We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The General Tarleton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrensby
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a great lunch with friends. The food was superb served by extremely friendly staff. We last visited maybe 4 years ago and noted a number of changes. We will certainly be coming back again soon!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magvelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    98
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
46
203
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
411 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Drove a 200 km detour to experience The General Tarleton and yes the food was definitely a winner. BUT a five star review would require a little more: i.e. attention to the guests needs include time to a present what is being served when it is served. We were told we could have selected cheeses from a "Cheese menu" after we had had (and finished) what was served.
Another a suggestion of improvement is sommelier choice of wines to match the food. The wine list is very good, but possibly a little intimidating for a novice.
A comfortable bed, light and airy bedroom was a delight to retreat to after our meal and we slept very well. But small improvement is needed to increase the water pressure to the rooms just slightly, our shower offered a sprinkling just barely matching a tropical drizzle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tord E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just had 2 nights here . The rooms are excellent, clean with Molten Brown toiletries. A nice touch was the complimentary tea and coffee on arrival. The food is truly delicious. Especially liked the local produce and the breakfast!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated differently but the information says they are the same size.We were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne1753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Revisited the inn after quite a few years since our previous visit. Bedrooms had been redecorated to a very high standard. The staff were very friendly and the service from Enzo was top dollar!
The evening meal was sublime! My wife and I had different meals in order to sample two different dishes. My rabbit was exceptionally presented and tasted as it looked. I am still tasting it after 3 days! The lamb dish chosen by by my wife was equally delicious. Top marks Mr Topham!
Breakfast was extremely good and plenty of choice with all the ingredients top quality. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddiesgrandad128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in September and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. This establishment is called a restaurant with rooms and this is apt. If you are looking for lovely gardens and views you will not find it.
We had a friendly greeting on arrival and were shown our room. It had been newly decorated and everything was tasteful and very comfortable. We were invited to go to the lounge for a complimentary coffe and small delicious cakes were served. Both this room and the reception area look smart with unusual decor which is superoir to Chain Hotels.
We ate in the restaurant both evenings. The staff were well trained and the food arrived promptly. It was some of the best food that we have ever eaten. This was our second visit and my comments also apply to our previous visit.
On this occasion our room was on the ground floor . Though we did hear slight noise from above it was not a problem and it was no worse than many other hotels.
Two small problems arose during our stay and they were dealt with as quickly as possible and to our complete satisfaction. Our stay was most enjoyable and we look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JadeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have stayed here three times in the last few years. Great service with very friendly, professional staff. Nice comfortable rooms. Excellent food in the pub/restaurant with a good wine list. Good value for money accommodation with excellent breakfast

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandSBrentford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, West Yorkshire.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here last Saturday night for a friends 50th celebration - they had arranged private dining for all friends and family... the hotel is lovely, check in was nice & quick and the room was nice - not the best view but we were not there for the view.... the bar lounge is very nice indeed and the staff were all very polite.. we all met in the bar in the afternoon for drinks then arranged to meet at 7.30pm for the meal... the one problem I feel we need to mention is that because all the guests in the hotel were using the showers at the same time - this meant our room (13) had no water - we called reception and a man came to check but only said it was "because the other rooms were also using the water" (we feel this needs looking into by management) other than this the stay was fabulous.
The meal was absolutely delicious, from the soup, the main & the sweet.... we had Butternut squash soup and it was served lovely and looked and tasted delicious, the chicken main was also lovely as too was the cheeseboard and lemon tarte.
The breakfast table was very well stocked and we ordered the Yorkshire platter - we enjoyed this also.
We checked out and purchased another of John Tophams books to add to our collection, we mentioned about the water shortgage to the reception.

All in all the celebration was tremendous - thanks to The General Tarletons high standards.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferrensby
5.2 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,447 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#1 of 1 in Ripley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
16.1 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
15.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The General Tarleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The General Tarleton Inn

Property: The General Tarleton Inn
Address: Boroughbridge Road | Near Harrogate, Ferrensby HG5 0PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ferrensby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrensby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The General Tarleton Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fabulous food, outstanding service and a luxurious overnight stay, The General Tarleton is the perfect choice. We’re housed in a beautifully renovated 18th Century Coaching Inn, with views across open countryside in the pretty North Yorkshire village of Ferrensby. It’s handy for Harrogate, Ripon and Knaresborough and not too far from York.We have a firm focus on food, using high quality locally sourced ingredients. Our patron and award-winning chef, John Topham, creates fresh tasting dishes for a menu that combines modern exciting cuisine with some ever-popular more traditional and comforting choices. Whatever your want, whatever the season, The General Tarleton is sure to have something on the menu to whet your appetite. For more private dining our magnificent galleried private dining room is available, it’s perfect for birthdays, anniversaries or just for getting your friends together.To accompany your meal we have a wonderful wine cellar, many vintages often available by the glass and often at prices you will find surprisingly affordable. Our fabulous cocktail lounge is the perfect place to meet family and friends for a pre-dinner drink or coffee and liqueurs afterwards. With sumptuous chairs and sofas, and a welcoming log fire for the chilly evenings, you may find it hard to leave.Who really wants to drive after a delicious dinner and a glass or two of fine wine? So why not treat yourself and stay over? We have 13 stylish bedrooms, each individually decorated and appointed to the highest of standards, with little touches of luxury and comfort for a truly relaxing night. And of course, a hearty Yorkshire breakfast is included too.What is fantastic food without superior service? We’re committed to delivering service that is a little more special. Our staff are professionals dedicated to excellence so you can be assured of the highest standards of service in an easy, relaxed atmosphere. Whatever you might want, we aim to provide it, so if you have a special request, please let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The General Tarleton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The General Tarleton Hotel Ferrensby
The General Tarleton Inn Ferrensby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing