We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveler rating
619
307
98
35
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
619
307
98
35
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews park and ride meal deal air con thyme restaurant road noise all you can eat excellent stay fish and chip shop room was spotless good nights sleep petrol station family room main road service area stayed here for nights nothing too much trouble would stay again
Filter
Updating list...
948 - 953 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The rooms are nice and clean, staff at reception very friendly and helpful (Even swapped my room to one further down the corridor, away from the noise of the reception, lift and busy A64)

What lets this place down is the restaurant. This must of been an afterthought of the architect. About 14 tables stuck in the small corner of the building.

2 members of staff seem to struggle serving just 6 tables. I sure they would have got the job If they spent less time moaning to one other about management and ignoring customers. Credit to one of chefs who saw I had been waiting for service and delt with my request.
The breakfast is nothing special. Pathetic sized glasses for drinks, and when I did go up for a refill the jugs of juice were empty, no cerial bowls available and the bacon was rubbery.

The location is not bad. About 2 miles from York P+R, free parking and £2.50 return ticket (so can't complain)

If you just want a good nights sleep, then stay here by all means. Want food? Try McDonalds across the car park, your bound to get better service!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowDoTheTapsWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn York South West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing. Your experience was far below our usual high standards, but please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

we arrived to be greeted with various dog turds scattered around the car park. our greeting at reception was the worst we have had at any premier inn- the receptionist was also serving at the bar and make us feel as if we were inconveniencing her by attempting to check in and as it was so rushed she didn't even mention the goodnight guarantee etc.

upon opening our room door for the night it was apparent that the lack of AC meant it was going to be an uncomfortable night. it had been an average day in terms of temperature but walking through the bedroom door a wave of heat just hit you. the fan they provide isn't really going to be of much use and as the windows only open about 6 inches you can't really get any air into the room . outside we had been wearing our coats , but here i spent the night giving nudism a go.

despite these complaints the room was very tidy and neat and up to usual premier inn standards.

having stayed at many premier inns across the country the one was a big let down in terms of quality of service and also in terms of comfort due to the room and lack of AC. it wouldn't be so bad if the fans provided some relief or if you could open the windows more.

i would only stay here again as a last resort.

Room Tip: on a hot night take your mattress outside and sleep there.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottsati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel after a night in a Leeds PI.
They were both to their usual standard.
Our room was made up after our first night.
Staff friendly and efficient.

The only dissapointment is that they have dropped the two meals for one before 6.30pm.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the A64 it will be quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Enjoyed our stay. The hotel is clean, right, and a great place to stay in the Premier Inn sort of way. If you expecting luxury, go someplace else. If yoga re looking for clean, friendly, and efficient, with only the necessary features, you ahem found it!

Room Tip: repeat, not a luxury hotel. Bare minimum, but clean and efficient.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StobKent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My wife and I booked two nights at this hotel. On arrival we were greeted by the receptionist who was polite, friendly, efficient and helpful, as were all of the other staff. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the food was excellent. We had booked the £22 per person meal deal, which was excellent value for money as was the advance on line booking rate of £29 per night for the room. We were aware that the hotel was close to a busy road but found that traffic noise was not noticeable. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews