We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch enjoyed”

Charles Bathurst Inn Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch enjoyed”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were given a three course lunch voucher for the Charles Bathhurst Inn as a Christmas gift.
Our first impressions on arriving the venue is set in beautiful landscape.
We sat down at out our table and was welcomed by Mike. He popped over to our table a few times over the duration of the meal to make sure we were ok. a nice touch.
The food was very tasty made from fresh produce and presented well.
Quantity excellent.
I would certainly recommend the lamb shank .
A most pleasant experience and would go back again for food.

Feb 20th 2014

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bkutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    37
    22
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A filthy dirty room”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night here and that was enough ,we booked it throuh Groupon ...it stated that apon arrival we would receive wine & fruit cake we never! It stated it was a double bed it wasnt (more like 3/4 which is no good to two adults,there was a nasty smell in the bathroom the room really wasnt clean we couldnt wait for daylight to dress & pack! Breakfast was good room was vile.I would advise people NOT to throw good money away you will be VERYdisappointed....We did complain but it fell on deaf ears.

Helpful?
2 Thank justjanice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles C, Owner at Charles Bathurst Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Our response to this posting is the same as to the similar one your friend posted on our hotel page.
When you left us you stated it was because ' something had cropped up' You made no attempt to talk to us about your concerns and did not say that you were unhappy with your accommodation- we were therefore not given any opportunity to address your concerns at the time.
Your friend contacted us later and spoke to our front of house manager and told him she/you would post a negative trip advisor review unless you were given financial reward. You then used abusive and foul language when he refused your demands.
The room was inspected following the call and was found to be clean and comfortable and the bed is indeed a double as advertised.
We welcome and take seriously all customer feedback but refuse to be intimidated by inaccurate and false comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Snowy escape”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

After eventually arriving due to a de tour cos of snow the welcome we had was brilliant, the staff were warm,friendly & showed us to our lovely warm big room :). We booked through groupon & had to up grade to a bigger room but as we had our pet dog milly with us the extra space was welcome. The whole feel of the place was warm,friendly & relaxed all the staff from the cleaners to the bar/waiting staff couldn't do enough for us, if your looking for a complete get away from it all then this has to be the place. We will be back that's for sure . So thank you to all the staff at CB brill :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Local game cooked to perfection”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The CB as it seems to be known by locals delivers an authentic taste of the Yorkshire Dales, delivering a menu packed full of locally sourced game and hearty home cooking. Venison, Guinea Fowl and Grouse are all served with style and for the less adventurous there’s all the usual gastropub fayre. Real ale fans are in heaven here with a broad selection.


I had my first guinea fowl and was very impressed! Overall it offers friendly service and great food in a pretty rural setting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katielips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing rural retreat”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We booked our 2 night stay at the CB inn through a groupon voucher and what a treat it was. We arrived in Sunday was greeted with a warm welcome, we were allowed to check in early as our room was ready. We received our free mulled wine as part of our groupon voucher which was delicious!! Our room was beautiful very warm cosy had a country rustic feel to it which we loved and we had beautiful views. The food at CB inn was amazing and extremely well priced. Mike made us feel very welcome and gave the CB inn a real homely feel. The location is very rural Richmond is about a 20 minute drive away with some lovely shops. This was the perfect get away for myself and my husband and would highly recommend for anyone who is in need of escaping every day life for a couple of days. Thank you.
Cassandra and William Bell
(Booked under Holland)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CassandraB1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles Bathurst Inn Restaurant also viewed

Low Row, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Redmire, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Charles Bathurst Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing