We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York South West Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bilbrough
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I booked this in economy mode as we having a new kitchen this year and there were no reduced prices at the North West York Premier Inn that we had used before.

My husband's face was a picture as we drove in he made a comment about it being on the hard shoulder on the A64.....

However there was very little road noise with the windows closed and we were in room 36 which is facing the dual carriageway. Considering the price the standards of the room is excellent and better than some 4/5 star hotels which can rather jaded. I found the wifi reception excellent and it was very busy as the car park was almost full. Staff very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ka2England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    245
    79
    28
    11
See reviews for
297
337
29
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have always used this hotel to break the journey between home and Scotland. We always know what to expect - clean rooms, comfortable bed and a lovely shower. The restaurant is welcoming. Andrew made us very welcome and greeted us like friends the following morning (just howmany hours does this fella work). We stayed at the Premier at Carlisle earlier in the year with the grandchildren - they loved it.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and clean. The bed was comfortable - couldn't have asked for better so can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan241142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

not the first Premier Inn where the wi-fi didn't reach our room (here it barely made it to my laptop in Reception) and the restaurant is not equipped/staffed to handle what appeared to be peak demand. Eaten before in a Premier Inn restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed it - breakfast is a treat - but twenty minutes waiting in the hope of being shown to one of the five vacant tables was too much. We gave up. The room faced the A64 and the window has no sound insulation whatsoever. Went to bed hungry and listened to the lorries . . . go figure.

Room Tip: If peace and quiet matter, then ask for a room furthest from the road. If the cap park looks full an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn York South West Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.
We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.
Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gizzie121
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I usually use travelodge rooms for short trips with my children. So am used to having to make up the sofa bed.

What a pleasant surprise to find that the two children had proper made up beds in this family sized room.

For just £29 a night! Excellent value!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gizzie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tregaron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Really good example of Premier Inn at its best. Not the cheapest but then thats York, but accepting that, the service and facilities at this hotel are excellent.the restaurant is very good for breakfast and although we didnt eat there in the evening we would have been happy to do so. Really nice to have a lounge and coffee available during the day.

Room Tip: All seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

spent 3 nights as part of short break to York ideal position just few miles from York Park & Ride
Ideal location to use as a good value base.
Did not use restaurant as preferred to eat out.
woke up with backache don't think the bed was up to usual standard
flat screen TV was very good

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinsmith05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife, daughter and I recently spent a very comfortable night at York South West Premier Inn. The beds were incredibly comfortable. The room was spotless and smelt fresh. The shower was fast and easy to control with the hair and body lotion provided being zesty and invigorating. The large flat screen freeview TV was great. The breakfast was comprehensive and good value for money. Could not fault Premier Inn for anything. If you haven't tried it yet give it a go. I have booked Travelodge on the basis of low price in the past few years but now I would be loathe to book them again compared to Premier Inn. I would rather pay £10-15 more and get such amazingly comfortable beds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bilbrough
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn York North Hotel
4.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
6.5 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
7.9 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#1 of 3 in Wetherby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York South West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York South West Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York South West Hotel
Address: Tadcaster Road | Colton, Bilbrough YO23 3PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Bilbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bilbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York South West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quieter stay within striking distance of the Jorvik Viking Centre and the York Designer Outlet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn York South West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York South West Hotel Bilbrough
Premier Inn South West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing