We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant wedding at Crathorne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My husband and I were guests at the aforementioned wedding and I must concur it was amazing. A fabulous venue and a great setting for a very romantic day. Everyone there had a fantastic time. The rooms were beautiful, even though we were only in it for about eight hours !! We'd love to go back and enjoy the facilities properly at a future time. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynsnpaul_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
There are newer reviews for Crathorne Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 894 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2014

We took over the hotel and had a wonderful 2 night stay, rooms, service, food, grounds, staff and general standards were top notch! Thank you all so much for a cracking stay highly recommended and if you dont plan on partying til the early hours the room Welbury was totally quiet when we retired at 11pm and the youngsters partied on :)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k8oops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Booked a special B & B offer through the Hand Picked Hotels website for a deluxe room with breakfast and a bottle of house wine when pre-booking evening meal. Hotel looked stunning on arrival and reception staff very friendly. We were shown to our room (Ormsby) which was large and beautifully decorated. However, after a few minutes we were aware of loud noises from below (subsequently found out our room was above the main kitchen). We asked to be moved and this was done straight away to Wellsby. The room was slightly smaller but still of a deluxe standard with views out to the landscaped gardens and a water feature. The bed and bedding were sumptuous, one of the comfiest I have slept in.
I would have given 4 stars to this hotel based on the accommodation but reduced this to 3 stars because of the dining experience. Our starter of pigeon breast was quite dry and a little overcooked. For my main I chose hake with ratatouille - the fish was cooked perfectly however the ratatouille was what I can only describe as "deconstructed". This dish should be slowly cooked, stewed vegetables but this was a tomato tapenade with some crispy peppers on top! It was a very small portion too. At this point I was glad of the basket of bread to fill me up. My husband enjoyed his main of pork and risotto. Our deserts were both excellent. So parts of the meal were good but not really AA rosette standard. Disappointed in the portions at breakfast too - I am not one for huge platefuls but when our waffle with bacon and maple sauce arrived couldn't believe that we were only given one slice of bacon. I am not sure if this is the norm for all guests or whether portions were deliberately made smaller for guests on the "special deal".
So a mixed review, great accommodation and friendly staff but the hotel needs to improve their dining experience.

Room Tip: If you like peace and quiet then ask for a room at the far end, overlooking the gardens (Wellsby).
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Our daughter Jennifer and son in law Michael were married at Crathorne Hall on 16.8.14 and I have to confirm the previous comments" it was perfect" .
Crathorne is a first class hotel , the staff are so professional and there is a genuine warmth about the place , nothing is a trouble to them and the attention to detail is marvellous .
The food was wonderful and the table service impeccable . Everyone was so friendly , bar staff , reception porter and the breakfast staff the following morning .
Sophie was our wedding coordinator on the day - she was marvellous , attentive but never in the way and so professional and Vicki our coordinator since we made the booking back in 2012 was wonderful and whose help was invaluable .
I would not hesitate in recommending Crathorne to any bride and groom or their parents , every parent wants their son or daughters wedding day to be perfect and that is was we had.
Wishing Crathorne Hall continued success for the future , well done Carol and John O

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed here on a dinner bed and breakfast package in a de luxe room, I was a little worried on arrival to see a large wedding taking place as these can be noisy late at night, however our room was thoughtfully well away from the wedding guests. The room was large and well appointed although it was a little warm as we had no air con however we were offered a fan and fresh milk for tea, we ate in the Leven restaurant the food was very good however the service was very slow. Overall I was very pleased.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are very warm however fans are available
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Liz5004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We got married at Crathorne Hall on 9.8.14 and to sum it up it was perfect. I (the bride) stayed at the hotel the night before the wedding and the staff were fantastic. There was another wedding on that day but I never felt ignored and the staff couldn't do enough for me. I think the staff make this hotel and they ALL deserve credit but the few who really excelled were as follows: Vicki our wedding co-ordinator was amazing, always calm, always organised and a pleasure to organise the wedding with. Earle who looked after my bridesmaids on the morning and kept things running throughout the day was brilliant. Nothing was too much bother and the fact he only wanted praise for his team to be recognised shows a true gentleman. Sophie never stopped rushing about organising things, she always had a smile and we felt she was totally in control and nothing was too much bother, a little star. Krista on reception was always smiling and always attentive, she even came to the rescue with a plaster for my little bridesmaid when her shoes gave her a blister from all the dancing! Between the wedding reception and evening reception my feet couldn't stand my shoes any longer so we went to the honeymoon suite to get my comfy shoes and my bags weren't in the room. Not to worry because Sue flew into action and delivered them with a smile, sometimes it's just the little things but she was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. A special mention should go to Chris the Chef. I'm vegetarian and so often vegetarian food is an after thought, but the vegetarian food was amazing. To serve the vegetarian evening food separately and to provide a few options was a nice touch. He worked so hard and so many guests commented on how fantastic the food was. It was of a very high standard. Elie, well what can you say, a legend! He looked after my grandparents so well for two days that they wanted to take him home!! He made their stay and I always knew they were in safe hands. Finally, Gloria who looked after us at breakfast, what a smile and a lovely manner. She didn't bat an eyelid when we turned her work table into a table where guests could sign our poster which was lacking a few names, she knew it was important for us. The setting was amazing and the guests loved their rooms, the staff created a happy and relaxed atmosphere and we will remember them all. Thank you Crathorne for making our wedding day so perfect and the best day of our lives. The highest compliment we could pay Crathorne would be if we were to do it again we wouldn't change a single thing. We really hope this feedback is passed on to all the staff as they deserve it.

See you again soon......Mr and Mrs Stannard!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Stan420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

A 1st class hotel that provides the perfect wedding experience for family and friends of the happy couple. The whole experience was absolutely perfection. The professional staff know what makes a successful wedding and they deliver. It was a wonderful 2 days and obviously we will never forget Crathorne Hall, they did us proud being proud parents of the groom. Thank you and wish you continued success.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crathorne
12.1 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,501 reviews
1.8 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
572 reviews
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,097 reviews
23.0 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
15.8 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crathorne Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crathorne Hall Hotel

Address: A-19 to A-67 towards Yarm, Crathorne TS15 0AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Crathorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Price Range: $179 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crathorne Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, with captivating views of the Leven Valley on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors, Crathorne Hall is at once grand and stately, warm and welcoming. Owned by the Dugdale family until 1977, the hall has played host to politicians, courted royalty and delighted socialites over the decades. Yet despite moving in stately circles, the house has stayed true to its roots as a place of entertainment and relaxation. Now it is yours to explore. Enjoy an overnight stay in one of our 37 bedrooms (17 of which have recently been refurbished following a £4 million restoration of the Hall's East Wing), plan your perfect day and take over the hotel for your wedding or inspire your delegates with our meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Crathorne Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing