We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Traddock
Nearby Hotels
New Inn Hotel(Clapham)
$202
$161
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$115
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hipping Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
$293
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$196
$189
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snooty Fox(Kirkby Lonsdale)
$152
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Whoop Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Orange Tree Hotel(Kirkby Lonsdale)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (645)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveler rating
499
117
25
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
499
117
25
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade biscuitslovely hotelmolton brown toiletriesyorkshire dalesdog friendly hotelbefore dinnerwine listvenisoncountry house hotelbirthday treatsmall villagedining roomspublic roomslog fireboth nightsmini suitebottled water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
628 - 633 of 645 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2007

We stayed in room 10 which was, as another reviewer said, absolutely fine although would have benefited from a better bathroom set-up.

The hotel is very quiet and has a couple of very pleasant lounge areas that are perfect for relaxing after a long walk or perhaps just for pre-dinner drinks while you take a look at the menu. And there are plenty of board games...

Dinner was really good - everything is locally sourced organic food - and breakfast was also great. And I should mention that the wine list was pretty decent - and for once the 'recommended' wines were at the lower end of costs instead of at the top!!

The overall feel of the hotel is warm and relaxed, and quite traditional in decor - we'd definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bugs1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2007

Had a wonderful few nights stay at the Traddock. Food - exceptional, attention to detail was second to none. Both Bruce and Jane were extremely inviting. Anne is a credit to the hotel and went out of her way to assist us with all our needs. We stayed in Room 7 which has wonderful views. The little touches throughout the hotel were noted. We stayed with our two labradors who too were welcomed. Would definitely recommend this hotel - relaxing, romantic and a complete 'get away from it all' experience. Will look forward to going back in the winter to sit by the log fires!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

We stayed in room 10 on attic floor- very clean & very comfortable bed. Whilst the sink in room & ensuite shower & toilet were perfectly acceptable, a full ensuite with bath would have been preferred.( Rooms with bath are available, but we booked last minute.)
High quality food at dinner & breakfast, with excellent selection of well-priced wines. Decor of dining room below average. Service friendly & willing, but lacked finesse.
Friendly comfortable hotel
We will return.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luxrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

Staff generally welcoming and hotel in a nice location. Room [No 3] reasonably spacious and bathroom Ok . However the quality of the food was very average, the menu very limited and repetitive and the service somewhat amateurish. For example.One evening whilst waiting for our main course we heard sound of a plate crashing from the kitchen. It was my wife`s bass! However they served mine and said we would have to wait for my wife`s!! Also no butter on the table, no serving spoons with the vegetables. No offer to pour wine. Also vegetables exactly the same each night. Some variety would have been nice! Also one night we had been in the lounge waiting for 10 minutes to place our aperitif/dinner order The "head waiter" followed some other guests in and took their order first. Not very professional! Also avoid the seat adjacent to the kitchen door. Everytime someone walks by from the kitchen it feels like an earthquake.
Part of the problem was that the waiting staff [ mostly Polish] were young and very inexperienced.
To cap it all on the final night there was a power cut [ apparently overload of Hotel circuit] during dinner so we had to forego hot dessert and coffee. The power cut lasted several hours. We had to retire early feeling our way to our room in almost total darkness.No offer of torch or subsequent apology or compensation. All in all a rather disppointing.
WE WILL DEFINITELY NOT BE GOING BACK!!!

6  Thank rayglyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

This is a truly lovely small hotel.

We stayed in room 7, with the claw foot bath in the room. The attention to detail was excellent and the furnishings really good. The bed was on the softer side, but perfectly comfortable, so not sure whether its been changed, or what the problem was there (see earlier reviews!). There were Molton Brown products in the room, bathrobes, flat screen tv, lots of current magazines, fresh milk - everything we could have wanted.

We ate at the restaurant and it was fantastic. Very impressive organic wine list. Nothing tasted "funny" that we ate. The breakfast was also very good. The bar and lounge at the hotel are also very comfortable and tasteful.

It was expensive in my experience for a small country hotel and I was slightly nervous when I booked it for that reason, but actually, was worth every penny and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crossbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews