We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Fantastic”
Review of Austwick Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Austwick Hall
Ranked #4 of 6 Austwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake District
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just Fantastic”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Needed a night away to totally chill and found The Hall on line. Coffe and biscuits on arrival in a stunning drawing room followed by a stroll in the gardens. We stayed in the blue room, which we would highly recommend, and spent a fantasticly relaxing time pampering ourselves in the wonderful bathroom before going down for pre dinner drinks. Dinner was a very relaxed affair with perfectly cooked food delivered in a cheerful and professional way. A super breakfast, served at a sensible time and to walk some of it off, a stroll around the sculpture trail. Austwick Hall is a gem and you couldn't wish for better hosts. We will definitley return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batleybanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    5
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
81
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorking
Level Contributor
207 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our first visit, and a more elegant B&B would be hard to find. Michael and Eric are very gracious and interesting hosts - happy to chat if you wish, but equally happy to stay in the background and just let you relax and enjoy the surroundings. We stayed two nights in the Blue Room and dined in on both evenings - the food was lovely - well cooked and tasty, supplemented by a nice wine list. Breakfast was also excellent.
Take time to wander round the gardens and chat to their two Shetland ponies - they also having an interesting sculpture walk in the woods which we enjoyed, and if you've got the energy walk to the very top of the woods for some lovely views. They are close to Malham and all its waterfalls and wonderful walks, so ideally placed for exploring that area of Yorkshire. There are also plenty of walks straight from their door if wished. We would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlummyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Last weekend my wife and I stayed with Michael and Eric at possibly the best B & B you could wish for, Austwick Hall. We recently went to a Michelin starred hotel in our area............they need to take lessons. Austwick Hall did every thing right the other place did wrong. We were late in booking and the only room available was the Blue Room.......FANTASTIC luck.
Everything about the hall was just what you want if you want spoiling. Comfortable, cosy, well maintained and the boys can't do enough for you. We only live 30 miles away so know Austwick is good for walking but where else would you get a map of the garden where you are staying?
After our evening meal, which was of the highest quality.........maybe a little short on quantity but this was made up for by the quality, we walked down to the village pub and enjoyed
a couple of drinks with a mixture of locals and visitors ( rambling country). If anybody follows our example I advise them to make sure they take a torch, there isn't a single street light in the village.
As you can gather we enjoyed our stay and cannot recommend Austwick Hall enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrandmrsmicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed here in feb for one night with my fiancee in the blue room. First of all the location is in a tiny village- there is a pub near to the hall. Very quite.Walks straight from the door. The hall is very welcoming. Decorated to a high standard and very very relaxed. You often find accommodation of this standard comes with a very uptight atmosphere- not at austwick hall. The owners are welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. They ran out of the light ale they served whilst i was there and in ten minutes had been to the shop to stock up- very impressed.
The room was lovely and the bathroom the best bathroom i have ever seen. I agree with other views that the bed does creek far too much and the tv could do with extra few inches in size but couldn't we all!
Evening meal was served in the dining room. White immaculate table clothes and perfectly laid out cutlery - accompanied with a very pleasant service. The meal although limited in choice was very nice- garlic mushrooms/ avocado and prawn salad - venison and salmon then cheese and biscuits and lemon pie. All served with a very reasonably priced wine.
Breakfast was equally as good.
I will return to Austwick hall but i will come for more than one night this time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janey026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2012

My partner and I visited Austwick Hall at the beginning of February for one night, evening meal and b&b. The forecast for Saturday was heavy snow which we were very concerned about, however our minds were put at rest, as upon telephoning Austwick Hall we were informed we could change our stay to another night in the future if we were unable to get there. Luckily the snow wasn't as heavy as predicted and we arrived in good time on the Saturday afternoon. Upon arrival Michael came out to the car with an umbrella to shield us from the snow, carried our bags and showed us in to the impressive reception hall. A huge fire was burning, it was lovely and warm and very welcoming. Michael asked if we'd like coffee and biscuits while we warmed by the fire, we took the coffee in the drawing room where an equally huge fire was burning. We were then shown to our room, the Coronet Room, which had a large ensuite, high quality toiletries, slippers and robes. Our room and ensuite was immaculate, it was absolutely spotless. Our evening meal was delicious, I had the wild mushroom in garlic for starter, my partner had a terrine, followed by steak which was cooked to perfection, home made lemon meringe pie and cheese and biscuits, washed down with a bottle of wine and coffee in the drawing room by the fire. Breakfast was equally delicious, home made croissants, yoghurts, pink grapefruit, fresh juices, etc. We both had the cooked full english breakfast, which included sausage and bacon sourced from a local farmer. We don't normally write reviews but wanted to on this occasion as Austwick Hall ticked all the boxes. We were looking for a relaxing night away from our hectic lifestyle and that's just what we got, Eric and Michael are the perfect hosts, there when you need them, yet leave you to spend time alone together which is just what we wanted. We will definitely be returning, for more than one night next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

My partner and I stayed for one night (mid January) with two other couples, and were sorry we couldn't have stayed longer. We stayed b&b plus evening meal.
Everything was perfect, from the location, to the rooms, food and the service.
Early evening we paid a quick visit to the local pub (welcoming, cosy and warm) before returning for our evening meal. Most of us opted for the steak, which was cooked to perfection.
We then retired to the lounge for the evening which was just perfect.... log fire, comfy sofas, good wine and great company.
Following a hearty breakfast, we all went for a walk through the hotel grounds, (lots of unusual / quirky garden ornaments to be found). The views of the local countryside were fantastic.
We couldn't imagine a better location to spend a relaxing night away with friends.
Many thanks to our hosts for a really memorable stay.

Room Tip: On arrival, we were offered a choice of rooms, and opted for the Half Tester. However, all the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie_JoeWidnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I took my boyfriend to the Austwick hall for his 30th birthday as a surprise and we love it. We stayed in the blue room which was more like a suit than a room.The service from the owners was perfect whenever we needed them we could find them but we were also left alone to enjoy each others company.The evening meal was amazing and breakfast was lovely.Perfect for a romantic break.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smileitsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austwick
0.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
577 reviews
1.5 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
517 reviews
4.7 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
939 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brookhouse Guest House
Brookhouse Guest House
#3 of 5 in Clapham
149 reviews
1.5 mi away
Scar Close Farmhouse
Scar Close Farmhouse
#1 of 6 in Austwick
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austwick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austwick Hall

Property: Austwick Hall
Address: Town Head | Via Lancaster, Austwick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle LA2 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Austwick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Austwick
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Austwick Hall Hotel Austwick
Austwick Hall Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing