We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb..Relaxing weeks break.”
Review of Westholme Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westholme Estate
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Spent 10th-14th sept here in a Westholme oak VIP cabin and was blown away...We did arrive a little bit early at 1pm and was told we could not have keys until 4pm as the cleaners were in, so we decided to drive into Leyburn for provisions...We eventually gained access to the cabin and were very impressed.everything was spotless, the bedrooms the ensuite, the kitchen looked un used, even the hot-tub was at temperature and ready to use.
We used the bar every afternoon/early evening and couldnt fault the service or atmosphere, we booked the restaurant for an early-bird 3 course meal on the second day and the food was superb..cost was £67 for 4 adults including drinks..well worth at least one visit per stay.
The whole experience was so relaxing, we are already making plans to go back very soon with friends.
If i was to improve this place in any way i would say they do need a small shop onsite for fresh bread and milk, eggs etc as the nearest convenience store is 7 miles away in Leyburn..also not being able to gain access to your cabin until 4pm and having to vacate the cabin at 10am on your departure day could be improved a little, as it is quite a chunk of your time if your only on a short break, but do read the pack that is in the cabin as it does tell you where everything is and suggests places to visit during your stay..Book with confidence, you will love it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intruder3906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 788 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

We got a groupon for westholme palk. The lodges are beautiful. We upgraded so we could have a hot tub. This was fantastic the weather was kind to us too. We went into the hot tub when it was dark and was lovely looking up at the stars. The lodge was spotless. We visites aysgarth falls which are beautiful.
The meal we had in the restauraunt was lovely, but a little pricy. The staff were very nice too. We wanted to stay an extra night but the park was full. We will defenatly go back again

Room Tip: Defenatly get a lodge with a hot tub well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawn3792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

stayed here in febuary with my partner and little boy it was fantastic so relaxing the lodge was really big and had everything we needed. we went out to aysgarth fall and to a fish farm which i no sounds boring but was great had lot of farm animals and extra things to do.
we didnt use the bar or restaurant but the little one played in the park the hot tub was fantastic such a bonus lol would recomend to everyone and will be back lol

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah_87_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

A wonderful setting and beautiful modern and clean lodges make this a perfect place to chill and unwind. We cant wait to return and look forward to seeing Scott and his helpful team again. The hot tubs were lovely and clean and so warm, we really didn't want to come home!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxMaxine68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Go here and be cut off from the rest of the world. No iphone signal was perfect for us. The lodge was so much better than expected. The kitchen although compact was modern and had everything needed as well as a free welcome pack with cloth, washing up liquid, scrubbing brush, bin bag, tea towel and tea and coffee with milk in the fridge on arrival.

Lovely big flatscreen tv with digital channels, dining table to seat foour, only problem was for seating infront of the tv there was only a small 2 seater sofa when there is definitely enough room for more furniture another armchair or sofa would perfect this.

Bedroom a little on the small side but had everything needed and the bathroom was super with a state of the art shower pod with radio and many many settings. Cleanliness was great too.

The hot tub was always warm for us even on a cold night. The central heating was individually operated so we just made sure to have it nice and toasty inside for when we got out of the tub.

The patio door is a very odd opening and we did need to get one of the staff to show us how. The staff on the whole are great, full of info and very welcoming.

The onsite bar and restaurant is very nicely decorated and furnished and the food is very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkDiamondDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

My partner and i had the best easter weekend here. We werent expecting much for the price we paid but when we arrived the accomadation and views were superb. The hot tub made our stay so relaxing and the surrounding area was lovely to look at and so peaceful. Great power shower and clean and tidy. We went to forbidden corner which was literally the best place on earth, very reasonable at £10 and the £1 i spent on fish food was the best pound ive ever spent, was a gorgeous day and loved feeding the fish in the pond. Exactly the holiday we were looking for. Booked up to go back over nye :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkcake123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed in a Maple VIP for a week in August. First impressions, we arrived at 3:50pm, when check in was at 4pm and we were not able to check in. Fair enough I thought as we were early but annoyed that without much of an appolgy we didn't get to check in until 4:15pm. I appreciate it was a Friday- change over day however I would have expected it ready.
Anyway moans over after checking in to our lodge- agree with others a bit like a static caravan, we were pleased to find plenty of space for myself, husband and baby. We had 2 bedrooms, bathroom, one with a bath one with shower. Which I think is standard. The lodges are furnished well with modern deco- a few scratces to the walls. Carpet wasn't really clean. Also have to mention lots of dead flies on the bathroom window on arrival.
Hot tub was a nice extra at the end of the day. Beds were not very comfortable.
Sorry a few moans here on this review but we did have a lovely week helped by the weather. Not sure we would stay again as may prefer to go nearer to York city next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pinkdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aysgarth
1.2 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
11.6 mi away
Flowery Dell Luxury Pine Lodges
0.4 mi away
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
#3 of 9 in Aysgarth
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Woodland Lakes Lodges
Woodland Lakes Lodges
#10 of 12 in Thirsk
16 reviews
0.9 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
0.2 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westholme Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westholme Estate

Address: Aysgarth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Aysgarth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Aysgarth
Hotel Class:4 star — Westholme Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westholme Estate is an exclusive selection of contemporary; log built, leisure lodges, nestled within a sensitively landscaped estate deep in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. Phase 1 consists of 4 lodge styles; each model is fully equipped and furnished offering superior levels of elegance and comfort. Westholme Estate provides you and your family with the opportunity to escape from the everyday world, whenever you desire, to your own secluded holiday home set amongst some of the finest scenery nature has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Westholme Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westholme Estate Hotel Aysgarth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing