We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crab Manor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asenby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crab Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asenby
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

A fabulous house with unique rooms based on countries around the world each one absolutely amazing and perfect for a romantic getaway or wedding venue. All staff so helpful and the restaurant has the best food with great entertainment by "mutton chops"! We will be returning with friends and have recommended to many!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlilyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    92
    28
    17
    17
See reviews for
44
491
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stay here for very special treats, because we know it doesn't come any better. From the free ale and private hot tub, to the amazing grounds and top class restaurant, it is spot on.
As long as the Crab is there, we will be visiting it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesF76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here 3 times previous

I can only review the lodges as we have not stayed in the main hotel

The lodges are a fantastic getaway with the hot tub a great addition

The food and service we have found to be great

My only negative is they don't do room service and the check out is 11 yet you can't check in till late afternoon

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob51559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Been to the crab manor for a evening wedding do. Lovely on the outside but goes downhill after going through the door. Very very cramped inside too many tables squeezed into the small rooms. Too much tat hanging from the low ceilings. You could see the layers of dust. The staff well I don't know we're to start. Didn't see one smile all night. No customer service skills whatsoever. Quite a few of the staff were foreign so that's why they were miserable and depressed. Working long shifts away from home for very little reward. Very rude on occasion. As for the prices one glass of wine and one pint of warm shandy was £12.60. Come on what a rip off. That's just outrageous. I could see why quite a lot of the wedding guests brought their own alcohol.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary and we had a fabulous time. The room, Le Manoir, was superb, the food was exquisite and the staff attentive. On the back of this excellent experience we have booked one of the new cabins for our next birthdays. We can't wait.



  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollib69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

1st time we have stayed at crab manor! We stayed in the ritz room in the manor, it was fab! Themes as it would be in London! Very clean and modern, with a twist of ritz elegance! They even had a pedestal fan for the warm evenings! They leave a pint glass in your room and they tell you about a hidden beer tap in the hotel, if you fine it free beers all the time you stay!! There's a lovely hot tub for all to use, or if you upgrade(we will next visit) u have a private hot tub. Beautiful very well kept gardens with a 1 hole golf course! The food at the crab and lobster restaurant is amazing!! The best we have ever had! Service-top notch! Staff very welcoming and friendly! The ambience is great, soft lighting and a freast for the eyes at all the articles on the ceiling, walls, windows ect. Fabulous food! Breakfast the next morn was amazing too! Loads to choose from as well as full English! We will defo stay again and eat in the restaurant! Next stay....what themed room will we have?... You get a stamp every time you stay in your passport they give you on departure, wen u have collected certain stamps you can get anything from a bottle of champagne, to £50 of vouchers, to go to the passport dinner on collection of all room stamps- this puts you into a draw to win a destination of one of the rooms!! All in all the crab monor hotel & the crab and lobster restaurant are the perfect choice for a little retreat to this fabulous little Yorkshire village right on our doorstep too!! Thank you too all!!
From Bev and Paul Morris

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for our 10th Wedding Anniversary after years of wanting to stay but never having booked early enough. We stayed in the Venice room which overlooked the front of the hotel, the day was warm so we were grateful for the fan in the room. The communal hot tub was great and sauna ...as we had them to ourselves luckily. We enjoyed finding the hidden beer tap and starting the afternoon off well. I think we got off to a bad start as we arrived mid-afternoon hungry having had a big brunch and wanting afternoon tea...but the Crab and Lobster stop serving at 2pm and couldnt offer us anything until 4/5pm and there is nothing else nearby. We also arrived a little early for check in at the hotel and the lady on reception was surprisingly rude given we were only 30mins early!
The room was lovely, bathroom had a lovely bath but no shower, free dinner canapes were a nice touch, and the food at The Crab and Lobster was great, if a little rich.
Overall ...a lovely stay...but I'm not sure I'll be going for the 14 stamps on the passport!

Room Tip: Probably worth paying the extra for a lodge with private jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asenby
14.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,447 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
24.4 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
14.4 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
19.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crab Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab Manor Hotel

Property: Crab Manor Hotel
Address: Dishforth Road, Asenby Y07 3QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Asenby
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crab Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Crab Manor Asenby
Hotel Crab Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing