We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for business and luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent for business and luxury”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Recently stayed on a business trip at the hotel. From arriving to leaving, the hotel porter was always there with a smile to help with bags and boxes, the food was always very good and the room was perfect.

The hotel is set in beautiful grounds for a nice leisurely stroll.

We made full use of the conference facilities which were well equipped for business meetings and the staff were very accommodating since we hadn't pre-booked these.

Room Tip: Make time for a cream tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlislelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    161
    64
    26
    20
See reviews for
162
418
7
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Wonderful wedding reception, we treat ourselves to a nights stay in the norton suite after reception we were greeted with the sight of hundreds of dead blue bottles on windowsills, dazed and crawling also on bathroom floor. Disgusting, must have came from wall cavities or chimney, from something that's died in there. Barely had any sleep, spoke to manager who seemed curt, snobby, offered a small gesture, I declined, would never stay again. Other guests had same problem in their rooms. Breakfast poor, had better in local cafe. Please don't stay unless you don't mind bluebottles and flies, never seen so many, don't waste your money, stay elsewhere or get a taxi home

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairy22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here with some work colleagues earlier this year, wow what an experience! The service was second to none, the surroundings are stunning and the hospitality throughout was just wonderful. Will definitely be back, and staying for more than one night!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We arived at the hall and where greeted with a smile. We had cream tea and it was beautiful. The room we had was "Maltby" it was huge with a small balcony. The views where amazing. Tea was fantastic and so was breakfast. We will be returning here again soon !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arronhonzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, UK
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Took my Mum for afternoon tea for her 80th birthday. The staff were attentive and charming. They took great care to get the dietary requirements right - which is really important when feeding an older person. The tea was beautifully served and everything was delicious. The surroundings were graceful and quite grand. We will certainly visit again - maybe even stay a night or two. A real treat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LainyNorthWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcar
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

What a beautiful Hall the surroundings are amazing, breakfast (which was in bed)was delicious, sunday lunch was beautifully presented and the staff catered for our every needs we are attending a charity event on the 19th october and are really looking forward to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I thought I'd try the new Elevenses option at Crathorne Hall. I'd previously been for afternoon tea and lunch, which we'd enjoyed. I'd booked on the Monday for a visit on the Saturday and pointed out that we'd be 2 vegetarians, I was assured this would not be a problem for the chef. However we were simply served all the same food with the meat omitted ie a brie and bacon croissant only had brie in it. Basically everything was cheese based apart from a quorn sausage roll. I think a little more imagination needs to be used by the chef. A little bit disappointing for £17 each. When I discussed this dicreetly at reception the lady there said she would speak with the chef, but obviously that does nothing to help me on the actual day, and it was for a birthday treat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crathorne
12.1 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,463 reviews
1.9 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
552 reviews
10.9 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,484 reviews
15.8 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
199 reviews
23.0 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#1 of 5 in Ripon
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crathorne Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crathorne Hall Hotel

Property: Crathorne Hall Hotel
Address: A-19 to A-67 towards Yarm, Crathorne TS15 0AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Crathorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crathorne Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, with captivating views of the Leven Valley on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors, Crathorne Hall is at once grand and stately, warm and welcoming. Owned by the Dugdale family until 1977, the hall has played host to politicians, courted royalty and delighted socialites over the decades. Yet despite moving in stately circles, the house has stayed true to its roots as a place of entertainment and relaxation. Now it is yours to explore. Enjoy an overnight stay in one of our 37 bedrooms (17 of which have recently been refurbished following a £4 million restoration of the Hall's East Wing), plan your perfect day and take over the hotel for your wedding or inspire your delegates with our meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Crathorne Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing