We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky set up but excellent standard”
Review of Byards Leap Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Byards Leap Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Sleaford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quirky set up but excellent standard”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Looks rather uninspiring from the outside as it's in a bit of an industrial estate but the accomodation was brilliant and breakfast even better. The room was extremely comfortable, warm, exceptionally well equipped and spotless. Breakfast was in the cafe next door, freshly cooked, good quality, lots of it and very tasty. I'm pretty sure the orange juice was freshly squeezed. I was directed to a pub 3 miles away for a meal which again was very pleasant. The owners were helpful and friendly. If I'm in the area again I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
48
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We only spent one night at this Lodge. It may look a bit disappointing from the outside, but the rooms, food etc were absoloutely marvellous. We booked in on our way further down the country and wouldn`t hesitate to recommend it 10 out of 10

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here for week in October, for work at the near by air base (it's trainers not jets so very quiet). For me, this lodge could not be better placed, it was about 10 minutes door to door for me to get to work, it's directly off the main road, next junction after the turn off to RAF Cranwell. Work required me to be out the door by 5am so there was no chance to make the normal breakfast, but I spoke to the owner and the staff and was given a breakfast tray. This tray had some fruit, some very nice muffins that I've never been able to find since, a bowel, box of cereal and milk and orange that I left in the fridge overnight. There was plenty and the muffin and fruit made up most of my lunch for the day too. On top of the excellent service, the bed was huge! must be a queen size at least, maybe larger, and very comfortable. The bathroom was also very spacious, larger than the one at home, and clean with bath and shower and a good set of towels, flannels shampoos and shower gel and face wash. The room was very quiet, and clean and the mini bar is only very slightly more expensive than a corner shop (bottle of coke £1, can of beer £2). One thing I would point out is that mobile phone signal is very weak, this isn't specific to the lodge, it's a feature of Cranwell and rural Lincolnshire in general. I never got to try out the food on offer, but judging by everything else I'd imagine it'd be good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here 6 December for one night after visiting Lincoln Christmas Market.
Beware of following their post code on your sat-nav especially as we did in the pitch dark. Their post code is shared by the houses in a dead end lane opposite. However a quick phone call to the lodge put us back on track - in fact we could see their lights close by.
The manager gave us directions and was waiting outside for us and gave a great welcome.
We had a very good room with everything you could possibly need including free bottled water. They had re arranged the room as a twin so unfortunately there was a surplus armchair which got in the way. Not a major problem.
Breakfast served in the ajoining cafe was excellent.
Highly reccommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredbrituk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOWESTOFT
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

at first glance when you arrive it doesn't look much, but go past the front door and wow!! the rooms are very modern, clean and luxurious, we only stayed one night, wish we had booked longer, the staff are very helpful and polite, and breakfast was superb!!! would definitely visit again. Keep up the good work!!!

Room Tip: no tip all rooms are lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaykempy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We visited elderly relative in Sleaford and booked Byards Leap as a resting post on way to a wedding in Beverley. We booked on line and took a chance. Very glad we did as this B&B was the best we had experienced. Lovely friendly people - rooms spotless - breakfast fantastic choices and as much as you can eat. In the reception area there were mince-pies, sweets and information on the area. We stayed only one night but would have no hesitation in recommending Byards Leap to anyone looking for a b&b in the Sleaford area and judging by all the glowing reports on Tripadvisor so would everyone who has enjoyed the hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Thisa is our fourth stay, and once again, Linda has failed to disappoint and surpassed heself agian, everything was first rate. Linda and her husband were really friendly and very helpful, could not do enough. The room was spotless and the breakfast the best I have had anywhere. Other hotels should take some lessons from the couple, on how to give 5 star service.
I will definitely be back.
I have marked the sleep quality down, because of a selfish guest making a racket when they arrived at 1:15 in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleaford
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Sleaford Hotel
Travelodge Sleaford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holdingham
237 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel
9.3 mi away
Eden House Hotel
Eden House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Grantham
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
1,721 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Houblon Inn
The Houblon Inn
#1 of 1 in Oasby
98 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mareham House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byards Leap Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byards Leap Lodge

Property: Byards Leap Lodge
Address: Byards Leap Cottage Byards Leap, Sleaford NG34 8EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Sleaford
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sleaford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Byards Leap Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Four Star, Silver Awarded Lodge and Apartments offer you Queen sized beds or twins, digital TVs, min-bar, free wi-fi access and a beautiful breakfast served in our Country Kitchen, (even if you use one of the apartments). Two mins to RAF Cranwell. Lincoln City, Grantham, Newark & Sleaford are all just a short drive as are golfing, fishing, rambling. Something for most tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Byards Leap Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byards Leap Lodge Sleaford, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing