We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B&B in a brilliant location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wood View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Austwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just home after a lovely weekend staying @ Wood View:
David & Sue could not have been more accommodating with fitting us all in, giving us advice on walking routes, etc.
Their hospitality combined with great enviroment cannot be more highly recommended - including after walking the Yorkshire 3Peaks we were treated to homemade scones & tea in front of the log fire!
Our group will be definitely recommending Wood View to anyone heading to the Dales.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktc_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Wood View Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 138 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

David and Sue are wonderful hosts. They made us very welcome and invited us to share birthday celebrations for another guest (Sue baked a cake for the occasion). Our hosts' good humour made it a real pleasure to spend time with them, and we appreciated David's guidance on where to walk, where to eat, what to do - this really helped us get the most out of our stay. Our room at the top of the house was comfortable and extremely spacious. Our only regret was having to leave - three days was not enough!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jutain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We readily concur with all the excellent reviews of Wood View B & B as we have been visiting over a number of years now on an average of three times a year. As we are both in our mid eighties their compassion and hospitality was outstanding in September 2012 when I took ill on the day we were due to leave. They arranged a doctor's appointment and took care of us for four more nights until we could travel home. Altogether a house where one feels at home on stepping inside, in the presence of a wonderful couple Sue and David.

Room Tip: Room 1 is superb
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just got back from a lovely stay at the Wood View in Austick. Although the temperatures outside were around freezing, the welcome from David and Sue was warm. The room was delightful and the log fire in the lounge was a welcome site after a day's walking. My wife and I would highly recommend the Wood View and we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John186376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our first stay in Austwick at Wood View was everything we expected from previous reviews. Very friendly and helpful advice from David and Sue. The scones on arrival and home made biscuits were lovely. Everything was first class and faultless. Our 3 night stay was most enjoyable and we even had good weather to add to the satisfaction. Highly recommended. The Buckleys

Room Tip: We had king sized room on top floor but all rooms seemed to be very spacious and well equipped. We...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bb189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had another warm and enjoyable stay at Wood View over the Easter weekend. The weather was bitter cold, which didn't prevent us scaling Ingleborough, so it was a pleasure to return to a comfortable sofa in front of the wood fire.
The room was spotless, the water hot and plentiful (for a deep bath) and the bed crisp and comfortable.
Dave and Sue are perfect hosts and we felt very at home with them. We look forward to staying again.
Andy and Karen.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Have just returned from another stay at Wood View. Thanks Sue and Dave for an enjoyable and relaxing 3 day visit. As always, nothing is too much trouble for them and everything is first class. See you both soon, Jane and Martin.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austwick
0.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
604 reviews
1.4 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
549 reviews
4.6 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
501 reviews
5.9 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
292 reviews
1.5 mi away
Scar Close Farmhouse
Scar Close Farmhouse
#2 of 6 in Austwick
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood View Bed & Breakfast

Address: The Green, Austwick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle LA2 8BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Austwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Austwick
Price Range: $36 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wood View is one of Austwick’s oldest farmhouses (circa 1700), being an elegant Grade II listed building situated on the village green. Containing many original features such as open fires and beams, it is the home of Sue and David Dewhirst, who provide a high standard of accommodation for discerning visitors to the area. The village of Austwick nestles in a valley with a backdrop of magnificent limestone scenery in the Three Peaks area of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. It is the ideal base for exploring this area of outstanding natural beauty by car, cycle or on foot, or as a stopping off point en route to the Lake District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wood View Bed & Breakfast Austwick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing