We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, fresh with refurb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge York Tadcaster Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bilbrough
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Good location, fresh look with refurb and comfortable beds. Very reasonably priced.

Wifi very expensive (Premier Inn offer 30 mins free and £3 for 24hrs). Toilet cistern didn't fill after flush without playing with handle but otherwise great. Bit of road noise from A64 but hotel interior was very quiet.

Let's hope the rest get refurbished as I've stayed in some terrible Travelodges!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 397 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

Excellent stay. Recently refurbished, so décor and facilities are excellent. Beds, bedding and pillows were clean and comfortable. Very quiet Staff were very helpful. I would recommend this Travelodge.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in a number of travelodges in recent years. This one has recently been refurbished and we were very impressed with the smart new look. The room had a welcoming feel and was warm and clean. However, we found the bed very uncomfortable as the mattress was too firm. As a result we slept poorly and I woke with a sore back.

I asked for a hair dryer and was told they were in very short supply (not a problem we've ever had elsewhere). One was found but when I switched it on it made a screeching noise and black smoke piled out of the back of it. I handed it back but no other hair dryer could be found so I had to go out with wet hair.

My husband uses a wheelchair and it would have been useful to have a bath board in the room. Accessible rooms are usually close to reception but we were situated at the end of a long narrow corridor with several doors to get through. On both mornings he was unable to get along the corridor without help because his way was blocked by housekeeping and laundry trolleys and piles of bedding.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandiflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge York Tadcaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your review Sandiflora, we are very sorry to learn of your disappointing stay. We have recently replaced all the beds in our refurbished hotels with brand new ‘Travelodge Dreamer’ pocket sprung king sized bed in every room. We are sorry to learn that you found this to be uncomfortable. Unfortunately as brand standard we do not supply hair dryers in every room, however as you are aware we have a number available from reception for guests to use. Please be assured that the Hotel Management team will be made aware of your comments to enable them to rectify these issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the Travelodge Tadcaster this weekend for my brothers wedding at Hazlewood Castle. We paid £20 for a family room! We got a lovely comfortable double bed and 2 single beds. Bed's, pillows, bedding all very comfortable and clean. Room basic but large so we could easily get ready. Very clean. The hotel has been refurbished and the room had everything we needed for a quick 2 night stay. We were all very happy with this hotel, and would definitely recommend for a short stay. Value for money was excellent. For the £20 we paid I could not fault this hotel at all. We didn't find any issues what so ever.

Room Tip: Book in advance and get some great rates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel has been renovated and is hugely better than before. New beds, curtains, bathrooms... Great job.

Mike and Sue on reception were welcoming and always very helpful. Staff can make or break a hotel stay and this couple should be training other staff!

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Sadarmends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Booked a family room at Travelodge Tadcaster in advance, for the night of 21/12/21013. Delighted to find the room freshly renovated and decorated, with classy decor and modern lighting. Bathroom was very clean with easy-to-operate shower unit. Staff were very professional and courteous - The hotel is approx 6 miles from York, but the route into the city is quick and easy. Highly recommended - at £26 for the night it was superb value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here in November/December 2013 for a Christmassy weekend in York. The date appeared to be very popular, meaning there were few places closer to the city available and this hotel came with a cost of £77 for each of our two rooms.

When we arrived, there was no one on reception. The reception door was also not secured and there were keys left within easy reach of the public waiting area, which seemed a little risky. It took around 5-10 minutes to attract the attention of a cleaner who then fetched someone to check us in. Not the best start. The receptionist who arrived also left a little to be desired, as she confused one of the guests with another booking, insisting that his details were incorrect, despite him having printed confirmation of his booking [including the actual booking reference]. Such discussions took around 5 minutes to clear up.

The rooms were very basic. The hotel had completed the renovation, so there was a slight smell of paint in the air, but we were surprised at the standard of the renovation. No bedside tables, an old square TV mounted so highly on the wall that you got a cric in your neck if you tried to watch it. There was also only one bath towel and one hand towel provided - despite each room having two guests booked in. As with all Travelodge hotels, the room did not provide a hair drier, but there was a kettle for preparing simple drinks.

As the hotel was on a dual carriageway, a taxi into the city centre cost us £20 on the way in and £25 on the way back [as the driver had to pass the hotel in order to turn and drive back towards it on the right side of the dual carriageway]. I think it is easy to underestimate how far the hotel is from the city centre - something we were guilty of.

Overall, I think "basic" sums up this hotel. Given our experiences, I probably would not return and I certainly would not book at the cost of £77 per room, per night, again.

Room Tip: Half of the rooms overlook the carpark, but room 102 [and the others on that side] overlook a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank affinity89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge York Tadcaster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

We want our customers to experience an efficient and welcoming check in service so we’d like to apologise for the delay and inconvenience caused on this occasion affinity89. All staff are fully trained to use our systems and to provide a great service. We’d also expect our customers to be provided with the correct number of towels so we’ll be sure to pass on your feedback to our Hotel Management team so our staff can be reminded of the importance of customer care. Whilst we do not provide hair dryers in the rooms, they can be borrowed from reception anytime. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bilbrough
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn York South West Hotel
7.7 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#2 of 3 in Wetherby
1,880 reviews
5.1 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#34 of 47 in York
1,418 reviews
6.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Tadcaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Tadcaster Hotel

Address: A64 Eastbound, Bilbrough LS24 8EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Bilbrough
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bilbrough
Price Range: $54 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge York Tadcaster Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Expedia, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge York Tadcaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Bilbrough
Travelodge Bilbrough
Bilbrough Travelodge
Bilbrough Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing