We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in the North-East!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crab & Lobster

Crab & Lobster
Reserve with OpenTable
Crab & Lobster is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Asenby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $86
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northallerton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the North-East!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Are regulars now at the C/L now and always have an amazing experience. The decor has an extremely unique rustic charm and the food is the best in the area!! The smoked haddock main is incredible. The service has always been friendly and we always feel spoilt and very well looked after when we visit. Have stayed in several of the rooms now and they have all had a unique charm about them. Would however recommend the Bora Bora suit which is just spectacular.

Overall this is the best restaurant/hotel/experience in the north-east and I could not recommend it any higher!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    718
    216
    118
    60
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hebden Bridge
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“worth the 90 minute drive for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We travelled to the crab and lobster for lunch today and as always were really impressed by
the lunchtime menu, exceptional value in a fabulous location
whatever the weather. Love the attention to detail and relaxed atmosphere, a very special venue for family celebrations. Will definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise meal for my mums 90th birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked a meal for my mums 90th birthday. We had pre lunch drinks outside and our meal was served in the conservatory. The food was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. My niece came who was a vegan and with forewarning a meal was specially prepared as she also has a nut allergy. The rest of the party picked from the set 3 course lunch menu which is excellent value. We had bought mum an iPod and following the meal we went into the beautiful gardens where she took pictures and we had some family photos to remember the occasion. Great venue, lovely food and a memorable day. Thanks very much to the staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great spot,poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Took my friend here for her 70th birthday lunch.She has mild shakes and uses a frame to walk.We were seated on a lovely table by what can only be regarded as a miserable waiter who wasn't too bothered that it was her special day.We were rushed to order then waited a long time for it to arrive.My friend was nervous that she had the shakes and wanted a drink to calm her down so she cut cut her food.However,by the time the drink came she had already spilt her food and was embarrassed as everyone was looking.The food was good but not great and when we got the bill we had been overcharged for drinks which the waiter insisted we had drank.I had only been drinking lime and soda but we had been billed 2 wines extra.
All in all couldn't wait to get out.A shame as the place is beautiful and quaint with a thatched roof.Will not be in a rush to return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammybianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne& wear
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Another great stay this is the place to go for any reason just go and have a great time great rooms staff and some of the best food you will ever have.
Had fantastic in their Raffles room well worth the cost they say you get what you pay for well you do at crab manor and slot more besides!!!
Ps the sweet serlection (for 2) is heaven on a plate

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weekendrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab & Lobster also viewed

 
Harome, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Crab & Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing