We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will definately go back here”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Filey
Reviewed April 13, 2011

went here 4-11 april 2011 with my 3 kids and my mum. we stayed in a platinum caravan on beech rise. the caravan was lovely and spacious and very clean. it was a 15 minute walk to the shop, entertainment etc but this was ok, it also meant it was quite quiet at night. we were a 5 minute walk from the fun fair, pool, lake etc which was nice as thats where my kids loved going.
the whole park was lovely and clean and the staff couldnt do enough for you. we ate in the mash and barrel which was nice. burger king was good. we also had papa johns a few nights which was good and they deliver to your caravan, my son thought this was great, looking out for the little green car!!!!

we will definately come here again as we had a fab week.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helb167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,262 - 2,268 of 2,354 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2011

My girlfriend and I booked this via The Sun holidays with an air of childhood nostalgia. I'd first holidayed in Primrose Valley back in the late 80s with my parents and sister and wasn't disappointed to return - caravan holidays still hold a certain allure to me :). We arrived mid day and were told caravan would not be ready until 4pm (expected) we did however get access around 3pm without issue. Caravan was clean and fully equipped, there were only two of us but could have comfortably slept 6/8. Night times and early mornings were cold but this was Tge end of March after all. In the summer I would say this would not be an issue. Staff were great, Spar on site was fully stocked and no more expensive than your local. Beer on an evening was pricey but in that type of atmosphere, noone is there to drink all that much. Amusements and Splash Zone are perfect for kids.
I would defiantly return to PV potentially in the summer months when the park is in full swing.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toddyboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Stayed at primrose for a long weekend with eight in the caravan so a bit of a squeeze but it was clean which was the most important thing the kids loved it especially the older ones 7-12 year olds but there wasn't much for toddlers plenty to do on the park which is well kept if you are going to the evening entertainment make sure you get there early or there are no tables free only bad points were other noisy people late at night and the 'beach access' means you actually have to fall off a cliff to get there. So great overall obviously this I'd a caravan site so don't expect luxury but I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lehairycrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

we went the 1st week of opening bargain @ £79(standard) and only had to pay £1 4 the dog,i love going abroad but also love my lil caravan hols!! we had 2 caravan prestige(£170) and standard there was 5 adults 4 kids (8mnts to 7 ) and 2 dogs,and it had everything there u need even the spar shop wasnt expensive or the restaurant there (mash and barrell) has everything and we did the lot swimming everyday went to the funfair got a pedal boat on the lake hired the bikes went to the park, down to the beach and arcades even the entertainment something we dont normally do and drinks 4 8 people £15, it was lovely clean nice staff and weve been to a few havens and bookin again 4 a couple months time,your near scarborough,bridlington,filey town which we visited and looking forward to going back and also half way through finishing the golf course

Room Tip: just budget ie for arcades etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This trip was a Sun Holiday special so we can't complain about price however wouldn't pay more for this park. 2 adults 2 children. We have been to a haven before in Haggerston however this park is very big compared to the other. Double bedroom smelt of cat wee and was mouldy in corners. Very cold when temp drops under 4c at night. No heaters except for gas fire in front end of caravan - so beds were freezing. Microwave, kettle, toaster and all essentials supplied. Great splashzone - even for non-swimmers. Pools only open to 5.45pm. Lockers cost 20p which is not returned (a bit of another cash grab on their behalf). Kids loved the shows however not as much interaction by the fun stars at Haggerston. Cafe near the main pool has very strange staff working there who ask you to move out the way as they want to watch the footy! Bit suprised by this and the fact that "Paul" offered me cream and marshmallows with my cappucino?! I was assured by him this is quite normal to be offered this as Starbucks and all Costas offer this as well. Never have been offered this but seemed like the kind of guy that had travelled (NOT). There is a starbucks on site and a nice pub called the mash and barrel which serves nices meals. Gaming area was a bit disapointing as basic rides costing £1.00 (supermarket rides 50p). 30% of machines not working. 18th Birthday party were in the caravan next door who were violenty ill over our car and then smeared it onto the car windows. Scarborough 25 mins away with plenty to do on a nice day. Hen parties and girls on the pull with the bouncers..... luckily the two 5 year olds were oblivious to this and had a good time. Dont have any expectations and don't pay anymore than £100 for a long weekend all in. On a glorious day its bearable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZINGZANGCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Fantastic great to take kids away to experience caravan holiday. On site facilities very good beach a nice walk to lovely clean sandy beach. Really enjoyed the experience its a very different kind of holiday than we are use to but this place was very good certainly better than some hotels we have stayed in. on sight fishn chips n papa johns if you like that kind of thing or good local pubs nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophieso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We paid for a non smoking 'superior' caravan for the week commencing 21st May, 2010; Booking Reference --. When we arrived and got our keys we couldn't wait to just use the toilet and make a cup of tea at our caravan as we had been driving for hours. When we went in (Oak Meadows 117), we could not believe how filthy this caravan was! The carpet and the sofas were like something from an old pub; filthy, covered in stains. We couldn't see through the windows as the caravan was situated under a tree and was covered in some sort of sticky residue and bird droppings. My wife instantly went back to reception to complain and they didn't seem surprised and just gave her another set of keys for a different caravan. During this there were other people with similar complaints talking to reception.

We went to the next caravan (Oak Meadows 36), and it was even worse! On top of the stains in the first caravan had, there were also cigarette burns in the carpet and furniture and it stank. We couldn't see the pattern of the carpet for sheer filth. The table top was not fixed to the base(and the caravan was leaning quite badly) and it was totally grubby and had nail polish or glue on it and again more cigarette burns. I honestly could not believe what we were seeing! The whole caravan was just so run down and dirty. I called reception and told them to get someone out to us immediately. After about twenty minutes of just sitting there, I called them again and eventually we were paid a visit by a supervisor called Wendy. When she arrived I explained that we had paid for a non-smoking, superior caravan and asked her 'this is superior to what exactly?' Wendy just looked around, didn't even try to argue and asked us to look at another caravan that they had just finished cleaning - We had little option but to just persevere! I asked why these caravans were so dirty?; at the start of the season after having all winter to do a deep clean. She told us that the problems with the first caravan had been flagged up before! Then why had nobody done anything about it???

At a glance the third caravan (Oak Meadows 38) seemed to be the best up to now and we were just exhausted and agreed to take it so we could relax. When we finally unpacked and started to sort things out. We soon realised that this caravan was also just run down junk! Nearly all the window latch buffers had been broken off, so the windows didn't shut tightly and it was cold and furthermore not secure. Anyone could get in through the windows. The thermocouple on the grill was inoperative so it wouldn't stay alight unless we stood there holding the button. The splash guard to this greasy cooker was missing with just the four screws left jutting out of the wall. The fridge had no salad drawer, no front to the ice box and no drip tray for the ice box so everything we kept in the fridge just got soaked. The sofas were still stained although not as bad as the first two caravans, however they still stank of cigarettes. One of the curtain pelmets was completely missing. The blind in the bathroom was thick with mould and the shower flex was just something else - perhaps a case study for a micro biology student. Everything we touched was grubby and occasionally sticky. There were other broken things like the door latches and hinges and the bed frame in our bedroom had been welded back together quite crudely with a 'lovely' coat of grey primer put on it with rust showing through. It was obvious that this was another worn out caravan that had had the carpets ripped out and replaced with badly fitted vinyl which we occasionally tripped over. With the previous response we had had we realised that complaining again was worthless so just put up with it and we left the site every day to find something to do. Also the beach access was closed due to damage so you had to walk for ages along the top of the cliff before you could actually set foot on the beach. Beware the ridiculous pricing of the on-site shops especially if you have young children in nappies.

When we got home I wrote a letter of complaint explaining that I had been with haven for about thirty years (Bourne Leisure), and could not believe what was going on at this site. They agreed to investigate and the outcome was that they offered an upgrade of accommodation if we booked at this park again, (Something we had already paid for and hadn't got) and no offer of compensation. We will never book with Haven again unless I needed somewhere to keep pigs or store rubbish for a week or two - It's sheer mank, just filthy! Oh and Thankyou Jill and Gemma whoever you are, for not doing a single bit of cleaning in our caravan - The Job you are employed to do!!! Shortly after our stay we saw Haven appear on Watchdog for exactly the reasons mentioned in this review. Pay a little extra and stay somewhere nice and clean! All the photographs shown are taken from of third caravan - the best one out of the three!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank W_Hume71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
1.3 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
199 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
1.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,496 reviews
3.7 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
0.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Primrose Valley | Near Filey, Filey YO14 9RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Filey
Hotel Class:5 star — Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great for:• Active families • Sports and water facilities and activities• Sea views and sandy beachJoin us on Yorkshire's holiday coast and experience full on family seaside fun. It's a short walk down to the 5 mile stretch of sandy beach below, or stay up top and discover why we thrive on being one of the largest and liveliest parks in the area. Try scaling our climbing wall or ropes course, choose one of our three swimming pools, race around our go kart track - we even have a family funfair. Why not change the pace with a boat ride on the lake or a spot of fishing? So much to do - is one break enough? NEW for 2015: Soft Play Area, Linkfield Grove Development, New Reception Offices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Primrose Valley Holiday Park (Haven Holidays) Hotel Filey
Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven Filey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing