We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sheer bliss from the moment you arrive!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Certificate of Excellence
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sheer bliss from the moment you arrive!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I would like to share and recommend our phenomenal experience at Crathorne Hall Hotel. From the moment we drove onto the grounds to the point of checking out we were treat with the upmost customer care, at tentative service and enjoyed luxurious accommodation.
We enjoyed a Traditional Afternoon Tea on the Terrace in the sunshine looking out to the beautiful grounds, divine a la carte dinner and moreish tasty breakfast the following day. Our stay was truly relaxing! Nothing was too much for the Crathorne Team and their levels of service was sheer excellence! Thank you for a memorable visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us. It is very rewarding for our team to hear that you had a ‘phenomental’ time with us. Our team work hard to deliver the highest standards of customer care, I am thrilled that you experienced this during your stay. Our chef, Alan Robinson was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food while staying with us, from the delightful afternoon tea to devine dinner and a moreish breakfast. Alan and the kitchen team are very proud of the 2 AA rosettes awarded to the kitchen. Thank you again for the excellent review, we would be delighted to welcome you back to Crathorne in the not so distant future for some more relaxing stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    155
    62
    25
    20
See reviews for
159
403
6
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Notts.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We just spent another splendid weekend at Crathorne Hall with our family. It always feels memorable as we know everyone so well. We were met by Ellie the hall porter who whisked our bags up to our favourite room with marvellous views of the valley below. fresh milk and a tray of tea & coffee appeared within moments of arriving in our room.

We spent the afternoon indulging in the delicious afternoon tea with delicious cakes and warm scones, followed by a spectacular dinner in the restaurant. The green pea volute and trio of pork were exceptional, but its really the staff that make this place so very special. They seem to be recruited for their attention to detail and their warm and friendly personalities. No formality here, Crathorne feels like a weekend house party rather than a hotel - just fantastic

Room Tip: Choose the executive rooms - they all have real character and charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scopehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to see familiar faces returning to Crathorne. It is very rewarding for our team to see that they make such a positive difference to the experiences of our guests. Ellie our porter has been here since the hotel opened in 1973. I am thrilled to hear that you took the opportunity to indulge in our afternoon tea, and that you enjoyed your ‘spectacular dinner’ in our Leven restaurant. Thank you for your lovely comment about our team here at Crathorne, it is true that our team are specially chosen for their warm personalities and dedication to delivering the highest standards of customer service. We definitely have a team to be proud of and I am thrilled that you experienced this too. We hope you will return to Crathorne soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were attending a family wedding in a nearby venue and the four of us booked into the Crathorne Hotel for two nights as we had to travel up from the London area. What a great place to stay. As other reviews state the setting is wonderful, the staff were great, very friendly and helpful.
It was brilliant and we had a great time.
Recommend the breakfast great bacon etc.
Very reasonable price considering the overall quality of the hotel and catering.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us. It really is lovely to read that you had a brilliant time while staying with us and attending a local wedding. I am pleased that your stay lived up to our fantastic reviews left by our wonderful guests. I hope you will return the next time you are in the area to sample more of our locally sourced and Yorkshire reared bacon that you enjoyed so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel makes you feel like you've been invited to stay in a Stately Home! The bedrooms are named after the local villages and ours was huge, complete with walk -in wardrobe and a huge fire place. Bathroom was warm as was the towels from the heated towel rail. Dinner and breakfast was superb as was the service. Not much to see in the area so a stort stay is probably best.

Room Tip: Lord Crathorns room is fit for the Queen
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Crathorne. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you will return in the near future, the reception team are always bursting with knowledge to share and will be more than happy to provide you with lots of information about exciting things to do or visit in our local area to keep you entertained.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Myself and 5 of my family stayed overnight at Crathorne Hall last week, after a wedding menu tasting evening.

The food was faultless, the staff fantastic and the accommodation spacious, quiet and sumptous. I would definately recommend Crathorne Hall and can't wait to spend 2 nights there for my wedding in September!

Many thanks for a wonderful evening!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parsleyMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review having stayed for a wedding tasting evening with your family. I am thrilled that you had a ‘faultless’ evening with us, we look forward to making your wedding day at Crathorne in September very special and a memorable for you. I hope you enjoy the planning and exciting build up to your big day with us and please do get in touch should need anything in the meantime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I recently married at Crathorne Hall on Saturday 4th May 2013, and would like to praise the staff for all that they did for us. Nothing was too much trouble and the day ran so smoothly because of their efficiency.

We live in Australia so planning a wedding from overseas was difficult at times, but with Amy's continual help over the months we were able to have our perfect day without any hassle.
Also, we'd like to mention Libby and Lucy who were our brilliant toastmasters for the day, they did a fantastic job. Many of our friends and family commented on how friendly and helpful all of the staff were from start to finish.

The venue is beautiful, perfect for photographs of your special day, and the rooms are amazing.

We would highly recommend Crathrone to anyone looking for a beautiful wedding venue. We will always look back on our weeding day knowing that we picked the perfect place.

Lauren and Rich Dyson

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your special day with us recently. I am delighted to hear that our team were able to make your day so memorable. In particular, I have passed on your kind words to Amy (who helped you prepare for your big day) and Libby & Lucy (who impressed you with their toasting skills). It is always very rewarding for our team to hear that they make such a difference to our guests experiences at Crathorne, I know they will take extra pride and motivation in knowing that they made your day so special. Thank you for your recommendation it is very much appreciated. We hope you will return to Crathorne the next time you find yourselves overseas to relive some of those happy memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Crathorne Hall Hotel, Near Yarm, North Yorkshire is part of the Hand Picked Hotel Group and on Saturday 13th April 2013 we held our wedding there. Crathorne Hall is a wonderful Stately home set in beautiful grounds.

The hotel has a very warm and friendly feel to it and as soon as you walk through the doors you are greeted by helpful and friendly staff.

While planning our wedding at Crathorne the Sales Team and Wedding Co-ordinator were very helpful, we attended various Wedding Showcases and Wedding Fayres held at Crathorne and managed to pick up loads of ideas and contact, everybody at Crathorne Hall were happy to help.

The ceremony room and drawing room in Crathorne are magnificent as are all the rooms, and as soon as you enter these rooms you get a majestic feeling, you feel totally special.

The food for our wedding was amazing; the attention to detail on such a large party was phenomenal, it was fine dining at its best. The young Chef Alan Robinson was very helpful and planned menus for our Gluten Free guests and small children, even the evening buffet was exceptional the choice was incredible and the taste was to die for, I never knew that buffet food could look and taste this good.

Our wedding day was very special and having the Wedding Ceremony and Wedding Breakfast at Crathorne Hall made it just magical. It doesn’t feel like a Hotel it feels like HOME and that’s down to the wonderful people who work there.

We would highly recommend Crathorne Hall whether it’s for lunch, afternoon tea, evening meal, overnight stay and most definitely for the special day in your life “Your Wedding Day”.

Pick Crathorne Hall Hotel and you won’t be disappointed.

Sandi & Paul McKeown

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review following your recent wedding here at Crathorne. It truly was a pleasure to read that you had and we delivered such an amazing and special day for you. I am delighted that we were able to make you feel like Crathorne is your home, as you know we have a fantastic team here who are dedicated and passionate about delivering special moments for our guests. I am pleased that our Head Chef, Alan was able to help and reassure you about the dietary requirements of your guests. We understand the importance of making sure that all guests are properly catered for and adopt flexibility in adapting menu choices to suit guests’ individual needs. Thank you for your wonderful recommendation, we hope to welcome you back at Crathorne very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crathorne
1.9 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
529 reviews
12.1 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,412 reviews
10.9 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,355 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
377 reviews
23.0 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crathorne Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crathorne Hall Hotel

Property: Crathorne Hall Hotel
Address: A-19 to A-67 towards Yarm, Crathorne TS15 0AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Crathorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crathorne Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, with captivating views of the Leven Valley on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors, Crathorne Hall is at once grand and stately, warm and welcoming. Owned by the Dugdale family until 1977, the hall has played host to politicians, courted royalty and delighted socialites over the decades. Yet despite moving in stately circles, the house has stayed true to its roots as a place of entertainment and relaxation. Now it is yours to explore. Enjoy an overnight stay in one of our 37 bedrooms (17 of which have recently been refurbished following a £4 million restoration of the Hall's East Wing), plan your perfect day and take over the hotel for your wedding or inspire your delegates with our meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crathorne Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing