We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, amazing owner, amazing food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Game Cock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Game Cock Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Austwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place, amazing owner, amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

My boyfriend wrote a review and I feel I have to write one too! Had a lovely warm welcome from Eric with some freshly baked biscuits which were lovely! We're asked when we would like to have our dinner and was nice to have choice on times! Luckily we got there on a day they have French night. The food was absolutely delicious! Don't eat in the day if you're going to have a meal there because you get fed well! Lol! I was so stuffed after the main I was so close to not having desert (which is a first for me!) but we looked at the desert menu and I saw malteser cheesecake....that to me sounds like a dream! So me and my boyfriend shared it, which again is a first for me lol! And oh my god I have never had a desert like it! It was soooooo nice! All good was presented beautifully and the service was lovely. Didn't want to leave! Will definately be coming back! Thanks Eric and staff for lovely time! Tracey and Christian xxx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    22
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My girlfriend & I stayed at The Game Cock Inn last week for a night as it was recommended to us by the people I went up to do a job for & we were not disappointed. After a long drive from Kent, we were welcomed by the Inn keeper Eric & he was very friendly & gave us a plate of warm fresh biscuits he'd just baked to have with our tea in our very cozy room. The evening meal was fantastic & authentic French food was served (wednesday night offer) & the deserts as my girlfriend said "were to die for". We will return again soon without a doubt. So if your looking for a perfect moors retreat then look no further.

Thank you Eric.

Christian & Tracey

Room Tip: Room number 4 was lovely & cozy & looked out over the cottages over the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have eaten in the Game cock on a number of occasions and this meal was really disappointing. Our neighbours who had eaten there many times as well felt the same way, so we were not alone with our sentiments.
There was no dressing on the salad in the starters, and as a consequence it was very dry.
The main course was poor. The vegetables were overcooked and the potato gratin, was like scrambled eggs.
There was so much effort given to the presentation that the quality of the food took second place,
Overpriced and poor quality food. Not a new chef so he needs to get his act together quickly or else people will go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Game Cock just on the off chance of them having a spare table, the Restaurant was fully booked, but, instead of turning us away they put us in the Conservatory.
The food and Staff amazing, very good atmosphere and we would certainly go again, only we would book in advance.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had previously visited this small, hidden away pub a couple of years ago where we had enjoyed the best Sunday lunch ever! We had initially stumbled upon this pub on the way back from the Lakes and thought we would visit again. It was on a Saturday evening and the friendly lady behind the bar was so inviting and found us somewhere to sit as we have a disabled child. Although we hadn't booked (I do suggest you do this) they managed to fit us in. The waitress came over and explained the different specials to us and we didn't have to wait long for the food to arrive. WOW! Absolutely amazing, even the child's menu food was fantastic. The service, food and overall atmosphere was fantastic. The regulars are friendly and really welcoming. The staff were really polite and did there upmost to ensure we had a lovely meal. They provided us with an activity pack for our daughter which I would say was a better quality than those you get in the large restaurant chains. The price for the food was the same if not cheaper than those chains too. I was apprehensive to revisit at first in case they didn't live up to the same standard we had experienced the first time but I can honestly say it had surpassed that. Although we would have to travel up to an hour to revisit again we would definitely do it along with family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We called in here last sunday for a drink, & what a wonderful pub this is,serving excellent ales, along with Warsteiner beer on draught,it also has a restaurant & serves meals in various very homely niches around the main bar.
We will certainly return here for a meal in the not too distant future.
A Real Gem of a Pub!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I cam across this village pub on a bike ride wih 7 friends.

we pulled up hoping for a sandwich and a bag of crisps or if lucky a half descent pub lunch offering. what we got was a great surprise.

The place is what you would expect inside, low cealings, old carpets a bit higgildy piggildy.

What you would not necessarily expect is the french owner and his french kitchen. I was treated to a 12 hour cooked beef brisket. Admittedly I was pretty hungry from the ride and very pleased to sit down. However I can honestly say the food was excellent. A complete surpride and a very welcome one at that.

Worth going out of your way to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Jam_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austwick
0.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.5 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#3 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#15 of 20 in Settle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Game Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Game Cock Inn

Property: Game Cock Inn
Address: The Green, Austwick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle LA2 8BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Austwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Austwick
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Game Cock Inn Austwick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing