We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing Wedding and stay at Crathorne Hall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Certificate of Excellence
Newton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing Wedding and stay at Crathorne Hall”
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Thanks to all the staff at Crathorne for a warm welcome and for helping make my wedding so special in June. The staff managed the difficult task of being professional and efficient supporting the importance of the occasion, but were warm and welcoming which really complimented the relaxed atmosphere of the day.
The space within the hotel lent itself well when the poor weather meant we could not have reception drinks on the lawn, and we simply set up some of the garden games in one of the rooms which kept the children entertained.
The food was consistently good, the bedrooms are lovely especially the honeymoon and larger suites, and I certainly hope to go back there in future!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_New_Mrs_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    161
    64
    26
    20
See reviews for
162
419
7
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Plummers Plain, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

My wife Beth suggested we visit Crathorne Hall to consider it for our wedding venue, as we are not religious but wanted a venue that had a old world charm, but, which wasn't a church. I was a little apprehensive due to the distance our relies would have to travel as we live in Manchester but agreed to give it a whirl, and I'm extremely happy I did. On our initial visit the staff were unaware that we were staying to assess the standard at Crathorne and we were instantly impressed with the level of service provided. We have been to stay at Crathorne several times during the planning and have only had our expectations raised or view confirmed during these visits. It’s a remarkable place and an exquisite wedding venue. The food has always been excellent either breakfast, evening meals or the wedding breakfast. The Crathorne staff are excellent with no request turned down, in particular, Elle, Glynn, Tom, Scott, Libby and Vicki to name a few but also Victoria Poole who assisted in pulling off one of the most stressful days almost effortlessly. If you are looking for a romantic get away this is also an excellent venue and the rooms are fantastic especially for a long weekend and they are actually spacious not the normal hutches you can get.
Thanks again everyone

Paul and Beth

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PabloBinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Stayed here for a weekend with my sister and our husbands. Had a great time. Lovely food and friendly staff. Lovely stay.

Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sw1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this lovely Country House Hotel for a quiet break. The house is beautiful, quite grand, but not stuffy. You are even encouraged to kick off your shoes and relax in the drawing room. We had the Richmond room, which was nicely decorated in a boutique style. Comfortable furnishings, and good sized bathroom, complete with the usual toiletries. We dined in the restaurant one night, and had a fabulous meal. Excellent breakfast. The staff were very courteous and helpful (even getting us the football scores!) We used room service too, which was very prompt. A good base for Durham, and surrounding areas. Would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMCHNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We booked Crathorne Hall for our wedding in July 2009, the hotel is in a very picturesque setting, and is nicely decorated throughout, which was especially good for our wedding photos, the grounds are also very well kept and offer some excellent photo opportunities.
The rooms were extremely well presented with modern amenities and although we had the Crathorne suite which was huge I had many compliments from other guests staying about the quality of their room.
The day itself went brilliantly and we could not praise the staff enough for their excellent professional service throughout the whole day, the meals were of a very high standard as was the night time buffet, the rooms that we were given for our ceremony, wedding breakfast and night time entertainment were all well planned out and offered plenty of room for guests, I`d like to give a special mention to the master of ceremonies who did and excellent job in making sure everything went to plan on time and to the wedding coordinator who ensured that all our requests were met as best she could.
There are only a couple of criticisms which I would give about our whole stay, the first was the high price of drinks, I understand that these types of places generally charge high bar prices but maybe the hotel should review them and bring the prices down a little, the other criticism was that on the wedding breakfast menu there were some items which had a supplement charge per head on them (i.e. £3.50 for the beef dishes), I was very disappointed with this and could`nt understand why a beef dish should have such a high supplement as this adds a very large cost to your bill should you choose this option.
Overall though I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for either a wedding day or a stay in North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stecaz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

The room we had was large as we had been upgraded due to a query over the price. Nice room but not sure it was really worth the money. Had a seperate lounge which we didn't really make much use of as there was also a tv in the bedroom. Did we need 2? Very traditional setting for the whole hotel internally and lovely location.

Thought the breakfast was poor value. We had it included in the rate but would not have been happy to have paid £15 for what we got. After visiting Austria in the summer and experiencing a proper continental breakfast, their version was a bit of a joke. Fried breakfast also poor value. i only wanted a few of the items and it looked like nouvelle cusine on the plate. The extra toast we were offered never turned up either.

Generally the staff were very attentive and gave good service. But £14.30 for 2 vodka and lemonades was expensive.

Glad we stayed there but wouldn't go back in a hurry.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bremenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

I really liked this hotel - grand, interesting, nice staff and fantastic rooms. The hotel has a luxurious feel to it and with the lovely grounds around the main building, it is a fabulous location for a wedding. At the wedding I was at, the staff were very attentive and professional, and helped the day go so well for all of the guests. The only reason I did not give this hotel a 5 rating, was because the cost of the drinks were way too high. Whilst I accept that you will be paying over the odds in such a hotel (and in such a location), it still felt too much. Despite this, a brilliant stay and well done to the Crathorne Hall Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crathorne
12.1 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,463 reviews
1.9 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
552 reviews
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,266 reviews
15.8 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
199 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crathorne Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crathorne Hall Hotel

Property: Crathorne Hall Hotel
Address: A-19 to A-67 towards Yarm, Crathorne TS15 0AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Crathorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crathorne Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, with captivating views of the Leven Valley on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors, Crathorne Hall is at once grand and stately, warm and welcoming. Owned by the Dugdale family until 1977, the hall has played host to politicians, courted royalty and delighted socialites over the decades. Yet despite moving in stately circles, the house has stayed true to its roots as a place of entertainment and relaxation. Now it is yours to explore. Enjoy an overnight stay in one of our 37 bedrooms (17 of which have recently been refurbished following a £4 million restoration of the Hall's East Wing), plan your perfect day and take over the hotel for your wedding or inspire your delegates with our meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crathorne Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing