We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious afternoon tea.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crathorne Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delicious afternoon tea.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Took my Mum for afternoon tea for her 80th birthday. The staff were attentive and charming. They took great care to get the dietary requirements right - which is really important when feeding an older person. The tea was beautifully served and everything was delicious. The surroundings were graceful and quite grand. We will certainly visit again - maybe even stay a night or two. A real treat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LainyNorthWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    152
    60
    25
    20
See reviews for
155
398
6
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
redcar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

What a beautiful Hall the surroundings are amazing, breakfast (which was in bed)was delicious, sunday lunch was beautifully presented and the staff catered for our every needs we are attending a charity event on the 19th october and are really looking forward to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I thought I'd try the new Elevenses option at Crathorne Hall. I'd previously been for afternoon tea and lunch, which we'd enjoyed. I'd booked on the Monday for a visit on the Saturday and pointed out that we'd be 2 vegetarians, I was assured this would not be a problem for the chef. However we were simply served all the same food with the meat omitted ie a brie and bacon croissant only had brie in it. Basically everything was cheese based apart from a quorn sausage roll. I think a little more imagination needs to be used by the chef. A little bit disappointing for £17 each. When I discussed this dicreetly at reception the lady there said she would speak with the chef, but obviously that does nothing to help me on the actual day, and it was for a birthday treat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Did an afternoon tea here recently.Food was very good,service outstanding and location breathtaking.Would recommend to anyone for a quiet afternoon with friends to catch up.
The scones were delicious and very light.the tea and coffee was constantly topped up with a huge range of various teas and the staff were very conscientious and polite not interrupting us too much as we were all catching up on seeing each other.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammybianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Oh what a lovely wedding! Our daughter was married at Crathorne this last weekend and I admit to having a few nagging worries that things might not go quite to plan as there was a wedding the day before followed by another the day after; three in a row!

We'd originally booked Crathorne on the recommendation of quite a few people who had all raved about the level of customer service and attention to detail but our confidence took a knock in the months leading to the wedding as we had a change of wedding co-ordinator every time we talked. However in Spring we took advantage of a special offer of an over night stay and sampling of the wedding menu and wine and I'm so glad we did. It was great to be able to chat to the staff, nothing was too much trouble and then there was Liam.

Liam was on late duty in the residents bar and we sat well into the night discussing the wedding, expressing some of the concerns we had and he stayed there with us answering every question we could possibly think up. By the time we let him go home we just knew we'd chosen the right venue; when the people who work there are so proud of what they do and offer you know it's going to be good!

And we weren't disappointed! A lot of our guests stayed over night so we felt as though we'd taken the place over but, of course we hadn't; there were other guests and the other weddings but we were totally unaware that we weren't the sole focus of attention. How they did it I don't know but their reputation for service is certainly well deserved! I'd particularly like to thank Iain who was a great MC and managed the day to perfection, Robert, the porter, who has the patience of a saint, and again, Liam was back with us. This young man will go far! I watched a group of pretty girls trying to coax him on to the dance floor, while he was working, and he dealt with it like the true professional he is. Well done Liam, that wasn't an easy situation!

To conclude, the staff at Crathorne are a credit to them, nothing is too much trouble. The food was lovely and I would hate to encounter the fish the kids fish fingers came from; it must have been a monster! Our room was clean, comfortable and had the most fabulous view. And, most important to us, our daughter and new son in law had an incredible day and our guests had a weekend to remember. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiney7913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This stay was a gift and came at a much needed time. From arrival to departure it was a lovely experience. The reception staff were friendly, efficient and personable, the porter who took us to our room was enthusiastic and engaging, The restaraunt staff were attentive but discreet and very pleasant and the check out this morning was quick and efficient.
Our room was very clean, the toileteries were luxurious and the turn down service a surprise. Curtain drawn, toileteries replaced, water on bedside tables, cushions stored and bed turned down.
Dinner was excellent and the breakfast too.
My only complaint would be that the wine was very, very overpriced. All the other drinks are reasonable.
If someone would be so kind as to gift me another night I would be delighted.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarabmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Booked this hotel for a couple of days to celebrate a birthday. The public areas and the grounds are very nice and made us feel comfortable. The food in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast was excellent, beautiful presentation and great service. Our room although clean was on the small size and the bathroom was very small, the cracked toilet seat lid did not give the right impression. Overall a nice weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crathorne
1.9 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
12.1 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
11.0 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
4.9 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crathorne Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crathorne Hall Hotel

Property: Crathorne Hall Hotel
Address: A-19 to A-67 towards Yarm, Crathorne TS15 0AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Crathorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crathorne Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, with captivating views of the Leven Valley on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors, Crathorne Hall is at once grand and stately, warm and welcoming. Owned by the Dugdale family until 1977, the hall has played host to politicians, courted royalty and delighted socialites over the decades. Yet despite moving in stately circles, the house has stayed true to its roots as a place of entertainment and relaxation. Now it is yours to explore. Enjoy an overnight stay in one of our 37 bedrooms (17 of which have recently been refurbished following a £4 million restoration of the Hall's East Wing), plan your perfect day and take over the hotel for your wedding or inspire your delegates with our meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Crathorne Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing