We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wood View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Austwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southport
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Still the best”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from another visit to Wood View. First class as always and the refurbished rooms are lovely. Sue and David are the most helpful and lovely hosts we have ever experienced in a B&B and it truly is a home from home. The Gamecock next door provided a welcome Sunday lunch and Ravenous in Settle just 10 minutes away is exceptional. Great location from which to explore the dales. Can't wait for another visit.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank timwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
74
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was my second time staying at Wood View. My first experience was very pleasant so I opted to return here for the night with my boyfriend to share the experience I had had. Unfortunately this time I did not enjoy my night here. On arrival, we were ushered to our room, I firstly remembered on my last visit, we were offered a cup of tea on arrival and sat around the fire in the lounge. Having read other reviews it seems 90% of people were also greeted with this attentive welcome. I felt the room lacked somewhat to the one I had stayed in last time, and also had a gigantic beam running from one end of the room to the other. I am 5"9 and my boyfriend is 6"3 so this was not ideal especially when I bent down the next morning I really banged my head. Also the room was extremely cold, David had informed us that it would warm up soon but after an hour and a half we decided to plug in the extra heater which we found in the corner of the room. In the evening we ate at the Game Cock Inn which was lovely and you get 10% off if staying at Wood View. On our return to Wood View at around 10pm, I admittedly made the mistake of locking the front door. For some reason because all guests were given a key, I thought this was ok, however I didn't realise locking from the inside, ment the door could only be opened from the inside. My silly mistake. We had a relaxing sleep and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty and both Sue and David were very friendly. Unfortunately I was informed about the trouble I had caused with the door the night before and felt completely embarrassed! Another couple could not get into the guest house and it all caused quite a kerfuffle. After a few nervous laughs I apologised to both Sue & David and the other couple. However I felt the situation went from being a joke, to making me feel extremely uncomfortable, when it was simply a mistake. There was only my boyfriend and I, and two other couples dining that morning, so was quite personal, which usually I would not mind. However the lady who had been locked out passed the comment 'I think David was more concerned when he remembered it was a scouse couple who had locked themselves inside' I realise this was a 'joke' however it did make me feel extremely uncomfortable. It also made me think if it was my parents who were staying in Wood View, would this comment of been made? Or was it purely because we were a young couple, and not a typical guest of Wood View. I am not one to moan, but I did feel a little upset on my departure. The weekend didn't come cheap and I had felt a little let down. I won't be returning to Wood View, and its a shame that I am not left with the feeling I had from my first experience staying here. To anyone wanting to stay in the area, I wouldn't be deterred. I just feel maybe this time it wasn't for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austwick, Owner at Wood View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Sarah B is not the only one who is ‘disappointed’, as after 8 years and 40 reviews on Trip Advisor, these are the first negative comments of any sort that we have received from a guest, so it would be fair to say that we are rather disappointed too! Wood View is a small B&B in the Yorkshire Dales that primarily caters for the needs of walkers and cyclists, however we also have many satisfied, regular visitors of all ages that do not fall into either category.
The room that ‘lacked somewhat’ is one of 2 King Sized rooms that we have at the top of the house and which have a large wooden beam across the length of the room that form part of the early 18th century roof structure. As in many traditional houses of this age, the beams, low ceilings and uneven floors are part of the character of the building and unfortunately even we bang our heads occasionally!
When we have guests during the winter months we always have the central heating on twenty four hours a day, with the thermostat on each floor set to what seems to be an appropriate temperature for the prevailing weather conditions. This does not mean that the radiators are constantly hot, but it does mean that the rooms should be comfortable for most guests’ requirements and if anyone who particularly feels the cold asks for the heating to be turned up then of course we would immediately comply with the request. Some of our rooms also have additional heaters, which Sarah B was able to make good use of.
Many of our visitors comment about having a welcome drink in front of the fire in the Guest Lounge. This is where I must hold up my hand and say that I did not ask at the time of arrival if Sarah and her partner would like a drink, but I realised at once that I had omitted to do this and waited for the couple to come down so that I could offer them tea and scones by the fire, but unfortunately they did not appear until much later on their way to the neighbouring pub, by which time it was too late.
With regard to the unfortunate ‘locking out incident’, it is difficult to see how else we could have managed the situation. Sarah inadvertently put the dead lock on the front door, thereby preventing ourselves and some late arriving guests from getting into the house. Thankfully we managed to wake up the guests in a first floor bedroom by throwing stones at the window and they let us in. I told Sarah at breakfast that we had been locked out and she was most apologetic, but we all made a joke of it and as far as we were concerned no harm was done. Although this has never happened before we have now taken steps to ensure that it doesn’t happen again!
We were at least pleased to read some positives in Sarah’s review in that she & her partner had ‘a relaxing sleep and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty and both Sue and David were very friendly.’
On a final point in our response, Sarah says that ‘The weekend didn't come cheap’. In fact the couple only stayed with us on the Saturday night and paid our single night tariff of £43 each for bed & breakfast in a King sized room with a large en-suite bathroom, which we consider is good value for money. It is not our usual policy to let rooms for only one night at a weekend, but in this case we made an exception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Sue and David are a lovely couple, who really go the extra mile to look after their guests. They live in a beautiful old house set in the heart of the quiet village of Austwick, in the Yorkshire Dales. Their rooms are decorated with care, well-furnished, quiet, with all the conveniences you would like! They give a friendly welcome, and even cater for Gluten-free guests without any worries! We have stayed with them for several years now, and really look forwrad to seeing them each year - a real home-from-home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have been visiting Sue and David at the Woodview for around seven years now, and feel it’s time to write a review.
Once again, we stayed with them during the New Year period, and once again their B & B rates were charged at the usual rate, and not inflated to make the most of seasonal demands. If there ever was a couple with a natural ability to make guests feel at home, hosts Sue and David fit the bill.
On arrival on a winter’s day, guest are greeted in the lounge to an open fire, tea and refreshments, and advice on walks and places of interest. David, being a keen mountain biker, has an excellent knowledge of the local lanes and fells. The breakfasts are cooked to order at a time (within reason) suitable to guests using fresh produce, and are excellent. Should you choose to have dinner at the village pub, The Game Cock, a reduction is given to guests of the Woodview. Unusually for a Dale’s pub, its run by a French family who cater for visitors, and the pub grub makes a visit worth while.
Austwick has a rural charm, and street lighting has yet to reach the village which adds to the relaxed feeling of the community. In this hectic world we live in, to still be able to enjoy this gem just a short distance from the busy A65 is still a treat we enjoy.
We shall return !

Room Tip: All rooms are cosy and comfortable, and most face the village green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a wonderful holiday we had, such a quaint and comfortable stay with a fantastic breakfast, lovely people and beautiful scenery. From the moment we arrived our hosts made us feel really welcome, showing us our well decorated, clean and spacious room, with soft bedding and fluffy towels - first impressions were great. Stairs are a bit steep and the beams are a bit low in places so be careful.

Not too fussed about the Traddock hotel just down the road where we went for a drink in the evening - felt a bit like we were intruding.

Breakfast was excellent, we ordered it the night before using a check list so that when we came down the next morning there was less faffing about. Nice breakfast room, very cozy with the other guests and our hosts are very knowledgable about the local area - we had such a great day out visiting the highest pub, the Wendsleydale Creamery and a number of different beauty spots in the local area.

A very quiet and comfortable night's sleep and all in all, a wonderful get away. Thank you

Room Tip: They're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateWill76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tas, Aus
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a lovely B&B with very nice, clean and comfortable rooms. The owners are really friendly and knowledgeable about walks in the area. Great breakfast. Austwick is lovely. Ideal spot for a Dales holiday

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DitaMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here last weekend, while we did the Yorkshire Three Peaks Challenge. We had a great stay and David and Sue are very welcoming and attentive.

Upon arrival, we were shown to our room, where we then had a nice cup of tea downstairs with David and Sue. David has done the Three Peaks previously and offered to go through the route with us, which he knew like the back of his hand. He provided us with lots of tips and knowledge and helped restore a bit of confidence about our trek.

The B&B is also only about a 10 minute drive from Horton, where we started our challenge. Wood View also offer free car parking, for those travelling quite far.

Because we were leaving so early for the trek, meaning we'd miss breakfast, Sue made us a lovely packed lunch to take with us to make up for it. We had breakfast on our second day there though, where we had a choice of porridge, fry up, cereals etc...

Beds are very comfy, rooms are a good size and we had a lovely bathroom with a nice deep bathtub, perfect after our 11 hour trek.

Next door is a lovely little pub called the Game Cock Inn, which you can get 10% off food if you stay at Wood View.

We had a great stay at Wood View. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandamandypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austwick
0.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
582 reviews
1.4 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
525 reviews
4.6 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
487 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
306 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brookhouse Guest House
Brookhouse Guest House
#3 of 5 in Clapham
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Wood View Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Green, Austwick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle LA2 8BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Austwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Austwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wood View is one of Austwick’s oldest farmhouses (circa 1700), being an elegant Grade II listed building situated on the village green. Containing many original features such as open fires and beams, it is the home of Sue and David Dewhirst, who provide a high standard of accommodation for discerning visitors to the area. The village of Austwick nestles in a valley with a backdrop of magnificent limestone scenery in the Three Peaks area of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. It is the ideal base for exploring this area of outstanding natural beauty by car, cycle or on foot, or as a stopping off point en route to the Lake District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wood View Bed & Breakfast Austwick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing