We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Moughton Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Austwick, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Holidayma...
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 11, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just spent a relaxing holiday in Moughton Cottage and were very impressed with the beautiful cottage and the tasteful and comfortable atmosphere that the owner had created. The standard was very high, and the cottage was spotlessly clean and well cared for. We lived the village and the walks directly from it, and we definitely hope to return to explore the area further, as there was a lot more to explore and the week seemed to fly past. Moughton cottage rates very highly compared to many of the holiday cottages we have stayed in previously, so thank you so much, Kate, for your thoughtful care with this lovely property.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p0l82
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage in perfect location!”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned home after our second stay at Moughton Cottage and we had such a relaxing holiday. It's an amazingly cosy cottage, spotlessly clean, well equipped and in a perfect location. Austwick is such a peaceful village. There are many lovely walks from the door and lots of places to visit to. Moughton Cottage is the nicest cottage we have stayed in and would love to return for a third time!

Date of stay: June 2015
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lain261
Sheffield
2 reviews
“Absolute Heaven!”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Spent a few days at Moughton with three friends. What a wonderful place to stay! Austwick is a lovely peaceful village and the cottage overlooks the village green. So many lovely walks around and a superbly maintained property. Must be one of the nicest rental properties in The Dales. Please try it!

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard F
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Discovered Austwick many years ago as the perfect base for the Dales and now bring my children here to discover it for themselves. Our third stay in Moulton Cottage, which is superb. You can see a great pub and majestic hills from the bedroom window. We never want to leave...but will be back!

Date of stay: May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David O
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An oasis in paradise”
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I was very reluctant to review this place; it is a secret too good to be shared.
We spent Easter 2015 here, and whilst we were lucky with the weather, it would be an ideal place, however difficult your fell bashing aspirations are.
Should you have none of those, there are so many attractions within easy reach.
The cottage is immaculate, every detail having been thought out. It is very warm, and relaxing. Nearby is the village pub, (booking essential, for excellent French style food).
There is also a very well stocked shop within a thirty second walk, which is much undersold.
The star of the show, however, is Moughton Cottage. However long you are lucky enough to spend here, it will bring a smile to your face.
A wonderful find.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara T
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My family & I had a lovely break at the cottage, it's well equipped, comfy & cosy! Great location for walking. Would definitely recommend it! :-)

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James8594
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage, great stay!”
Reviewed April 2, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I stayed for 2 nights as a couple and the cottage was faultless. Everything was clean and presented well. I would definitely recommend to anyone! Will be returning very soon

Date of stay: March 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.