We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Austwick Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Austwick Hall
Ranked #4 of 6 Austwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our second trip to Austwick Hall was just as good as the first. The whole place is beautifully appointed with period furniture, sculptures and rugs and has a wonderful tranquil ambience. The gardens are also lovely, but poor weather meant we didn't have much chance to explore them. However, the stoves are lovely and warm if it's a cold day, especially if armed with a dram of whisky. Both evening meals and breakfast are of the highest quality. Service is friendly and attentive, but not overbearing.

Room Tip: The Blue Room is large and beautifully and tastefully decorated, with a great roll-top tub in the hu...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anon9991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Austwick Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 94 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night following our Wedding. The place is a magical and quirky house furnished with Victorian furniture, we loved it.

We were greeted by Michael upon our arrival who was gracious, gave us a tour of the Hall and then tea and biscuits.

We stayed in the Four Poster Room which was clean, simarly furnished with a mis match of Victorian furniture and a lovely COMFY bed.

The bathroom was clean, of a high standard and very well stocked with luxury toiletries.

The gardens are lovely though we didn't manage to do the walk around the sculptures in the wood.

Breakfast was of a good quality with plenty of options though more choice of cereal would have been appreciated.

We didn't have an evening meal at the Hall so we can't comment, but the food served at the nearby Game Cock Inn was delicious. NOTE the walk back can be quite dark, torch recommended.

We are definately planning on returning to the wonderful place and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: We were delighted in the Four Poster Room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Needed a night away to totally chill and found The Hall on line. Coffe and biscuits on arrival in a stunning drawing room followed by a stroll in the gardens. We stayed in the blue room, which we would highly recommend, and spent a fantasticly relaxing time pampering ourselves in the wonderful bathroom before going down for pre dinner drinks. Dinner was a very relaxed affair with perfectly cooked food delivered in a cheerful and professional way. A super breakfast, served at a sensible time and to walk some of it off, a stroll around the sculpture trail. Austwick Hall is a gem and you couldn't wish for better hosts. We will definitley return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batleybanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our first visit, and a more elegant B&B would be hard to find. Michael and Eric are very gracious and interesting hosts - happy to chat if you wish, but equally happy to stay in the background and just let you relax and enjoy the surroundings. We stayed two nights in the Blue Room and dined in on both evenings - the food was lovely - well cooked and tasty, supplemented by a nice wine list. Breakfast was also excellent.
Take time to wander round the gardens and chat to their two Shetland ponies - they also having an interesting sculpture walk in the woods which we enjoyed, and if you've got the energy walk to the very top of the woods for some lovely views. They are close to Malham and all its waterfalls and wonderful walks, so ideally placed for exploring that area of Yorkshire. There are also plenty of walks straight from their door if wished. We would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlummyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Last weekend my wife and I stayed with Michael and Eric at possibly the best B & B you could wish for, Austwick Hall. We recently went to a Michelin starred hotel in our area............they need to take lessons. Austwick Hall did every thing right the other place did wrong. We were late in booking and the only room available was the Blue Room.......FANTASTIC luck.
Everything about the hall was just what you want if you want spoiling. Comfortable, cosy, well maintained and the boys can't do enough for you. We only live 30 miles away so know Austwick is good for walking but where else would you get a map of the garden where you are staying?
After our evening meal, which was of the highest quality.........maybe a little short on quantity but this was made up for by the quality, we walked down to the village pub and enjoyed
a couple of drinks with a mixture of locals and visitors ( rambling country). If anybody follows our example I advise them to make sure they take a torch, there isn't a single street light in the village.
As you can gather we enjoyed our stay and cannot recommend Austwick Hall enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrandmrsmicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed here in feb for one night with my fiancee in the blue room. First of all the location is in a tiny village- there is a pub near to the hall. Very quite.Walks straight from the door. The hall is very welcoming. Decorated to a high standard and very very relaxed. You often find accommodation of this standard comes with a very uptight atmosphere- not at austwick hall. The owners are welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. They ran out of the light ale they served whilst i was there and in ten minutes had been to the shop to stock up- very impressed.
The room was lovely and the bathroom the best bathroom i have ever seen. I agree with other views that the bed does creek far too much and the tv could do with extra few inches in size but couldn't we all!
Evening meal was served in the dining room. White immaculate table clothes and perfectly laid out cutlery - accompanied with a very pleasant service. The meal although limited in choice was very nice- garlic mushrooms/ avocado and prawn salad - venison and salmon then cheese and biscuits and lemon pie. All served with a very reasonably priced wine.
Breakfast was equally as good.
I will return to Austwick hall but i will come for more than one night this time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janey026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

My partner and I visited Austwick Hall at the beginning of February for one night, evening meal and b&b. The forecast for Saturday was heavy snow which we were very concerned about, however our minds were put at rest, as upon telephoning Austwick Hall we were informed we could change our stay to another night in the future if we were unable to get there. Luckily the snow wasn't as heavy as predicted and we arrived in good time on the Saturday afternoon. Upon arrival Michael came out to the car with an umbrella to shield us from the snow, carried our bags and showed us in to the impressive reception hall. A huge fire was burning, it was lovely and warm and very welcoming. Michael asked if we'd like coffee and biscuits while we warmed by the fire, we took the coffee in the drawing room where an equally huge fire was burning. We were then shown to our room, the Coronet Room, which had a large ensuite, high quality toiletries, slippers and robes. Our room and ensuite was immaculate, it was absolutely spotless. Our evening meal was delicious, I had the wild mushroom in garlic for starter, my partner had a terrine, followed by steak which was cooked to perfection, home made lemon meringe pie and cheese and biscuits, washed down with a bottle of wine and coffee in the drawing room by the fire. Breakfast was equally delicious, home made croissants, yoghurts, pink grapefruit, fresh juices, etc. We both had the cooked full english breakfast, which included sausage and bacon sourced from a local farmer. We don't normally write reviews but wanted to on this occasion as Austwick Hall ticked all the boxes. We were looking for a relaxing night away from our hectic lifestyle and that's just what we got, Eric and Michael are the perfect hosts, there when you need them, yet leave you to spend time alone together which is just what we wanted. We will definitely be returning, for more than one night next time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WayneTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austwick
0.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
604 reviews
4.7 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
344 reviews
1.5 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
988 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
1.5 mi away
Scar Close Farmhouse
Scar Close Farmhouse
#2 of 6 in Austwick
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austwick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austwick Hall

Address: Town Head | Via Lancaster, Austwick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle LA2 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Austwick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Austwick
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Austwick Hall Hotel Austwick
Austwick Hall Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing