We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of General Tarleton Restaurant

General Tarleton Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ferrensby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $86
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durham UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“The best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have long been fans of John Topham's culinary excellence, and although he was not actually running the kitchen at the time of our last visit, the food was to the same high quality.
A dining room has been turned into a resident's lounge and a pre-dining area, with comfortable sofa's and a very unusal table. Our lunch was taken in the main body of the restaurant, although in the summer the covered courtyard is also used, together with an outdoor terrace if you are brave enough. The restaurant is very cozy and informal, with lots of corners and alcoves, and a blazing fire as well. John's signature dish is a starter called Little Moneybags, a parcel of seafood and vegetables in filo pastry shaped like, yes, a moneybag. Even the string is edible, and served with just the right amount of lobster sauce it is absolutely irresistable. Our choice of main course was split between breast of pheasant and roast venison, both cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. Two of us managed deserts, whilst a third sampled the cheeseboard, with a choice of 3 cheeses from a list of 8. All of this was served by staff who were pleasant, knowledable, and efficient, overseen by the excellent Enzo Scibilia.
Although 80 miles from home, this is without doubt my favourite restaurant, and cannot be recommend too highly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    78
    43
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent chef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

The menu selection is small and features local seasonal produce, four of us chose different dishes and they were all excellent , the standard of cooking and presentation here is very high plus the wine list is interesting and reasonably priced. We wish our local was this good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalham, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I hadn't visited the General Tarlton for years, and decided we would try it again when on a visit to Harrogate. Still delicious food and reasonably priced. Staff very friendly an helpful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gfkw47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Great Place for a Meal and Drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We liked the conservatory area and the upstairs restaurant.The bar area is imaginatively planned and the meal that we had was highly enjoyable from staff who took a keen interest in what they were doing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good Food....Bad Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The food was very good, but the lamb dish didn't really work...it turned into a sogy mess and the balance of flavours was confussing! However, the interior decor in some of the rooms was great!

The most anoying thing = the service it was 'the worst I have experienced' the staff 3 males stood around chatting and ignoring the customers, when they did pass by...they looked past you avoided eye contact and no-one at any point asked if we were happy with the food! they obviously presume everyone is!!! very arogant! I eventually got a smile...but that was as I was paying - looking for a tip, I presume!

So, after hearing good things and having a good meal...I wouldn't be rushing to return! the staff were so bad I was happy to leave!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Tarleton Restaurant also viewed

Nun Monkton, North Yorkshire
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Arkendale, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to General Tarleton Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing