We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sue & David Dewhirst , instant new friends in fab Austwick.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wood View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Austwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,076 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
“Sue & David Dewhirst , instant new friends in fab Austwick.”
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Great people,house and village and 10% off your dinner at the Gamecock pub!
A good place to be.
The breakfast room is compact but who cares , and breakfast is selected the night before and cooked with care.
£42 per person in superior double with bath.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
74
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Stayed here a few times over the last 5 years, and have enjoyed our stay every time we have visited Woodview. Excellent hosts. Homemade biscuits and scones are just what you need on arrival and after a long walk in the dales. Rooms warm and comfortable. David is an excellent source of information on Mountain biking, cycling, and walking around the area. Good pub with real ale and food a few yards away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twocanstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Excellent stay in most comfortable and hospitable guest house just a couple of doors away from good pub with french cooking. Hosts at the B&B were most welcoming, rooms were spacious and comfortable and breakfast was great. A good place to stay and walk in the Dales

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pomona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Can't rate Wood View highly enough.The service was outstanding.
We stayed in one of the superior rooms.It was well worth paying the little bit extra,
because it was a large spacious lovely room,with exposed beams.
The breakfast was very good indeed with plenty of choice.
The Owners are very friendly,and helpful,and go out of there to make your stay a pleasant one.
The location is ideal,in the centre of the gorgeous dales village of Austwick.
Adjacent to the Gamecock pub.
Austwick is an ideal base for some great walks.
Wood View is a real find,one of the best Bed and Breakfasts we have stayed in.
We will definately return, and wouldn't hesitate recommending to anyone

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHeidi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We just had two nights at the Wood View, Austwick.
Lovely welcome, lovely owners. We had one of the rooms with the low beams on the top floor, which we have got to say made us very nervous at first, cause the beam is just at bang your head height. However, if you just leave the small mirror light on in the bathroom, you know the direction for the toilet in the night, without going near the beam. All in all, the beam looks beautiful in the day light.
Really enjoyed the smoked salmon and eggs for breakfast.
Also at night enjoyed our evening meal at the Game Cock in the village.
Couple of benches at the front of the B&B overlooking the village green, where we enjoyed sitting on after our evening meal.
As there are so many places to visit in the world we very rarely visit the same place again, however we would consider going back , or definitely recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJB9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2010

One word PERFECT!!! I would highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilP1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

My partner and I stayed for one night at the Wood View. We would stay again. The plus points - large bedroom and bathroom, plenty of storage space and all the essentials you would expect. The breakfast was excellent - you make your choices the night before. The place is blessed with its own car park (round the back) which is very important because parking in Austwick is very difficult. The minus point - we had a room with a large beam running right across it - about 5 foot from the floor. Even my partner had to duck under under it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finder2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austwick
0.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
575 reviews
1.4 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
517 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
326 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
296 reviews
1.5 mi away
Scar Close Farmhouse
Scar Close Farmhouse
#1 of 6 in Austwick
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Wood View Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Green, Austwick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle LA2 8BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Austwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Austwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wood View is one of Austwick’s oldest farmhouses (circa 1700), being an elegant Grade II listed building situated on the village green. Containing many original features such as open fires and beams, it is the home of Sue and David Dewhirst, who provide a high standard of accommodation for discerning visitors to the area. The village of Austwick nestles in a valley with a backdrop of magnificent limestone scenery in the Three Peaks area of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. It is the ideal base for exploring this area of outstanding natural beauty by car, cycle or on foot, or as a stopping off point en route to the Lake District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wood View Bed & Breakfast Austwick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing