We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aysgarth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heather Cottage B&B
Ranked #7 of 9 Aysgarth B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from Home!”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

If you're looking for a warm, genuine welcome, this is the place to come! You are made to feel very at ease in this small B & B, unlike some of the slightly bigger enterprises.

The room was immaculately clean and well-presented, including some refreshing touches such as thick, soft towels, in-room fridge, Yorkshire dales literature to read up on at your leisure and a sumptuously comfy double bed.

Breakfast was excellent, with home-baked bread and a compote of plum and apple to die for!

We would visit this lovely B & B again without a second's hesitation. The owners certainly know all the tricks of the trade when it comes to hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 257Foodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetenAnge, Owner at Heather Cottage B&B, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Many thanks for posting your review. Praise from another B&B owner - especially one from such a highly rated property is always wonderful to receive and lets us know that we must be doing something right. It is always a pleasure to receive and look after such appreciative guests and hopefully we will be able to return the honour and visit Grassington Lodge one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
100
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

When my husband and I decided to spend a week in the Yorkshire countryside, we couldn't have picked a nicer bed & breakfast to stay at than Heather Cottage.

I really can't rave enough about the breakfast part of this bed & breakfast. Fresh homemade bread for toast, eggs from free-range hens and local sausage and bacon made us look forward to breakfast every morning, and the full English is quite frankly, out of this world.

The village of Aysgarth is on the quiet side and full of friendly helpful people. Heather Cottage is just a few houses down from a wonderful tea room, and just a short walk from the George & Dragon restaurant so its location is quite convenient if you plan on staying in town a while.

Our hosts were very kind and generous during our stay and were wonderful in giving us suggestions for places to go and things to see. The Edwardian Rock Garden is also a lovely treat that comes along with staying at Heather Cottage. I highly recommend taking the time to take a stroll through it to appreciate its beauty, and watching the available documentary to learn the full story behind this patch of living history.

I would recommend Heather Cottage to anyone looking to take a quiet holiday in the Yorkshire countryside.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Figastrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I can't say enough good things about our stay in this lovely old Edwardian country gentleman's home. This is one of the most luxurious bed and breakfasts I've ever stayed in. The en-suite shower and toilet gave our stay a great deal of privacy. The hosts were most pleasant, very knowledgeable about the area and very accommodating. They made sure we were well looked after. The breakfasts were generous and well made with local ingredients. Tea and homemade biscuits were available in the room. The house, which was once owned by the wealthiest man in town, is grand and warm. From our window we could see the restored Edwardian rock garden across the road. This is also a part of Heather cottage and well worth a look. Even our bathroom offered a spectacular view of the area's green hills. It was a wholly lovely stay and, I think, a very good value for the money. I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveM486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and were very impressed with the standard of accomodation and the attention to detail. The home made biscuits that were left in the room with our tea and coffee were delicious as was the home made bread at breakfast. Fresh fruit salad for breakfast was very nice as was the breakfast with eggs from there own chickens. The location was perfect for walking and very near the Aysgarth falls. Angela booked us in for a meal at the George (the only pub in the village) for our first evening meal which was extremly good but a bit pricey. The second meal we had was at Hendersons bistro near Aysgarth which was very good and more realistically priced. We did a lovely walk to Bolton castle (about 8 miles) and were blessed with exeptional weather the tea room there is very good but also pricey.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smeaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ducklion
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

This place was the best one night break i have had ever anywhere, the owners were perfect in every way possible, cakes and tea on arrival, helped with our bags, and chatted to us for about 40 minutes they were great hosts,
You get everything you need ( EVEN TOWELS PRIVATE JOKE )
You need not look ant further than this place to be treated like royals nothing is too mush trouble
The breakfast is vast, too much choice to mention.
The pub down the road has a great presence and the locals were fantastic.
All joking apart this place is fantastic and we will be going back later this year.
Thanks Very Much Lee Julie Sue Dayrll
OH YEAH THERE IS WIFI AS WELL

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springer1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

If you looking to escape, Heather Cottage is a perfect location with the most welcoming hosts - Peter & Angela. Set in the delightful village of Aysgarth with the stunning falls within walking distance and unique Rock garden across the road, you can feel stress levels reduce immediately. The house has fantastic character and the bedrooms are cosy & relaxing. I'm not sure if it was the Yorkshire air but I had the best night's sleep here. Breakfast was a feast with eggs from the hens in the garden and home baked bread from Angela, simply the best way to start the day. I cannot recommend highly enough and will be heading North again this year to enjoy the hospitality of Heather Cottage.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sapphireheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We arrived at Heather Cottage after driving through the Yorkshire Dales in flooding rain. Angela could not have made us feel more welcome. After depositing our bags and drying off, she immediately had tea and cake. She also made reservations for us at a nearby restaurant. Thoughout the evening we met the rest of this delightful family including Bella. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was terrific. The best thing that I can say is that they made us feel like we were staying at a friend's house, not just a B & B. We are definitely going back again since we wished that we had gotten a chance to visit her rock garden across the street.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cal724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aysgarth
1.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
0.7 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
#2 of 9 in Aysgarth
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cornlee Bed & Breakfast
Cornlee Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 9 in Aysgarth
221 reviews
1.5 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
3.5 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 5 in West Witton
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heather Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heather Cottage B&B

Property: Heather Cottage B&B
Address: Heather Cottage Wensleydale A684 opposite the Edwardian Rock Garden, Aysgarth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Aysgarth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Aysgarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisitely restored Edwardian Country Gentleman's House. Spacious en-suite rooms (with fridge/DVD), superb food, assured welcome. Perfect for cycling the dales, walking the Herriot way or strolling to the famous Aysgarth Falls. Watch the sunset over Wensleydale's picturesque Lady Hill while relaxing in the garden by the pond and visit the renowned Aysgarth Edwardian Rock Garden. Fabulous choice of places to eat either within walking distance or a short drive away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing