We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit - Marvellous Again!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aysgarth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heather Cottage B&B
Ranked #5 of 9 Aysgarth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Return visit - Marvellous Again!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Really friendly welcome from Peter & Angela into their lovely home. It really did feel like home from home from the moment we arrived. Once again, hospitality and attention to detail absolutely faultless. Nothings too much trouble, these people are also a mine of information about where to go, what to do, best places to eat - and they do their own research. The Dales is a truly unspoiled delight (somewhat less crowded than the Lakes) and this lovely cottage is situated perfectly for exploring the area.
Can't recommend this highly enough (just read the other great reviews-they're all so true)- we'll be back again!
Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: Just book and enjoy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
100
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

What a wonderful place Heather Cottage is, made doubly so by the great hosts who made us feel like long lost friends right from the moment we arrived! And Angela is quite possibly the best cook in the world too with her delicious cakes, breakfasts and the little biscuits in the room each day!! Both very knowledgable about the area and advising on things to do and even maps of various walks near by.
Would certainly return again and again when in this part of the world.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tequillababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We can not thank enough both hosts at Heather Cottage for this wonderful stay.
The house is amazing, full of character, warm and welcoming, but it does get out-shined by the owners themselves.
Great couple, they will look after you, help you to organize your day, your walks and advice you on everything that is best in the area. We really enjoyed their company by breakfast table, and would have loved to spend even more time with them. I must say, that they made our holiday even more memorable. We would come back just to see them. And Bella with Buzz, their lovely pets. Just no more rabbit horror stories please! ;)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarTrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Heather Cottage incredibly last month. The kindness and attention Peter and Angela showed were unmatched in all our stays in the UK. Oh the breakfasts!! To die for. And each day Peter prepared a map for us for our walks, and once drove us to Hawes as we had no car. That area of the UK is a treasure to be discovered, the fields, the beauty of nature there. We recommend March as its lambing season if you love to see the little ones all about.
Couldn't recommend this place more highly. We'll be BACK!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margrethe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadi, Fiji
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

A warm winter welcome of mulled wine and home made mince pies set the tone for our 5 day stay at Heather Cottage. Owners, Angela and Peter were gracious and welcoming hosts right from the start. They have a beautiful house and two spacious and well appointed guest rooms with big bathrooms. It's also an ideal base for daily explorations into the Dales after a hearty and first class breakfast.

For those new to the Dales Peter and Angela offer advice and suggestions on places of interest to visit or scenic and historical routes to take. Their interest in, and enthusiasm for, the area is infectious.

A magical few days. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at Heather Cottage. Angela and Peter have made us feel very welcome - almost part of the family. Our room was spacious, very clean and tidy. For breakfast there are eggs laid by their own chickens and home baked bread. We felt we have made friends and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyandNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elloughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here, the house itself is beautiful and we were very impressed with our room, especially the lovely big bathroom. The owners could not have made us more welcome and helped me out of a major wardrobe disaster! the birthday breakfast, complete with sparklers, really completed the weekend for us, and we had a lovely walk thanks to advice and a borrowed map. We would definitely recommend Heather Cottage to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aysgarth
1.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
7.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
#2 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornlee Bed & Breakfast
Cornlee Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wensleydale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heather Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heather Cottage B&B

Property: Heather Cottage B&B
Address: Heather Cottage Wensleydale A684 opposite the Edwardian Rock Garden, Aysgarth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Aysgarth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Aysgarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisitely restored Edwardian Country Gentleman's House. Spacious en-suite rooms (with fridge/DVD), superb food, assured welcome. Perfect for cycling the dales, walking the Herriot way or strolling to the famous Aysgarth Falls. Watch the sunset over Wensleydale's picturesque Lady Hill while relaxing in the garden by the pond and visit the renowned Aysgarth Edwardian Rock Garden. Fabulous choice of places to eat either within walking distance or a short drive away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing