We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected”
Review of Little Chef - York

Little Chef - York
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Bilbrough
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“better than expected”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

stoped here for breakfast sat 24th august (bank holiday weekend) very busy, attended to very quickly food very good and not overpriced. Would stop there again on our next trip too scarborough.
Read reviews about the toilet facilities not being clean they were fine when we used them

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julieh629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    43
    19
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant Suprise, lovely staff”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

First time I've been in a Little Chef in a long time and I was really pleasantly surprised. Due to its convenient location next to the Travelodge we ended up having three breakfasts here and one lunch! They were lovely with my two young boys and we had a nice time with reasonable tasting food for a reasonable price. There's a nice under-6 soft play area that we only discovered on the last visit! I'm afraid I can only remember the name of Danny our waiter on the last day but all the staff were equally welcoming and friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nirrakel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfect stop off”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We always call in here for a coffee and bacon sandwich on our way north. We've never been disappointed by the friendly greeting, quick service, decent coffee and great bacon sandwiches. It's always spotlessly clean but they do need some different piped music in the loos!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoseberryTopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Welcoming”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family and I called in yesterday and thought I would go to the ladies first. A member of staff came straight in front of me and I asked where the toilets were he said abrubptly, the toilets in the corner but are you dining here. I said yes we were and he said we couldnt use the toilet unless we were. I said we need a table for four, anyway there were empty tables in the main restaurant but he said they were saving them for someone else and could we use the high stools at the breakfast bar, well Im 64 and crippled with arthritis so that was not a good idea. He then said we could go into the self service area which they dont staff and it was empty so we went in there and just had a coffee and left as soon as we could. My daughter has a cafe and we said no wonder small independents are opening up all over the place the big companies do not deserve custom how they treat you and fancy having an empty area when people are queing for seats in the main area just because they cant staff it. If tha'ts Little Chef I wont ever bother again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 62Alex62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I remember the Little Chef from THF days and it was the stop enjoyed by me, my wife and two young children. Sadly they are a shadow of their former self and we only ate here because we stayed at the Travelodge next door.

There were only a family of 4 in the restaurant and the staff were talking amongst themselves. It took ages for someone to take our order. No drinks arrived as 'someone put a tray on the order'. Coffee was bitter, but my wife's tea was fine.

My wife had Hot Dog with Caramellised Onions. The hot dog was smoothered in onions and covered the bread roll which was soggy. She had to remove them before she could eat the hot dog - very poor.

I had the BIG WORKS burger which was okay but failed to live up to the description. It was so spicy (not warned) that it caused severe reflux and prevented me from sleeping. Yes - lesson learnt!

Do avoid if at all possible.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Chef - York also viewed

Bilbrough, Selby District
 
Colton, North Yorkshire
Tadcaster, Selby District
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Tadcaster, Selby District
 

Been to Little Chef - York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing