We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional comfort and hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Austwick Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Austwick Hall
Ranked #4 of 6 Austwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Exceptional comfort and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband and I spent three nights at Austwick on the recommendation of friends. We had a fabulous stay there and really enjoyed the location (with stunning views); the wonderful decor in the house; the fabulous garden and the hospitality we received from our hosts.
A real home from home and we shall certainly return when next in Yorkshire.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiggerlot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    5
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
78
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

I wanted somewhere intimate and personal to propose, this was the perfect place, the house and blue room were both spectacular and the gardens beautiful and magnificent. The service from the owners was perfect, somehow, as if by magic, they were there when we wanted them yet we were left alone to enjoy our company and their fabulous house. If you want somewhere discrete, personal and far removed from a corporate hotel set in some of the best scenery this country has to offer the do not hesitate to book, even a special request was not a problem

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmh69w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Austwick Hall is a small country-house hotel set in 13 acres of formal gardens and naturalistic woodland. Staying there is a memorable experience. The place is magnificent - on a bijou scale! The decor and furnishings, the paintings and other objets d'art are redolent of good taste and luxury and our bedroom (the Blue Room) was no less than a suite, with a bathroom larger than most hotel bedrooms. The bathroom fittings were quaint rather than luxurious but there were bath-robes, ample soft towels and plentiful toiletries to pamper you after a luxuriant soak in a roll-top bath with garden-view. The floors, and our bed, creaked with antiquity but this was more old-world charm than an annoyance. Another aspect to bear in mind is that if you go out of season and with only 4 bedrooms - it is quite likely that you will be the only quests, as we were. We saw this as an advantage - we had uninhibited conversation in the dining room and were able to interact with our hosts Eric and Michael as they served us an excellent dinner, and an equally delicious breakfast. The choice of food was understandably limited - but the dishes were interesting, and the wine-list was restricted but adequate. We can strongly recommend the catering, the hospitality, and the ambience of the dining-room, if you are happy with your own company. To summarise, this hotel is not for everyone - even those bent on extravagance. It is quirky and somewhat surreal, but the hosts are charming (and love talking about gardens), the food is first-rate, and the surroundings are reminiscent of the antiques road-show. If 'special' gardens, fine-art and antiques, and genteel refinement appeal to you, then Austwick Hall is just the place.

Room Tip: The Blue Room has an amazing bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank medik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

Stayed for three nights in the Blue Room. This was rearranged after our postponement in June at short notice. No problem with new bookings despite contrary reports on this site.
The hall is at the top end of the village with ample parking at the front. We wer greeted in the hall way by the owner, a roaring log fire and fresh coffee and biscuits. We took the coffee through to one of the two residents lounge, also warmed by roaring fires.
The blue room is exactly as you see it on their website; spacious, warm, and full of old fixtures and fittings.
What may be relevant to you is: -
We walked to the local pub on Fri/ & Sun night in the dark. There are no street lights; in fact it was so dark we missed the turning on the way back. Or did we miss it because of the alcohol partaken, can't remember. However, take or torch or borrow the one left in the hall for residents use.
On saturday we stayed in and had the five course dinner; very good and would recommend for the quality, choice and the ambience of the surroundings.
Would we stay again, yes for the location if you want to be close to the best the Dales has to offer walkers but no for the bed. Unfortunately we didn't sleep well and didn't get the chance to pass our observations on to the owner. We had a standard double sleigh type bed. Now, we would think that most pepole who can indulge at places like this have at least a king size bed at home. Additionally, as an old wooden framed bed it creaked when you moved. So to have smaller bed that creaked was not conducive to good nights sleep. We would stay in other rooms if they had king size beds.
Finally, in the blue room; you get bare moving floor boards, a 24" telly (you can't see from the bed) and a fairly tight rain shower type shower cubicle (you have to get in, close the door, turn the water on with nowhere to hide and hope it warms quickly; it did by the way). They didn't bother us as the benfits of warmth, character, complimentary wine /coffee /chocolates and space meant we enjoyed relaxing on a sunday afternoon watcxhing the telly in our room. Bliss!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack-Plane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

I loved this amazing country home with tasteful quirky decor and feel. There are only 5 rooms, but all really spaced out so you don't really see the other guests. I can't stand those thin walled Chintzy B&B's where you feel you are staying with an elderly relative. I would recommend the Coronet room, with the double ended roll top bath. We also opted for late check out.

I read the reviews before and I can confirm, we had no issues with low lighting, short beds, the back staircase or inferior quality fruit juices.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperniceLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

What a glorious old country house set in beautiful woodlands and gardens. The owners made us feel very much at home when we arrived, and showed us around our bedroom and the various sumptuous lounges they have specifically for there guests, all with real fires. We stayed in the four poster room, and the attention to detail was spot on. The bed itself was extremely comfortable. We booked the five course meal on Saturday, all of which was excellent (much of which was home grown or locally sourced). After a long walk in the Dales on Sunday, we came back to a roaring fire and subsequently fell asleep in front of it! The breakfast was very tasty and filling. Overall the hotel is very friendly and informal, perfect for a relaxing weekend away to unwind. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 187062Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

This Hotel is exactly what we had in mind for our Romantic Break, stunningly kept and beautifully furnished in a great location. BUT!!!! When we booked we reserved meals for both evenings. Friday's dinner was basic for the type of venue but we decided that as there was a 5 course special dinner we would keep our reservation for the Saturday, we went down for dinner at the appointed time only to be ignored for 25 minutes till we were rudely informed that we had not reserved for dinner so could not eat (There were 2 couples eating that night), we were not happy! The solution from our arrogant hosts was that we wait till everybody else had eaten and see what was left. This was not what we had in mind for a country house break But it got worse - The patron decided that the best way to win me round was to argue 6 inches from my face and tell me I should be lucky to be in his Home - Oops silly me 'Luxury Country House Hotel' is what it says on their own website, nope it's his house and I should be happy to celebrate my Saturday night with what's left in his obviously very bare fridge. At this point it got worse as Eric (The patron's partner I assume) decided we should be evicted. Customer care seemed far from their minds. At this point Michael (who in fairness was happy for us to stay)and Eric started to argue between themselves so we decided we would go and eat elsewhere while they coped with the rush of 4 diners and decided if we would be allowed to stay in our room on our return. 2 Good things happened after this - We got the last table at The Game Cock in in Austwick and had brilliant service and food and Michael won the argument and when we got back we were allowed to stay in the room that we had paid for. The atmosphere in the morning was such that my partner felt so intimidated that we decided to not bother with breakfast! Eric and Michael we understand that miscommunication in bookings can happen - Had you not got arrogant with us and offered to hit the phone and get us a table nearby then we may well have been happier, when we returned had you checked if we had found somewhere then you might have redeemed yourself - Maybe after a nights sleep you might have apologised for telling me 'stop talking and listen' but no your attitude ruined what should have been a great break!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank iainwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austwick
0.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.5 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
4.7 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Littlebank Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austwick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austwick Hall

Property: Austwick Hall
Address: Town Head | Via Lancaster, Austwick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle LA2 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Austwick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Austwick
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Austwick Hall Hotel Austwick
Austwick Hall Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing