We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special”
Review of Crab Manor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asenby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crab Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asenby
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Special”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed for one night in the Mount Nelson room and we loved it, Very comfortable with a lovely free standing bath. Pampered myself with the complimentary Molton Brown toiletries. A great place to relax. We enjoyed a delicious dinner in the restaurant, as you might expect there are plenty of fish dishes on the menu, but a wide choice for non-fish lovers too.
Breakfast also offers a wide choice of dishes, with plenty of fish again.
The restaurant and bar are imaginatively decorated and the staff are friendly and helpful.
Nothing to dislike at all!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrumpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    95
    28
    17
    17
See reviews for
45
506
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Just returned from a fabulous night at Crab Manor. We stayed at Raffles, Singapore (my husband's favourite suite) and it was wonderful!! The outside of Raffles has been altered slightly to make private access to the hot tub and it has improved the overall look of the suite. We ate at the Crab and Lobster and the food was, as always, fabulous. Cannot fault this place at all, and I have booked again for my husband's birthday, this time to stay at Le Touessrok which has its own sauna and hot tub.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the Taj Mahal room which I booked as a surprise for my other half's 40th birthday. Crab manor is absolutely fantastic! The gardens are beautiful, and all the rooms we looked in are simply stunning! We found the beer tap hidden in the manor house, and enjoyed the complimentary canapés before our evening meals, simple little touches which add to the fabulous feel of this place. Loved the Molton brown toiletries too! The Taj Mahal suite is wonderful! Probably the most private, the photographs on the website sadly do not do it justice! The room is simply gorgeous! Amazing bathroom, fabulous bath! Very private hot tub as it is set furthest away from the manor. All of the staff we spoke to were also extremely welcoming and helpful! We ate in the crab and lobster both nights and for breakfasts and again the food was wonderful! Mark in the restaurant was extremely helpful and as we had never tried oysters gave advice before enabling us to try them as a smaller starter dish. Simply cannot fault the place! Absolutely fabulous hotel we will definitely return!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SNilsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here last week for one night, in the relatively recently added villa Serbelloni. No way is this an inexpensive place to stay, but it is marvellously luxurious, a real special occasion, splash out, splurge sort of place.
Setting is truly stunning, especially on a beautiful sunny day as ours was! Grounds are gorgeous, and there is a lovely sense of privacy, even though essentially the grounds are not really far from the road.
Villa Serbelloni is elegant and exquisite. The bathroom is simply stunning, huge and impressively splendid. Serious wow factor. Equally well the bedroom has some fantastic extra special touches, mood lighting, air conditioning, and by far the most comfortable bed I have ever had the pleasure to sleep in. Sublimely comfortable and peaceful. The room is private and not overlooked, and even though it is directly annexed to Bellagio, it still feels secluded.
Food at the restuarant was tasty, not inexpensive, and very much fish orientated, but nevertheless a pleasure to try. Service was friendly & efficent. The same was true for breakfast. Lovely selection of choices, well presented, tasty, and with friendly efficent service.
Overall absolutely top notch, a real joy. Will definitely return to try other rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parker1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We love this place ..... I noticed a few dusty bits here and there !
You can forget about the world in this lovely place !
The restaurant is fab too !
It could do with a little updating here and there !
but I would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: We have stayed in raffles and bird island both are good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jezabelle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

After all the fanfare about this hotel and dinning experience was left feeling deflated. The room did have a number of special features which were enjoyed but...the dinning experience!! Did wonder if they had a second sitting and the staff were being paid to get us out fast. Never once did anyone ask if we were enjoying the meal. The next couple were sitting so close to us, could have joined there conversation easily, even had to let the waitress finish clearing dishes at their table before being able to get out, would have thought she might have waited for me, but no.
However the food was excellent, only drawback to that was regularly could hear the chef shouting in the kitchen!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous000wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This old manor has a decor that is full of surprises and the individually designed rooms have been created with comfort in mind. It stands in beautifully kept grounds and is a short walk to the restaurant, however if the steps are a challenge then you could drive round to the other entrance.
Our room had a lot of attention to detail, a very comfortable bed and a great en suite. But be aware of the massive stuffed yeti on the landing, harmless but startling to meet on the way to breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asenby
0.5 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
14.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,569 reviews
14.4 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#1 of 5 in Ripon
1,260 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
459 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crab Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab Manor Hotel

Property: Crab Manor Hotel
Address: Dishforth Road, Asenby Y07 3QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Asenby
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crab Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Crab Manor Asenby
Hotel Crab Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing