We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A..maz...ing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The General Tarleton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrensby
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Had our fourth anniversary here inspired by the cookery books of John Tophams that we use at home. We were not disappointed. Stunning, stunning food. A master at putting flavours together. A completely delightful evening and the room was lovely too.
It's billed as a restaurant with rooms. I would fully agree...an incredible restaurant. We will go back!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank allisonagius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 389 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Second visit in 6 weeks and I have to say it was even better than the first. Stayed in room 14 which is decorated in calming pastel shades. Immaculate throughout although the bath does need re sealing and the extractor fan in the bathroom is rather noisy. That said it was fabulous. The service was first class and the food in the restaurant was beautiful. I had crab lasagne to start which was nothing short of amazing followed by monkfish which did not disappoint. The entire feel at the General Tarleton is one of relaxation. The staff quietly go about their work to ensure you have a wonderful stay. I would recommend this place to anyone. You will not be disappointed. Enzo as always was very accommodating and an asset to the team. Well done - please keep your very high standards up. I will be back again very soon.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

lovely place. staff friendly and attentive. fine dining, well presented wine list extensive.
rooms well appointed and comfortable.
but small things spoiled it,
a ripped net curtain, only 2 bulbs worked in bathroom, toilet seat loose, teas stains and scuff marks on the walls...little grips yes would have got 5 stars if these had been attended to.

Room Tip: ground floor room near car park/service road little noisy as i think there only seems to be single g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maisie0465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Never stayed over night but Often dine here as a couple. Quality food and service. Verging on fine dining but not ostentatious. It appears to be well managed and we always enjoy our evenings here. Hard to fault any aspect of the place. You can enjoy relaxing pre-dinner drinks in the lounge area before moving through to the dining rooms which has an up-market smart/casual pub feel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Harrogatediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel is so friendly and cosy. The entire experience was amazing. Staff were very attentive, warm and welcoming. The food was outstanding. Excellent value for money. Rooms were of a good quality.

Room Tip: Fantastic place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding and were impressed with the staff, service, food, and decor of this nice hotel. Our room was tastefully furnished and had plenty of space and facilities. The entrance hall and public rooms were beautifully cosy and stylish.
My only gripe is that we were made to feel - from the point of booking - that our children were not welcome. There was an additional charge of £30 per child for them to sleep on a z bed although we were informed they didn't have enough for both our children so one had to sleep on the floor. We have stayed in similar quality hotels where we have been given a large family room with additional proper beds at no extra cost, so It is a shame there are no family rooms in this hotel. Though I appreciate that families probably are not their target market (although if they are holding weddings etc then families are likely to be attending).
Rooms were pricey compared to what you can get in central Harrogate, and drinks were very expensive.
I would definitely recommend this as a place for a couple or group of adults though.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ukgirl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here overnight 11/1/13 with friends on a winter offer £64.50 per room inc breakfast.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. The staff are extremely friendly, especially Enzo (front of house). The hotel is so tastefully decorated, especially the lounge with comfy sofas and an inviting woodburner.
Our room was extremely clean and comfortable, the bathroom also spotless with Molton Brown products to enjoy using.
The food was outstanding (dinner and breakfast) with a good menu choice and presented very well.
We will definately return so why not try the hotel for yourselves and spread the word!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCR1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferrensby
15.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,678 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#1 of 1 in Ripley
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
5.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
629 reviews
5.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The General Tarleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The General Tarleton Inn

Address: Boroughbridge Road | Near Harrogate, Ferrensby HG5 0PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ferrensby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrensby
Price Range: $124 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The General Tarleton Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fabulous food, outstanding service and a luxurious overnight stay, The General Tarleton is the perfect choice. We’re housed in a beautifully renovated 18th Century Coaching Inn, with views across open countryside in the pretty North Yorkshire village of Ferrensby. It’s handy for Harrogate, Ripon and Knaresborough and not too far from York.We have a firm focus on food, using high quality locally sourced ingredients. Our patron and award-winning chef, John Topham, creates fresh tasting dishes for a menu that combines modern exciting cuisine with some ever-popular more traditional and comforting choices. Whatever your want, whatever the season, The General Tarleton is sure to have something on the menu to whet your appetite. For more private dining our magnificent galleried private dining room is available, it’s perfect for birthdays, anniversaries or just for getting your friends together.To accompany your meal we have a wonderful wine cellar, many vintages often available by the glass and often at prices you will find surprisingly affordable. Our fabulous cocktail lounge is the perfect place to meet family and friends for a pre-dinner drink or coffee and liqueurs afterwards. With sumptuous chairs and sofas, and a welcoming log fire for the chilly evenings, you may find it hard to leave.Who really wants to drive after a delicious dinner and a glass or two of fine wine? So why not treat yourself and stay over? We have 13 stylish bedrooms, each individually decorated and appointed to the highest of standards, with little touches of luxury and comfort for a truly relaxing night. And of course, a hearty Yorkshire breakfast is included too.What is fantastic food without superior service? We’re committed to delivering service that is a little more special. Our staff are professionals dedicated to excellence so you can be assured of the highest standards of service in an easy, relaxed atmosphere. Whatever you might want, we aim to provide it, so if you have a special request, please let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The General Tarleton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The General Tarleton Hotel Ferrensby
The General Tarleton Inn Ferrensby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing