We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crab Manor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The BW Crown Hotel(Boroughbridge)(Great Value!)
$92
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Unicorn(Ripon)(Great Value!)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$110
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveler rating
587
101
34
18
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
587
101
34
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrab and lobsterprivate hot tuble manoirthemed roomssharrow baythe ritzlog cabinhidden beer tapbottle of champagnewedding coordinatorbirthday treatfor special occasionskedgereethe main houseunderfloor heatingroll top bathfree standing bath
Filter
Updating list...
485 - 490 of 758 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Birthday treat for my Husband end of July 2013. First thought on arrival... Beautiful.. The restaurant at front of road was picturesque and hotel the same.. Stayed in a cabin with outside hottub... Free beer was really nice touch.. Sat outside in sun enjoying the lovely surroundings. Sooo relaxing.. Went for pre dinner drinks which could do with bit more atmosphere but still enjoyable. The meal in Crab and Lobster was really good.. Our cabin gates literally on restaurant outside eating area.. One final free beer before a midnight hottub experience.. Perfect... Was expensive and will be a while before we consider again but loved every minute.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband took me to Crab Manor for my 65th birthday as a surprise and oh what a surprise. We stayed in Raffles, a very dark and dismal room outside the back door of the Manor and looking onto the staff car park so no nice views of the gardens. The hot tub was o.k. but nothing exceptional and the sauna in the bathroom was a waste of space, personally we would have preferred a shower. The room was very spacious but extremely cluttered & there were too many empty champagne bottles on dusty shelves for our liking (a cleaners nightmare). Plus side the bed was extremely comfortable. We had dinner in the Crab & Lobster - the food was good but the surroundings were uncomfortable claustrophobic with so much dusty clutter. Breakfast was the best part of our stay. There are nicer places in North Yorkshire to stay for £240 per night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed in Bird Island for a special occasion after months and months of trying to find a good excuse to book in. We had eaten here before and enjoyed it and longed to try some of the interesting rooms.

The room was lovely, lots of detail and heaps of space. The hot tub outside was great fun and very clean. However, the decking was a bit of a mess...there was rubbish/cigarettes and smashed glass underneath it and the ornamental pots were full of rubbish. I would have thought for the £240 a night price tag they might have had a good clean round as part of the housekeeping.

We ate in the Crab & Lobster and enjoyed canapes in the lounge before hand which was a nice touch. Strolling through the interesting and quirky grounds was lovely in the sunshine..you really can't fault the setting. The breakfast was also nice with the option of steak, but we found the atmosphere stuffy and uncomfortable.

The hotel is incredibly close to the A1 which sort of bursts the idyllic bubble, but makes it handy to get to.

All the staff were delightful and we enjoyed a very comfortable stay. I would however expect much higher standards for such a high price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireCrackers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at Crab Manor for one night as a wedding anniversary treat. The hotel has several themed rooms and lovely gardens. The room was beautiful, with one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. The service was attentive and helpful. The restaurant/pub at the bottom of the garden is also very good. It's not cheap, but you really get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CosmicHerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This I was an incredible, comfortable, unique inn in Yorkshire. Each room and lodge house has its own theme. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was accommodating. The grounds and gardens were perfectly manicured and quite beautiful. I can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: The Capriani Room was quite nice
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews