We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, Amazing, Out of this world... We are going back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Certificate of Excellence
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb, Amazing, Out of this world... We are going back!!”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We went to view Crathorne Hall as we are looking at holding our wedding there. Going through the gates leading up to the manor itself we were giggling like schoolgirls at how amazing it looked. Once we entered there was plenty of friendly staff on hand available for our query on where to go. We got shown to the 'Residents Bar' which to be honest isn't a bar, but a homely feeling seating area where a drinks waiter comes to take your order.

We were then greeted by Victoria Leng (events and wedding co-ordinator) who went through everything with us and answered every question imaginable we had. After leaving us to compose ourselves for a few moment she arrived back with the keys to show us to the different areas etc for our wedding.

The Ceremony Room and the Wedding Breakfast Room weren't set up for our visit but it didnt matter because we could envisage everything anyways. The rooms had beautiful high ceilings with original fittings and fixtures. The fireplaces and chandeliars were amazing. We were then taken outside to the front lawn and were told we could use all parts of crathorne for our photography. WE were also told that if weather permitted it they put lawn games out for entertainment after the ceremony whilst everyone mingled. This is fantastic for us as we have around 20 children coming to our wedding!!

We were then shown the bedrooms. People are complaining the the classic suites arent as spacious as the deluxe or executive suites.... to be honest i think that would obviously come with the name. As part of the wedding package you get a mixture of all 3 room types and the Crathorne Suite, which i think is fantastic as the rooms start at £100 per night including bed and breakfast! for a 4 star hotel i personally think thats cheap.

The Classic rooms are absolutely beautiful in their own right. They have a beautiful ensuite, yes they are a little smaller than the other rooms, but they have the same toiletries, equipment and facilities as the Deluxe rooms available.
The Executive rooms are Stunning also, with a little more space to move around in. They too have the same facilities etc as the Deluxe Rooms.
The Deluxe rooms are quite at bit bigger with a little lounge area and spectacular views over the grounds (to be honest, all rooms we saw had fantastic rooms and scenery) with all the following facilities.... tea & coffee making facilities, toiletries by Gilchrist & Soames, bottled mineral water, broadband internet access, Iron & ironing board, Safety deposit box, Hair dryer and grooming amenities, Selection of quality magazines, Bathrobe and Turndown service.

We went away feeling overwhelmed by everything and excited as we were going back for dinner later that evening. When we went back we were even more impressed with the service and were at first worried they were just pulling out all the stops to impress us and ensure a booking for our wedding. but as the night grew on and more people came in we saw them getting the same fabulous treatment as ourselves.
The food was in a word exquisite to say the very least. My hubby to be's beef was cooked to perfection to the medium-rare he asked for and my duck was out of this world.

Overall i honestly believe that this is one of the best hotels for every occasion in the teesside/county durham area. i have been to many weddings and i honestly thought that i knew where i wanted to get married but after our first and only visit to Crathorne and our first venue to visit for our wedding we fel that nobody will be able to beat the standard that has been set by Crathorne Hall

Room Tip: All Rooms Are Fabulous :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexii-louu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
May I thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review of our hotel, facilities and team following your recent visit. It was our pleasure to give you a sample of the delights that Crathorne has to offer you as both a leisure guest and bride & groom to be. We do enjoy offering the touches of luxury you mention throughout the hotel, and our team prides itself on continually providing sincere, discreet and individual service. I am delighted to read that you found the cuisine in our 2 Rosette Restaurant to be exquisite and have passed your kind comments to chef. We look forward to seeing you again and to help you plan your wedding, ensuring that you have a joyful and memorable start to married life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    164
    65
    26
    20
See reviews for
162
427
7
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed 2 nights for my daughter's wedding. Overall we were very happy, though there were a few niggles.

Plus points:
- magnificent building and grounds
- friendly and co-operative staff
- very nice, well equipped rooms (particularly those in the main building)
- they do lots of weddings so are very practised at it
- very good food

Minuses:
- some people (us included) found the mattresses a bit tired. Mine sloped down toward the edge and seemed not to have been turned in a long time
- pillows were a standard type, quite firm and thick, with no options if this didn't suit you
- some minor details of the wedding arrangements weren't as agreed
- audio-visual equipment needs updating
- drinks are expensive

Room Tip: Ask for one in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
It was a great pleasure to host your daughter and new son-in-law’s wedding at Crathorne and I’m delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. We do have various types of pillows available from reception and our drinks menu does include a varying price list for lesser branded drinks. Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding the audio/visual equipment, the mattresses and minor issues with wedding details, I will personally look into your comments. If you would like to discuss any aspect of your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me on crathorne@handpicked.co.uk or 01642 700398. I look forward to welcoming you back to Crathorne in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed here for two nights with a wedding party. Despite making our reservation over a year ago, clearly we were allocated one of the minor rooms. Talking to other members of the wedding party there seemed to be an enormous difference in the size and standard of fittings in the rooms. At first glance our room was appealing but for a hotel of this standard I expected the mattress and pillows to be more comfortable, slightly thicker towels, a separate shower with good water flow, a well lit make up mirror, a Freeview box that received more than one channel, a fridge and two comfortable chairs in a double room. All of these and more were available to other guests who were all paying the same price as us.

Wifi was a challenge. I would have welcomed a separate instruction for connection instead of reading through the lengthy manual which told me there was a pink ethernet cable in the drawer - there wasn't and I had to ask twice to get one only to find I got a wifi connection code by email which I had to use every time I logged on.

On the other hand the catering and service from staff were both good. Our meals offered an original and high quality selection, served with knowledge and a smile. The worst thing, as a wedding guest, was the extremely high prices at the bar. As a non drinker the charge for soft drinks was unacceptably high.

Overall, I feel Crathorne Hall trades on its superb building and surroundings, they just need to improve that attention to detail and quality standard across the accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitch24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkClayton, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent visit to Crathorne. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal in our 2 Rosette Restaurant and found the team to be knowledgeable, friendly and efficient. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the contents of your review with you and to redress your current impression of other aspects of the hotel. I can be contacted on crathorne@handpicked.co.uk or 01642 700398. Alternatively, if you prefer to contact our Customer Service department, please email on customerservices@handpicked.co.uk I look forward to hearing from you and hope that we may welcome you back to Crathorne at some stage in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2011

just spent the evening with my wife to be as we were sampling the menu for our wedding in july. service was excellent. the staff are friendly and very knowledgable and the selection of wines is endless. our food was of a very high standard and the room was spacious and very luxurious. and the bed gave me the best nights sleep i have had in a long time. needless to say, cant wait for the wedding. would recomend to you all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mally75hartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Lunch at Crathorne Hall, North Yorkshire


Having experienced Fine Dining, Summer Balls, Valentines Night, Christmas Party Nights at Crathorne Hall I thought it was time to try Lunch.

I had my niece over from Switzerland so decided to plan a girlie lunch for her with her mother, sister in law, grandmother and myself. Without hesitation I suggested Crathorne Hall, the hotel is beautiful and set in stunning grounds. Just driving up to the hotel entrance you feel a sense of warmth, grandeur and elegance.

From the moment we walked through the doors at Crathorne Hall we felt a warm and friendly atmosphere. All of the front of house staff are very attentive and Glen Fletcher the Operations Manager is a true gentleman; I think Glen is one of Crathornes greatest assets. Having dined at Crathorne before Glen recognised me and was very chatty and as usual very friendly, I remember thinking how did he remember me out of 100s if not 1000 of people he must come into contact with, this is testament to how professional Glen is. He is a true legend.

We got escorted into a beautiful lounge/drawing room and our drinks order was taken while we perused the lunch menu. Even though the Hotel was busy with a Wedding Party and other guests we never felt unattended, we got allocated a waitress called Gloria who looked after our every need and was brilliant. You have a choice of lunch time menus from a variety of sandwiches hot or cold, salads, fish etc or a 3 course lunch menu, we opted for the 3 course lunch menu. After a long deliberation, we all finally choose our meals. The prices are very reasonable for a AA 4 Star Hotel and AA 2 Rosette Restaurant.

We moved into the Dining Room for our meal, when the food came we couldn’t believe the presentation and quality of food, I shouldn’t have been surprised having eaten at Crathorne before.
From the fresh warm bread served before the starter to the dessert your taste buds are tantalized with wonderful flavours, everything was exceptional. The chef and his team are second to none.

I would recommend Crathorne Hall to anyone without hesitation. We all had a fantastic lunch and will definitely be going back. Crathorne Hall is a must, whether its lunch, fine dining, or a party night the service and quality is the same INCREDIBLE.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Just stayed at the Crathorne Hall hotel everything was brilliant , the staff are fantastic and always on hand to help and show you around. The food was spectacular and the rooms were fantastic, they even had a small disaster with a flood through some rooms but dealt with it quickly and efficiently. It has great history and the building is beautiful and awe inspiring. I can not complement the staff enough, they go out of the way to make you feel welcome. Thanks to all of them. We were so impressed that we stopped of for afternoon tea a few days later with our parents and again we were treated to great hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmacum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We recently got married here and from start to finish the staff were amazing. Right from the planning stages they were on hand to help us out every step of the way. On our big day the whole event just run so smoothly, no worries, no hiccups and everyone had a great, great time. I can't thank the staff enough and I would recommend this hotel time and time again. We'll be back to stay again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hartlepool_Hanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crathorne
12.1 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,479 reviews
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,519 reviews
15.7 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
212 reviews
23.0 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
5.7 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crathorne Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crathorne Hall Hotel

Property: Crathorne Hall Hotel
Address: A-19 to A-67 towards Yarm, Crathorne TS15 0AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Crathorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crathorne Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, with captivating views of the Leven Valley on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors, Crathorne Hall is at once grand and stately, warm and welcoming. Owned by the Dugdale family until 1977, the hall has played host to politicians, courted royalty and delighted socialites over the decades. Yet despite moving in stately circles, the house has stayed true to its roots as a place of entertainment and relaxation. Now it is yours to explore. Enjoy an overnight stay in one of our 37 bedrooms (17 of which have recently been refurbished following a £4 million restoration of the Hall's East Wing), plan your perfect day and take over the hotel for your wedding or inspire your delegates with our meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Crathorne Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing