We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic retreat”

Review of Moughton Cottage

Moughton Cottage - a beautiful, bright cottage with many original features and all modern comforts
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moughton Cottage - a beautiful, bright cottage with many original features and all modern comforts
spacious lounge with cosy log burner and comfy sofas to sink into after a long walk dining kitchen with views of the village green and the hills beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Moughton Cottage - a beautiful, bright cottage with many original features and all modern comforts
spacious lounge with cosy log burner and comfy sofas to sink into after a long walk
dining kitchen with views of the village green and the hills beyond
dishwasher, microwave and more than enough quality tableware
ensuite bedroom - twin or kingsize - with amazing views of Moughton Fell
light, spacious bedrooms and comfortable beds
the single bedroom with crisp white linen offering a deep sleep in the peace of the cottage
ensuite bathroom with shower
king sized bed with views of the village green
house bathroom with bath and shower
enjoy dining al fresco in the sunny walled garden
south facing back garden with a space for the car
view of The Green from Moughton's bedroom window
view of Austwick village from Oxenber.  One of the many walks from the doorstep of the cottage.
Beautiful Austwick Beck running through the village.  Ideal for fishing net activity!
entering the village approaching the humpback bridge over Austwick Beck
the road into Austwick offering tantalizing views of the incredible scenery you are now in
Moughton Scar is the view from the cottage.  A tempting walk on a clear day.
Austwick's children's playground in idyllic limestone landscape
Pen-y-ghent from the top of Moughton.  One of The Three Peaks.
the limestone pavements of Moughton formed during the last ice age by glaciers.  Clints and grikes -
Austwick Beck as it runs through Crummackdale high above Austwick
early morning view of Austwick from a five bar gate in the nearby hamlet of Wharfe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Austwick, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
anneandan...
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic retreat”
Reviewed November 6, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A beautiful cottage in a beautiful setting . Lovely big living room with wood burning stove and a lovely outside private garden. Free wifi, secure parking and a very well equipped kitchen. Very comfortable beds and the pub only seconds away. A brilliant place to spend time with friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely cosy cottage in a fantastic village”
Reviewed September 30, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at Moughton last weekend with some other members of my family for a walking break. We did lots of walking, 100KM during the weekend! It's a perfect base for the Yorkshire 3 peaks. Drive for only 10 mins from the cottage to the starting point.
Ingleton waterfalls are worth the visit, we went after there had been some rainfall and the waterfalls were spectacular.
The Game Cock Inn was a very nice pub and being just across the green meant it was perfect for visiting after our long walks. Make sure you book for food though otherwise you won't get in!
One thing that would have been very useful for us to know prior to our visit would be knowing that no-one delivers takeaways to Austwick. We even offered some restaurants only 5-6 miles away £20 to deliver and were told by one restaurant 'I've worked here for 13 years and I don't know anyone who delivers to Austwick!' At this point we gave up! Unfortunately the pub wouldn't help us with food despite there being a table big enough for us free.
Moughton cottage is very comfortable and has been decorated nicely, coming home and lighting the log burner was bliss! It was well equipped and clean upon arrival.
The village shop is just around the corner which sells fresh bread and pastries, but get there early as they sell out fast! This is a good place for buying your drinks and chocolate bars before you set off on your walks, they also have a coffee machine which we used a few times. The prices are reasonable for a local shop and the owners are very welcoming.
I would not hesitate to stay at Moughton Cottage again if we were in the area. All 5 of us felt the same way.
Thank you for sharing your lovely cottage with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location with pub and village shop close by
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara T
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were back again at this lovely cottage, it's very cosy, comfy & quirky, you won't be disappointed! Great for walking or relaxing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiHel S
Harrogate
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just returned from our families village of Austwick and a fabulous family wedding in Giggleswick. We love the village as a 2nd home and on this occasion we booked into Moughton Cottage and we were delighted in every way, very clean, bright, and extremely comfortable, a real home for home and the added bonus of a lovely garden to enjoy a glass of wine in. Only wish we could have stayed longer and will certainly be booking again, thanks Kate, great job.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mijasmagi...
Mijas, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well-located”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just come back from one week's stay in Moughton Cottage. Living abroad it is always hit and miss as to what will be the reality of what you find when you rent a holiday home but we found it perfect in all ways. The owner was quick to answer and responded well to all my questions. The instructions on how to get there and how to open the house (there was a code for the key box which was emailed to me when I had made the full payment) were correct and easy to follow. The instructions on how the heating worked were good and there was plenty of hot water and possibility of keeping the house warm (but we were lucky as we had good weather after the first day). The beds were extremely comfortable and the house was clean and inviting. The kitchen-dining room although small was well-equipped and perfectly adequate for a group of four.
But what we loved and made the place special, was the location of the house. Right in the centre of the village, a stone's throw away from an excellent pub which served well-priced meals, a family-run village shop which is open even on a Sunday, and then, for even finer dining, a small hotel 5 minutes down the road. The view from the main bedroom over the green is fascinating. I loved watching village life from there. But at night there was not one sound.
There are some really lovely walks in this area but if you want to tour, as we did, the Lake District is just an hour away, Harrogate and York a little bit further. Not to mention a myriad of enchanting villages such as Giggleswick just a few minutes drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Must be the Best Holiday Cottage in the Dales”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Have just spent the weekend at Moughton Cottage with my family and can say it is a 5 star retreat.
It was spotless, spacious and had everything one needed.
It's right at the heart of the village but due to the layout and the excellent walled garden you have the utmost privacy.
The garden is to die for and the south facing aspect makes it a great place to be.
Highly recommended and will definitely be making a return visit.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue M
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great to be back”
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our second visit to this lovely cottage and it was just as welcoming, warm and comfortable as we remembered. There is everything you need and plenty of room for everyone to relax in comfort. You can set out for a walk straight from your front door and spend the day roaming happily on the hills in this glorious countryside. The view of Moughton from the front windows greets you in the morning, whether bathed in sunshine or snow (both in the same week) so you can't wait to get your boots on and get out there. For our little explorer the village playground was a big hit and just the right distance to reach on the scooter. The village shop is great - friendly, helpful owners with a large stock of all sorts of stuff - if you can't see it ask because they seem to have a tardis in the back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing