We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb place to eat and stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The General Tarleton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrensby
Newton upon Ouse, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A superb place to eat and stay”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I can't praise The General Tarleton highly enough. The staff were wonderful, warm and friendly. The food was beautiful and our room was gorgeous. Would definitely recommend and will look forward to going again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    99
    42
    18
    10
See reviews for
49
210
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

As friends of a local regular we were set up to expect a high standard and we were not disappointed. From Enzo's greeting to the staff's performance at every stage of our dinner it was first class. The young sommelier's performance from selection, through the decant to the ultimate pour of a fine Brunelo di Montalcino was beyond reproach. To match all this the courses at Dinner were well thought out and perfectly executed. Our thanks to all the staff that contributed to a perfect first return to Yorkshire from my rugby playing days of the mid fifties.

Room Tip: We did not stay there. The Star against 'Sleep Quality' is an error that I can not remove!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGM594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galan, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a restaurant with rooms and the restaurant is good. The menu has a wide range of choices; the food is beautifully presented and delicious. The rooms are well-appointed with some nice extras (e.g. home-baked biscuits). However, ours was not well sound-proofed: we know because our neighbour was snoring very loudly. When paying a not insignificant price for a room one expects some privacy. The free WiFi seemed to require repeat log-ins which was more than a little irritating.

Having said that, the restaurant is well worth visiting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjohn_Galan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This place is one of our regular haunts; and we are two of the fussier eaters know. Always a lovely welcome from Enzo the front of house Manager, consistent food quality with some exceptional menu choices Duck and Chips; three way Rabbit and Rose Veal Chop. This well establish restaurant doesn’t sit back on its laurels and endeavours to provide high end food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t38eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a great lunch with friends. The food was superb served by extremely friendly staff. We last visited maybe 4 years ago and noted a number of changes. We will certainly be coming back again soon!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magvelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
411 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Drove a 200 km detour to experience The General Tarleton and yes the food was definitely a winner. BUT a five star review would require a little more: i.e. attention to the guests needs include time to a present what is being served when it is served. We were told we could have selected cheeses from a "Cheese menu" after we had had (and finished) what was served.
Another a suggestion of improvement is sommelier choice of wines to match the food. The wine list is very good, but possibly a little intimidating for a novice.
A comfortable bed, light and airy bedroom was a delight to retreat to after our meal and we slept very well. But small improvement is needed to increase the water pressure to the rooms just slightly, our shower offered a sprinkling just barely matching a tropical drizzle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tord E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just had 2 nights here . The rooms are excellent, clean with Molten Brown toiletries. A nice touch was the complimentary tea and coffee on arrival. The food is truly delicious. Especially liked the local produce and the breakfast!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated differently but the information says they are the same size.We were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne1753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferrensby
5.2 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,533 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
15.3 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The General Tarleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The General Tarleton Inn

Property: The General Tarleton Inn
Address: Boroughbridge Road | Near Harrogate, Ferrensby HG5 0PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ferrensby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrensby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The General Tarleton Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fabulous food, outstanding service and a luxurious overnight stay, The General Tarleton is the perfect choice. We’re housed in a beautifully renovated 18th Century Coaching Inn, with views across open countryside in the pretty North Yorkshire village of Ferrensby. It’s handy for Harrogate, Ripon and Knaresborough and not too far from York.We have a firm focus on food, using high quality locally sourced ingredients. Our patron and award-winning chef, John Topham, creates fresh tasting dishes for a menu that combines modern exciting cuisine with some ever-popular more traditional and comforting choices. Whatever your want, whatever the season, The General Tarleton is sure to have something on the menu to whet your appetite. For more private dining our magnificent galleried private dining room is available, it’s perfect for birthdays, anniversaries or just for getting your friends together.To accompany your meal we have a wonderful wine cellar, many vintages often available by the glass and often at prices you will find surprisingly affordable. Our fabulous cocktail lounge is the perfect place to meet family and friends for a pre-dinner drink or coffee and liqueurs afterwards. With sumptuous chairs and sofas, and a welcoming log fire for the chilly evenings, you may find it hard to leave.Who really wants to drive after a delicious dinner and a glass or two of fine wine? So why not treat yourself and stay over? We have 13 stylish bedrooms, each individually decorated and appointed to the highest of standards, with little touches of luxury and comfort for a truly relaxing night. And of course, a hearty Yorkshire breakfast is included too.What is fantastic food without superior service? We’re committed to delivering service that is a little more special. Our staff are professionals dedicated to excellence so you can be assured of the highest standards of service in an easy, relaxed atmosphere. Whatever you might want, we aim to provide it, so if you have a special request, please let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The General Tarleton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The General Tarleton Hotel Ferrensby
The General Tarleton Inn Ferrensby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing