We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crab Manor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asenby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crab Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asenby
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I have visited The Crab & Lobster on a number of occasions and can only describe it as 'Perfect'. Perfect setting, perfect rooms, perfect staff, perfect food. It is also a fabulous place to visit for lunch offering a large choice of mouthwatering dishes and on Sundays there is live Jazz music which just adds to the ambience . I have celebrated birthdays there and also spent two Christmas Eves, one of which was deep in snow, sitting in a hot tub sipping champagne while the steam from the tub melted the snow on the trees above. There was even a stocking filled with goodies at the end of the bed for that extra special Christmas touch. I love it and can't wait for an excuse to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jj8466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    92
    28
    17
    17
See reviews for
44
491
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stopped here for a wedding anniversary and lived up to all expectations. Great staff, lovely room (in the manaor House - garden room next time) and of course the hidden beer tap!! had a meal in the pub / resturant which was very good (great selection of sea food) and a very decent wine list. The only negative on the evening was the lack of sound proofing between the dining area and the function area as there was a wedding on with a 'wedding' DJ. Breakfast the next morning was also wonderful.....will be recommending the hotel and will be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dom1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Spur of the moment visit to the Crab and Lobster over the bank holiday weekend. It was beautiful weather so we weren't expecting to get a table but we managed, and even got to sit in the glorious sunshine outside. We took advantage of the set menu for lunch and had three wonderful courses for £20 and I had a cheeky couple of glasses of wine too! The service was spot on as usual and we both felt stuffed after our three courses. I would gave quite happily gone for a snooze in one of the lovely rooms in a Crab Manor but sadly this was a fleeting visit this time. Can't wait to go back and hope to stay overnight next time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobrobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I got married on Saturday and we were booked in to stay at Crab Manor the following night as a wedding gift by close friends. The check in process was swift and as the receptionist couldn't find a porter to help us with our cases, as they had a wedding on (the bride and groom were just emerging from the Manor building as we arrived) she showed us to our rooms. The setting is absolutely stunning with a walk down the steps in the garden to our accommodation. We stayed in Bird Island and as soon as we were shown in we were just amazed by the room. We had our own sauna in a separate room and on our private terrace was also a hot tub. I would recommend if anyone is staying at Crab Manor to check in as soon as you are able to make full use of the facilities. The bathroom had underfloor heating, and a very large walk-in shower. Later in the day we realised we needed an iron, a quick phone call to reception and one was brought to our room with an ironing board. While in the room we could hear music getting closer so quickly looked outside the side door to see a band walking down the path accompanying the wedding guests (see photo). We decided to have a walk in the grounds and then up to the Manor to find the hidden beer tap (it wasn't too difficult to locate the secret panel). We had forgotten to bring toothpaste with us for our stay so again, a quick word with reception and they not only supplied us with toothpaste but also a toothbrush each. Every single member of staff we dealt with on our stay was friendly, helpful and could not do enough for you to make your stay memorable. We had dinner in the restaurant in the Crab & Lobster on the night, and this was also superb. The food was fantastic. All in all an extremely relaxing break, and just what was needed.

Room Tip: Bird Island room very handy for access to The Crab & Lobster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoweDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed in the Villa Serbelloni suite at Crab Manor, it was a newly built room set right in the wonderful gardens and truly was a magical setting.
The room was spacious and had everything you could need, some lovely little touches too. The bath and shower were something special, not to mention the hot tub, was fantastic! All the staff were professional and friendly and really made our stay special. We wandered around the beautiful gardens and had dinner in the restaurant, just a short walk nearby. The food is divine and in a lovely setting. It was well worth the money and we came out feeling so relaxed, feeling like we had a proper midweek getaway. Will be recommending to everyone!

Room Tip: Always chose the suites with private hot tubs, they are something special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachybaby84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Fabulous themed hotel delightful rooms take you to another place.
Set in tranquil setting gorgeous gardens.
Added bonus of Crab&Lobster reseraunt on site serving fantastic food and I can vouch for the delicious deserts ha ha.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lainie2875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We arrived on a sunny day choose to sit outside.

We where attended to straight away by friendly warm staff.

Inside was extremely busy but it didn't stray from the excellent service we received.

Food was tasty and I found it hard to choose from a fab selection.

One of my favourite places in winter and now for a sunny lunch.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asenby
14.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,444 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
24.4 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
14.4 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
19.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crab Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab Manor Hotel

Property: Crab Manor Hotel
Address: Dishforth Road, Asenby Y07 3QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Asenby
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crab Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Crab Manor Asenby
Hotel Crab Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing