We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm welcome with chilly room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George and Dragon Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Aysgarth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“warm welcome with chilly room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

olde worlde pub/hotel/restaurant in ideal location for touring/walks. warm welcome-brilliant food.Room clean and comfortable.only complaint is that one small radiator was not enough to heat bedroom and bathroom(which had heated towel rail). would recommend if weather not too windy/cold!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    91
    14
    10
    15
See reviews for
43
170
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed there with my brother and family. We stayed two nights and went walking and visited Bolton Castle. The George and Dragon is an excellent place to start a walk. The Aysgarth falls are close by for a short walk, further away is Bolton Castle. A walk up onto Hazely Peat Moor and back by the picturesque village of West Burton makes a great day out. I really like being able to walk straight out of the door into beautiful countryside without having to drive anywhere.

We ate in both evenings, and all enjoyed the food a lot. My brother is vegetarian and there was only one vegetarian dish on the menu. He asked in the morning of the second day if they could prepare something different, and they agreed to do that. The Wensleydale cheese plate was very tasty. At the bar they had four ales on hand pumps, which the adults all enjoyed.

Room Tip: Room 5 is above an air conditioner that makes the floor vibrate strongly. That is not switched on la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1e-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We arrived to a lovely relaxed reception. No formalities. Just perfect for a valentines weekend. The Black sheep Ale is like Guiness in Ireland. The melt in your mouth chicken liver pate and warm brioche bread was amazing and with a £13.95 meal offer for two courses, who could resist when you are a girl who just loves her food and is not afraid to admit it to the landlord of this establishment. The feel of the place is magical. The landlady makes you feel as if you are part of the place and cared for but not in a client smoozey way. I am not a professional critic but if I was I would be keeping quiet about this place so that there is always room for me when I want to check in again and snuggle with my gorgeous man into the corner of the bar next to the roaring open fire and the big fluffy alsation pub dog.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

The opportunity arose for a few days away from work. The visit was planned on the Sunday for arrival on the Tuesday. On balance a good choice was made. A very welcoming reception including details of internet access. Everything in the room worked as expected. The room was rather cool on arrival but became very warm when occupied. Extra biscuits were provided without a question. The idea of sharing a single packet (one each) was considered frugal. Diner was a delight, good pub food well served in a very pleasant atmosphere. A very comfortable bed ensured a good nights sleep. An excellent breakfast (not rushed) , completed the all to short break. The room above the bar could be noisy for those wishing to retire before the bar closed. Not a problem on our visit. Would return again to sample more of an all to short break.

Room Tip: Note room above the bar could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Called in for an evening meal whilst staying at a nearby b&b. The staff were friendly, the bar was busy and the dining area cosy. The service was very efficient, the food was lovely and the price overall not bad. The only downside I could find was that there wasn't a huge selection to chose from on the menu but it wouldn't put me off dining there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DoncasterLass76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Called in for an evening meal whilst staying at a nearby b&b. The staff were friendly, the bar was busy and the dining area cosy. The service was very efficient, the food was lovely and the price overall not bad. The only downside I could find was that there wasn't a huge selection to chose from on the menu but it wouldn't put me off dining there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DoncasterLass76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Family running the George and Dragon were very accommodating. We were arriving at 4pm after they had finished serving Christmas lunch to a pub full of customers, and were just retiring for their own Christmas dinner. They left us out a lovely spread of cold meats and cheese with mince pies and chocolate. The landlady had taken the trouble to ring me in plenty of time weeks beforehand to say they would not be serving food in the evening and gave us the option to cancel if that did not suit.

Room Tip: Our room had a four poster and power shower in lovely roomy bathroom, but no bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aysgarth
6.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
7.2 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
#2 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
4.9 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George and Dragon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George and Dragon Inn

Property: The George and Dragon Inn
Address: A684 | (between Hawes and Leyburn), Aysgarth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Aysgarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Aysgarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The George and Dragon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George and Dragon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George And Dragon Hotel Aysgarth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing