We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will stay again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Clamart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Clamart
Ranked #10 of 13 Scunthorpe B&B and Inns
uk
1 review
“We will stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Came to the town to visit family and stayed 2 nights. The room was light and airy. Breakfast was a plentiful buffet and hot breakfasts were cooked to order. As we visited family we did not have dinner in the restaurant. The staff were friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
During my stay I managed to cut my foot quite deeply which required a visit to the local hospital. The staff called for an ambulance and when it didn't arrive they arranged for a taxi to take me there. I would like to thank David, the owner, Neil and Helen for all their kind help and assistance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suziesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
1
7
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Travelled to Scuthorpe to visit 20 21 Gallery exhibition and stayed at Clamart. The food (steak pie) was excellent and the hotel is very convenient for the town centre. The landlord was also very friendly and welcoming too. Would recommend to others visiting the town!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonsimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

This was probably once quite a vibrant place, and probably a bit of a radical concept on someone's part a few years ago. How about a bistro with rooms! In Scunthorpe! Quite a good idea actually and pretty well done originally in a basic but last, last season IKEA-ish kind of way. But if it was a bit top-end once, it really feels down at heel and past its sell by date now . The staff are pleasant. The breakfast is fine. But the place just feels bleak and unloved. And it's marooned in a not-particularly-nice location, frequented by people like me who gave it the merest of glances on its website and thought 'that'll do'. It's not expensive either, for Scunthorpe. But when you get there the first reaction is a downbeat kind of 'Oh.....'. And the second is, 'Will any bits of the car still be in the car park by morning?' (They were).

I arrived very late after a very long drive and the room I was given (no. 2) was big enough but very cold with damp, flaking patches around the windows and on the wall. The partition walls are very thin and sound travels from adjoining bathrooms - so you get to share your neighbours' nocturnal tinklings, and worse. The IKEA prints and furniture are depressing and ever so functional. My bed had a squidgy, memory foam kind of mattress which felt weird but wasn't particularly uncomfortable, or comfortable. Just odd. Squidgy is not what I'm after in a mattress.

So, it was all a bit depressing all round and I moved to another hotel. But I do recommend the San Pietro restaurant in Scunthorpe. A pearl in the oyster that is Scunthorpe.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorchlightLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scunthorpe hotels

Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

The Hotel is in a great location, very near the Railway Station and close to lots of shops!! En suite room was clean and comfortable, food was tasty, but they give you HUGE portions!!! The staff were wonderful, and made me feel very welcome. Whole atmosphere was friendly and helpful, which was very important as I was a female travelling alone, which can be quite daunting!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teenyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
164 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at The Clamart as we were going to a birthday party that was also being held there in the evening. If you're coming here by train then it's an easy 5 minute walk from the station. The exterior of the building has seen better days but the bar area inside is quite modern, smart and light with tables and a bar beneath an indoor balcony. There is an attempt here to create a sort of exterior inside.

On checking in we were slightly disappointed not to get the room we reserved and then was asked to pay up front which is never a good sign in my experience. The room was ordinariness itself which I suppose is about right for £60 a night. It was kitted out in Ikea furniture and had a desk, table with tea and coffee facilities and a small bathroom. I wasn't that pleased to feel the rustle of plastic that surrounded the mattress either. It makes you wonder what previous activities had taken place for the hotel staff to start issuing plastic coverings on the mattresses.

Another niggle for me would be the breakfast times. Framed on the wall of the room is information stating that the breakfast was 7am to 8.30am, Monday to Saturday. We dutifully obeyed this on Saturday morning and went down at 8.15am only to be told that on Saturday it was 9am to 10am - a detail that wasn’t passed onto us when checking in.

Whilst the bathroom was clean, the shower in there wasn’t exactly a power shower. It sufficed but a little more pressure would have been nice. On the subject of plumbing, this place does suffer from a lot of noisy plumbing sounds. During the night all manner of noises can be heard including banging pipes and a buzzing/humming from a distant extractor fan. The bathroom towels had also seen better days and new ones wouldn’t go amiss.

The breakfast was pretty reasonable with a good choice of cereals, orange juice and tea and coffee. The lady that was cooking the breakfast was rushed off her feet but was still friendly to all the customers and turned out good fried eggs.

The Wi-Fi in the place wasn't working either despite several attempts to put in the very lengthy password.

Overall I would say this is a very average place and perhaps with some searching around a better deal could be found elsewhere in the town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

Stayed 2 nights on business and was very pleased. Room nice and clean. Great brekkie. Very helpful staff. Good atmosphere in bar. Good location. Will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nath87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

I thought I had the wrong "Hotel" when I read the other reviews, this Hotel is not a nice area or place to stay. There is perfectly good Travel lodge type places within a 2 mile radius that I would suggest staying. The location is right in the middle of a council type estate with no shops etc nearby. If you arrive before 6 you have to pay to park there also.

The rooms are small and if you are lucky enough not to be beside the kitchen which makes a loud hum from the extractor fan til about 10pm, then you will undoubtably be kept awake by either the loud music and drinking downstairs til midnight with the occasional banging of the main door.

My next stay in the area will not be here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoteladvisor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scunthorpe
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 5 in Scunthorpe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scunthorpe Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wortley House Hotel
Wortley House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Scunthorpe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
6.4 mi away
The River Don Tavern And Lodge
6.9 mi away
Budleigh House
Budleigh House
#1 of 1 in Susworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clamart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clamart

Property: Hotel Clamart
Address: 7 Shelford Street, Scunthorpe DN15 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Scunthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Scunthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New family owned hotel in town centre, spacious and comfortable rooms, WIFI, digibox, bar and bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Clamart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Clamart Scunthorpe, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing