleasant even stopping of for some fish and chips and ate them sitting outside!!!

Overall – thoroughly enjoyed our short break at Primrose Valley and would definitely look to book again if available through the Sun Holidays. There is a true saying you get what you pay for but overall I thought we got good value for money (we ended off paying about £100 for accommodation, passes for 3 of us so less than £15 pound per night = good value).

Room Tip: Put a request into the reception staff and i'm sure they will do their best to accommodate it. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perry007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Went for a weeks holiday between 28/9 -5/10.Good caravan, however the caravan was dirty. The floor was not swept & mopped. The muck had been brushed against the seating area in the living room. We were unable to use the pans as they had mould growing inside them. We had to wash all the plates & cups before we could use them. We stayed in the lakes. Lovely part of the park, however its a 15 minute walk to the complex. Its a large park & there is direct access to the beach. The views of Filey bay are amazing, Scarborough & Bridlington are approx a 20 minute drive away, I would have rated this review 4 stars but the cleanliness of the caravan has rated my review 3. We did complain to the park & we did get a visit from one of the managers who advised that the caravan would be cleaned that day buy unfortunately it wasn't,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend. Caravan was very nice but needed a good clean. There were dust cobwebs hanging from the ceiling and dead flies & a lot of dust on windowsills that literally took seconds for us to remove but should not have to be done by us as guests! Even the microwave had not been cleaned. Also lots of items on the inventory were missing on our arrival which was an inconvenience. Walls of the caravan are paper thin and hard to sleep at night due to noise from others. We found the entertainment very average and cheesy at times. Kids enjoyed it but would be better if they were only allowed on the dance floor upto a certain time or as there are 2 entertainment venues why not make one of them for adults only? Also the queues at the bar were very very long.Tried eating in the Mash & Barrel but had to wait an extremely long while for the food to arrive - staff were quite rude when we complained and no apology received. Needless to say we didn't return there again! Nice family run cafe nearby though & plenty of places to eat out nearby in Bridlington Filey & Scarborough. Made a good base for exploring the lovely area though but next time we will stay in a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindy050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
1.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
415 reviews
7.7 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
120 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Thornwick Bay Holiday Village
3.6 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
1.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Primrose Valley | Near Filey, Filey YO14 9RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Filey
Hotel Class:5 star — Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great for:• Active families • Sports and water facilities and activities• Sea views and sandy beachJoin us on Yorkshire's holiday coast and experience full on family seaside fun. It's a short walk down to the 5 mile stretch of sandy beach below, or stay up top and discover why we thrive on being one of the largest and liveliest parks in the area. Try scaling our climbing wall or ropes course, choose one of our three swimming pools, race around our go kart track - we even have a family funfair. Why not change the pace with a boat ride on the lake or a spot of fishing? So much to do - is one break enough? NEW for 2015: Soft Play Area, Linkfield Grove Development, New Reception Offices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Primrose Valley Holiday Park (Haven Holidays) Hotel Filey
Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing